We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & service in a beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners Restaurant

Mariners Restaurant
Front St | Marina Village, 4803, Australia
(07) 4946 8628
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $61
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of the Marina Village, this long-established restaurant overlooks the marina, whilst you enjoy a menu that offers freshest seafood and modern Australian.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food & service in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Dined here on the first night of a 4 night break to celebrate our 23rd wedding anniversary. Service was excellent by very attentive staff. We had crab omelette with prawn bisque and duck confit entrees which were both excellent. For mains we had the bouillabaisse and reef fish with squid ink gnocchi. Both very nice but I did find the bouillabaisse to be a little too salty. Portion sizes were generous and we had no space left for desert.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    103
    59
    25
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“For a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked Mariners restaurant for our 25th wedding anniversary celebration meal . It lived up to all our expectations .
Great service , table by the window overlooking marina . Not too many choices to confuse - couldn't look past the bouillabaisse ,which was delicious . The oysters were too , but meant I didn't make it to dessert. A very special occasion with a lovely memory . We would highly recommend Mariners.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

After our disappointing experience at Bommie, I didn't expect much from the rest of Hamilton Island fine dining, but we were pleasantly surprised here. First off, the host and the lovely staff really made the night. I thought the good was good, not the best I've ever eaten, but overall it was an enjoyable evening which left happy memories!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good service but don't get the platter!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try the seafood platter - I thought crabs had 2 claws? You get about 6 prawns, 2 scallops, 2 spoons of lobster, 4 oysters, a few pieces of squid, about 3 mussels, soft crab and a whole perch crispy skin fish which was so crispy we couldn't get any meat out of the middle. Definately not worth the money, but on a good note you get 1 and a half decorative grapefruit. Service was fantastic but not value for money. We recommend the Thai green curry at Salis restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Make sure you book to avoid disappointment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Fantastic! Service was amazing, did not know how good or busy so I just walked in. As a sole dinner I only had to wait about 20 mins. A little pricey but the food was well worth it! Great views, atmosphere, well worth a visit for a special occasion.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariners Restaurant also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Mariners Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariners Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.