We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Daydream Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4740, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Moss, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Really nice resort on a private island, clean, well maintained, beautiful gardens and many pools. Nice reception area with free WiFi, many activities, even a small reef ecosystem. But I felt sorry for the sharks and stingrays that had almost no water to swim in. And I felt limited because we had to use resort facilities for everything. A lot of the activities on the island costs money, and it is expensive. Which was my biggesst issue with this place, I think it costs more than it is worth. The buffet restaurant wasn't really all that, it was in fact pretty average, but with way above average prices. The a la carte restaurant was better, but really expensive as well. If you like resort type holidays where you are greeted with shell necklaces and a welcome drink and have to sit down for an information meeting when you arive, if you like being in one place and don't mind paying what it costs whenever you want to do something, then this is the place for you. I like other types of vacations better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    356
    242
    143
    102
See reviews for
384
448
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and i just stayed at day dream island , very disappointing !The room was ok but we could never get in as there was something wrong with the door ,whenever u want to eat at the either of the two restaurants you have to book otherwise the hostess (Jessica Dunn) will not let you in and is extremely rude.The resort has another eatery but that is only open during the week.We found the resort unfriendly and overpriced will not be returning.

Room Tip: all are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaydreamIsland, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Spa.

It is disappointing to read your review of Daydream Island; and in particular your comment that the “Hostess will not let you”. In regards to our dining options, Daydream Island has 4 main dining options available with the outlet opening times varying depending on demand. We do in fact rotate our restaurants with a minimum of two options available each night. The vast majority of our guests enjoy the rotation of our outlets as it provides the opportunity to experiences all the options the resort has to offer, as with most mainland restaurants reservations/bookings are highly recommended.
We appreciate your feedback and are always looking for ways to improve the experience for our guests as guest satisfaction is our number one priority. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Daydream in the future as we believe you will have a positive experience.

Kind regards
Warren Mccorriston
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daydream Island hotels

Hobart, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a honeymoon in the tropics - with every experience from snorkling to good food and relaxation with a hint of excitement and Daydream Island Resort and Spa definitely delivered.
Whether it was walking in the rainforest, watching turtles (and swimming with them!) or eating way too much at the buffet dinner and breakfast - we did it all and loved it!
High lights were definitely the food at the Waterfall restaurant, and exceptional staff (everyone was so friendly and happy it was amazing. It made it feel like visiting old friends - which is exactly what you need to really relax on holiday!). Snorkling off Lovers Cove is a must! And the outdoor cinema is amazing. Not to mention the bats that come in each night at dusk. AMAZING!
The living reef and guided fish tour (where you feed sting rays and hold a live gummy shark) is another simply must do. Exceptional experience. Coral collecting, watching the sunset, spa baths and too many pools to count really made Daydream feel like paradise. Without the price tag and the crowds!
We were surprised how many families there were on the island (we assumed it was more of a couples retreat) but everyone seemed to be happy to be courteous and self-controlled which made it virtually a mute point.
All in all we loved our trip and highly recommend anyone thinking of Whitsundays holiday-ing consider travelling and staying at Daydream with the team at Resort and Spa :)

Room Tip: We had room 2209 which is a Garden View room. But we did have views of the Living Reef which was exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Family of 5 staying 7 nights January 2014.
Stayed in Coral Reef interconnecting rooms right opposite pool - with pool safety fencing (except neighbours left unlatched - and they were the ones with little kids!) Rooms were very clean and very spacious, beds big and pretty comfy - except pillows were too lumpy for me ! Rooms serviced daily to high standard.
The resort grounds are very well maintained each day. I watched the sunrise most mornings and the gardeners were hard at work at this time - same days kids were swimming at 6.30am!
Kids did the ray feeding ($38each) which they loved - the Living Reef which runs around the resort is fantastic as are the marine staff. We also did Parasailing - ($130 tandem) which was so much fun ! Beware - most of the activities incur a cost - bingo each day @ $10 each - so it is very expensive with older kids who want to do everything !
The non-motorised sports are free and the guys who run the Beach Hut activities are really friendly and helpful. Amazing Race was lots of fun as was snorkelling off Lovers Cove - so many fish - and stingers on our last day due to NE winds.
Food & Drinks - very expensive - which annoyed me! Bar drinks - expensive and hospitality staff were not very friendly! The managers who ran the Waterfalls and the Fishbowl were the exception however - very helpful eventhough they were very busy. The breaky buffet was good each day - kids loved it - lots of variety. We enjoyed the Roast Carvery but were disappointed with the Seafood Buffet. Fishbowl food was good, but bakery service and food very underpar for a Resort.
It really is a lovely place to visit and we had a great and relaxing time. The kids had a ball! The pools are lovely and the swim-up bar was good too. Would return for a few days only due to the expense of a week long stay.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool - cooler in the mornings ! Also, refill your water bottles in the gym - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasstree Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I wanted a lazy weekend so we headed to Daydream Island and had a great time. As the island is mainly focused towards families, we found that okay, but we were a couple and most of the guests had children, but that's what happens when you go holidaying in school holidays, all good though. We found the rooms clean and everything worked except the old style TV which should be upgraded so all of the free to air channel's could be viewed and not just five, bit slow moving on that front, apart from the TV thing the rooms were great, house keeping we're fast and everything tidy. The breakfast, I found a bit of an issue, generally crowded in a smallish cove, I found the food selection repetitive, but the bit issue for us is a lack of Gluten Free understanding, and gluten free bread was not available, we had to ask each morning, then took quite a some time to get, then a lack of understanding you can't put GF bead in a toaster with normal bread to toast, some research into gluten intolerance would be a suggestion to management. Apart from breaky all other food restaurants we found quite good especially Mermaids. The staff, the waiters, barmen, room attendants and reception staff all polite and willing to help. As Daydream is part of paradise, (The Whitsunday Islands) all gardens and lawns were neat and tidy, congratulations to the gardeners. Questions what would I do different next time? Take our own GF bread.
Were drinks expensive? Yes/No the beers, and spirits okay but the cocktails are a little expensive. What about food? Most of the dining selections good, but the seafood buffet I was disappointed, I thought a little over priced for what you get, not a real lot of seafood choice, next time I would go to Mermaid's. The big question....Would I go back to Daydream Is.....? Yes

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaydreamIsland, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Spa.

Daydream is always looking for ways to improve the experience for our guests, with that I would like to thank you for providing your insight in to an increasing issue of guest with food allergies and special needs. For any future guest who reads this response we simply ask that you make contact with either the Guest Service Managers, the Executive Chef or the Food & Beverage Manager all of which will do their upmost to accommodate the guest needs.

It is pleasing to see that you would come back to Daydream and we certainly look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards
Warren McCorriston
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed over Xmas for 6 nights with a 5 year old and a 2 year old. They both had a great time and the 5 year is planning our next trip there. The service and food was great .
To the people who want to complain i can say that you need to get out of he uptite mode and enjoy the place for what is was meant to be, we witnessed the same couple complain numberous time and i felt embarressed for them as it was just not needed. The place may need updating but we loved it. We used the skipper club and the spa , we even took water and deserts to our room and it was never a problem

Room Tip: we have a family ocean balcony and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Summary: DO NOT stay at this resort. Stay in Airlie beach and do a day trip for $64 return! We stayed 7 nights costing £2,300 for room only, then the food on top was $1,743.89 AUD!!!

As there is only 1 resort on this island, you pay. It's a beautiful little island in paradise but staying there you will be exploited.

Most tours from the mainland and an hourly boat go here so it would make much better sense to just visit.

So what went wrong? Remembering we were paying 5 star prices.

First day the salad served in Mermaids restaurant was rotten. When highlighted to the staff and manager, they just agreed with no offer of remedy.

Then for dinner we thought we would splash out on their signature seafood platter. It was AWFUL. Gone off oysters (I was later told by staff they bulk open them and leave them out rather than freshly opening them on demand). Generally a very poor meal.

The service was slow and generally pretty rude. Only one waiter was very cheerful and helpful.

We couldn't believe that the coffee shop was only available until 1pm, there was no fresh juice on the island and all the shops and facilities at the South end closed at 4pm.

The bakery was the first for me, it didn't sell bread!!! The was no facility to buy fresh fruit or veg. I had to return to the mainland to stock up on fruit to feed my 4 year old.

The whole place is geared to you eating what they provide, when they want to serve you, e.g. Meal time slots. Miss the time slot, go hungry. This is just not acceptable for a family holiday with young children.

Nowhere could you find anyone who could make a Mojito, apparently no mint.

There was no internet in the rooms and even though they advertise as a business centre the internet was so slow it was unusable and had so much restriction I couldn't pick up business email or visit my company web control panel. Again, useless for trying to keep an eye on business or my internet security cameras while away.

Some evenings there was only one restaurant open, on a rotation. Having already had a very poor experience at Mermaids restaurant we sadly preferred to go hungry.

Another real annoyance was so many 'in training' staff that didn't have a clue about anything, opening times, rules etc. This just meant waiting around until they found out from someone else. We were continually given the wrong information about services, prices and opening times.

Most of them came across as not enjoying working there with false smiles. The only guy who was really helpful and happy was Ray on reception.

The Spa closed daily at 4.30pm and my massage was carried out in a sun drenched, noisy room.

The restaurant breakfast food wasn't fresh, only on Christmas day did they appear to make an effort when the food was much better and fresh, although it was a regular occurrence for popular options to run out and there were often unnecessary queues.

From my photos you can see the room looked like a 1960s old fashioned holiday resort that hasn't been updated and it was dirty. Not terrible if paying for 2 star but for the premium price this is unacceptable.

I wanted to book Hayman Island, I'm so disappointed I didn't.

This resort looked fantastic from the web site and the advertising makes it look like paradise. It's in paradise but should be marketed, "Butlins in paradise".

Everything is geared to cost, even the water was around £5.00 per bottle!

I spoke with the management when I was there and although they made a small attempt there is just too much to fix. The main things being:

1. As customers have no choice but to eat on the island, make sure the food is fresh.
2. Keep everything open until 9-10pm, 'on an island with nothing to do!'
3. Serve fresh fruit and juice throughout the day
4. Sort the internet out

Finally, it was great looking out of the unit across the grass but dare to step out and you'll find Kangaroo pooh all over the lawns!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daydream Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Address: 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Daydream Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Daydream Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Daydream Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daydream Island Hotel Daydream Island
Daydream Island Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daydream Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.