We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Utopia Hamilton Island, The Whitsundays

Enter into Utopia. Stay in a place of ideal perfection. Hamilton Island, The Great Barrier Reef
Enter into Utopia. Stay in a place of ideal perfection. Hamilton Island, The Great Barrier Reef
Enter into Utopia. Stay in a place of ideal perfection. Hamilton Island, The Great Barrier Reef
Outdoor entertaining area with BBQ and wood fire pizza oven
Entrance and infinity plunge pool
Entertainment deck and dining table with stunning views
Expansive decks with sweeping views connect living, entertainment and sleeping areas
Hamilton Island
|
Rental Home – 
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rozothesp...
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“50th birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband Greg hall organised a surprise 50th for me at hamilton island. Thinking my daughter and himself would be the only ones. Well there were 9 of us in the end. Wow what a surprise . Utopia was just amazing. There was a huge kitchen/ family room, then everyone had there own little cottage off the main entry way. So we still had our time out from each other. Had a indoor pool, outdoor bath, which I had a tub in. Everyone had there own room basically . Views from every room. It was to die for. Highly recommend it to big groups, as u still have you down space but still together . The buggies are the best way to travel.. Haha the only way to get around hamilton island. So much to do and see. Give it a 10 out of 10. Utopia we will b back. Oh yeah white haven beach is a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JJ_Warth
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely but needs some maintenance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Utopia in April 2013 and although it was lovely, well equipped and had beautiful views, it did require some maintenance. For example a number of the sliding doors were extremely difficult to open or shut and in a number of bedrooms the blinds were missing or broken, ensuring you were awoken with the rising sun. I would also like to point out that broken blinds had been reported on previous stays. Finally, the stove was very difficult to light and keep alight. This has obviously been an issue before as there is a note regarding it.

I agree with previous reviews that the pool is way too cold. We were there in April and it had been beautiful hot sunny weather but it was still too cold to use. Also agree that it would be nice to be able to access the water from the front of the property so you could snorkel around the rocks.

One final complaint is the privacy in the ensuite bathrooms..... the doors are louvre doors which allow all smells and sounds through... not so pleasant.

On a positive note, there is plenty of room and the set up allows everyone to have the own space but also come together either indoors or outdoors. They were also helpful and flexible regarding the room set up and sleeping arrangements. So in summary, I thought it was lovely but definitely not 5 stars or luxury accommodation.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The separate sleeping areas and the beautiful view and location.
Liked least: The general upkeep of the property and the bathroom doors.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate your comments on the property.

In regards to some of the comments you brought up I'd like to update you to let you know that in May 2013 all the blinds in each bungalow and every bedroom were replaced with new roller blinds. The existing blinds were continually breaking through usage, so we have replaced them throughout to ensure privacy and block out the sun.

In regards to the stove, this was unfortunately broken by a previous guest and we had to order parts as it is a European design. Unfortunately it has taken some time to receive and install and we had tried a temporary fix in the interim.

Regarding access to the water at the front of the property, this would be nice too but we do not have authority from the Island to build down to the waters edge for public access. From our villa you can enjoy the views, but for the beach experience you do need to take a short 5 minute drive to the Catseye beach.

In regards to your other comments like the sticky doors and pool heating, we will definitely take these comments into consideration.

Thanks again for your time and feedback. It helps us provide you with a better service for next time.

kindest
Utopia Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Antonia
NSW
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
5
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LP70
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful property, aptly named!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010 for a stay in October 2010
3
people found this review helpful

We recently had a family holiday at Utopia, which certainly met our high expectations. The house is fabulous, a short walk to the resort facilities and beach, clears views, a great platform to sit and gaze at the ocean, really beautiful place to stay. Isabella who looked after our booking was extremely helpful as was the on-island management.

The design is great for a family group as the main house has the living area, plunge pool, large dining both inside and in the enclosed verandah around the pool, with the bungalows private and set off from the living area. We had many visits and sightings of nature - from super friendly kookaburras to turtles frolicking just off the shoreline.

A couple of things that might be useful to note, there is no beach or ocean access from the property directly. The bungalows are lovely, bungalow 1 and 2 are attached to the main living area (via walkways) bungalow 3 is separate (out the back) - not directly connected but a short walk. Bungalow 3 does not have TVs or radio in either bedroom.

We found the unheated pool way too cold to use in October which was a bit disappointing. Also, during our stay at least there was no real sound system set up (and no ipod docking station) or books/games etc so if you fancy those services check if they've added them.
All up though a really wonderful stay. Wish I could afford it every year!

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2010
Thank you for your review. We have considered your comments and have taken up the following:
- Since your stay we have included new flatscreen tv/dvd players to the third bungalow (both bedrooms) so now all rooms come with tv's.
-We have taken up your suggestion of adding ipod docks/speakers to all 5 bedrooms and an ipod port in the main entertainment area, so you can listen to ipod inside and outside on the pool deck
- we had added several board games, magazines and books for entertainment.

Again we appreciate the time you have taken to comment on our property and we look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.

thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Sydney
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010 for a stay in April 2010
4
people found this review helpful
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$892
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
UtopiaLand U
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2010
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing