We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected jewel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bommie

Bommie
Front St, 4803, Australia
(07) 4946 9999
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $47 - $69
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enjoy Modern Australian Cuisine and Fine Dining at the majestic Hamilton Island Yacht Club. A signature restaurant for guests at Hamilton Island
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Situated in the newly renovated/rebuilt yacht club, this restaurant must be one of the best - if not the best on the island. We stayed at qualia but wanted to eat "out" and tried this place. It is fine dining with a good menu, good wine list and knowledgable wait-staff. Will happily return next time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    49
    40
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fine dining and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We ate here for one evening meal during our stay at nearby Qualia and we actually preferred the food here. The menu choice was good and my main of the trio of beef was wonderful. You can also get a reasonably priced botte of wine (if you choose an Oatley vineyard). The Bombe Alaska to finish was also very nice.

The layout of the tables in the restaurant was well thought out and service was excellent. Dare I say bonhomie in Bommie:)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Fine Dining & Amazing Outlook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We treated ourselves to dinner in this wonderful restaurant. Very expensive but a wonderful dining experience. The views from the restaurant were stunning as was the service and atmosphere. We highly recommend dining at this wonderful restaurant if you are wanting to splash out and treat yourselves to a lovely romantic dinner.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Over promise, Under deliver!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Please note this review is for Bommie
Bar (not restaurant) .
Traveling in school holidays is never "fun" but we were with our 2 very well behaved/ mannered children ourselves so understand what it's like.
We thought we would try and get out of the hustle of the main resort and shout ourselves to some nice tapas and French champagne at the new Yacht club bar at Bommies. Well we got all dressed up (as we always do) kids looked great (they are 11 & 13). Sat down and admired the great view. Waiter come over, who was friendly and we ordered some Moët, some soft drinks for the girls and lots of tapas. Before we new it the assistant manager bought our meals to the table next door. We didn't say anything, you never know - maybe they ordered the same meal? Before we knew it they were tucking in like it was there last meal. Not too much long layer the assistant manager realized, hmmmm that wasn't your meal.
We understand things like this happen so we were all ok ....until - they decided to try and serve us the same meals ( that had been eaten) from the table next to us. To their credit the staff did try and hide it by taking about 3 plates back to the kitchen but it was pretty obvious they were trying to serve us the old meals as they were cold when we received them. We don't normally complain but when your spending over $200 on lunch I don't think it's too much to ask to have fresh food! Aside from this I have forgotten to mention we had to pour our own champagne. Normally for this price you would at least have someone pour your $130 bottle of champagne for you...oh we'll.
Anyway we did get a new bowl of fries but just put up with the oysters and other plates crossing our fingers hoping they were fresh. When we paid the bill there was no compensation although there was an unenthusiastic apology for the confusion. Not good enough in my book.
I'm not sure why they wouldn't want to try and keep their customers?
We travel all the time and realize it can be hard to retain good staff, especially on islands. It's just a shame this happened at such a beautiful location.
Maybe our expectations were too high. My motto is ...... Under promise and over
deliver. It's far safer.
Suffice to say, we were disappointed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Perfect for sunset drinks and special occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I attended a wedding reception at Bommie deck but wished I also went another time for a sunset drink. It is a stunning location and I think the best on the island. Enjoyed a few afternoon drinks and a sunset meal, my only regret not wearing sunscreen. Great staff and beautifully presented food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bommie also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Bommie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bommie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.