We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummie Barramundi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners Restaurant

Mariners Restaurant
Front St | Marina Village, 4803, Australia
(07) 4946 8628
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $61
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of the Marina Village, this long-established restaurant overlooks the marina, whilst you enjoy a menu that offers freshest seafood and modern Australian.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“yummie Barramundi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

dining alone is often challenging and lonely. My servers was informative and friendly. Following his suggestions on the nightly specials I had a fantastic meal. I highly recommend Mariners to anyone going Hamilton Island

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    74
    30
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Tables are lined along a long veranda, with interior space for drinkers. We had a fine waiter, but across the way a very breezy waitress repeatedly shared disapproval of something using the expression "king bum" -- room for a bit of hospitality training there. The dinners were very good, especially the little tower of smoked trout and celeriac straws.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarita
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

the food was faboulous as well very generous serves

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a great meal at Mariners. Sure the food is slightly overpriced but so is everything else on Hamilton Island - once you get past that you'll enjoy your meals much more. Our table of four had 2 of the daily specials and 2 items off the regular menu. Everyone really enjoyed their meals and all plates were clean when they headed back to the kitchen. The wine list is fairly thorough and has everything from $25 bottles to some pretty exclusive drops.

Service was also great - so good we figured our waitress must have been North American ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very Good Seafood Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Our restaurant at the Beach Club actually served the best seafood dish that we had on the Island, but we enjoyed our meal here. We shared the Seafood Platter (?). There was a fine variety of seafood, but it was served with those skinny fries! Why would you do that when Australia makes the best chips in the civilised world? And why would you serve them at all given the size of the platter? And why is the alternative to delicately prepared seafood of stunning variety and quality to douse the poor thing in batter and fry them?! Apart from that the fish was lovely, the portions too large and the service friendly and efficient.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariners Restaurant also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Mariners Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariners Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.