We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing getaway that doesn't cost a fortune” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Daydream Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4740, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 5 Nights, Pay only 4
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
1 review
“Wonderful, relaxing getaway that doesn't cost a fortune”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly resort with hospitable staff willing to go out of their way for you. So many things for the kids to do and the best spa & massage treatments for me! Mermaids restaurant for dinner was 5 star quality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    312
    219
    126
    89
See reviews for
343
398
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on Daydream island for a friends wedding. Upon making the booking I mentioned we were coming for the wedding & was given a "discounted" rate. What I hadn't been told was that we would b getting a discounted amount of service.
Arrived to the resort around 11am the day of the wedding. Waited around 15 minutes to check in & we were told by the lady at reception that our room wasn't ready (which we understood as checkin isn't generally until 2pm) As I had mentioned when booking that we were there for the wedding I expected the reception to give us some details on where the wedding was etc. nope no mention of the wedding I had to listen in on the couple next to us who were also attending the wedding as the manager checking them in explained the details.
Anyway we waited in the lobby for around half an hour and got a phone call from reception saying our room was ready. Eager to get showered and ready for the wedding which was at 2pm, we raced up to our room only to find it had dirty towels on the ground, bed had no linen on it & the room was basically in shambles and hadnt been cleaned from the last people to check out.
I immediately rang reception to find out what was going on?
She said to come straight back down to reception which involved us lugging our heavy bags all the way back down 3 floors.
The manager was waiting for us at reception gave us some half assed apology then gave us 2 complimentary drinks. As the bar in the lobby wasn't open I went to a little kiosk where I waited 15 minutes to get a coffee and coke only to have the girl serving drop the f bomb at the till because she couldn't work out how to put the voucher through as I stood there awkwardly.
Finally after another hr of waiting for our room to be ready I went up to reception and asked what was going on as the wedding started in 1/2 an hr and we still needed to get ready!!!
The girl at reception handed over the key for the same room & said oh yeh it's ready. Were they going to tell us?!?
Anyway room was large but outdated. Tv was old school big back tv with crappy reception. Room had musty smell if we were staying anymore than 1 night I would hav asked to be changed but considering the trouble we went through to get this room I didn't bother.
Overall staff rude and seem like they don't want to be there.
Horrible service at the bakery once again 15-20 just to get some drinks & food (which costs a fortune)
Buggy service to the south side is a joke! Had the manager himself drive past me and another girl in high heels after the wedding lugging it back in the rain. Basically had to jump in front of the buggy for him to stop and pick us up!
We left our partners behind as there was no room on the buggy and when we got back the manger turned off the buggy.
We were confused and asked him if he was going back to get our partners? His reply was oh no this isn't a buggy service it only runs until 2pm (the time would have been around 3) and just walked off! This meant our partners had to walk back fully suited up in the rain then sit in their wet clothes for the wedding reception!
What a joke! If this is the managers attitude to looking after guests then no wonder none of the staff give a crap.
Avoid daydream island at all costs! only 1 night there was 1 too many!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daydream Island hotels

Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were just visiting for a few hours, but it all looked very pleasant and impressive. The collection of fish and other animals around the resort was a nice touch, allowing us to see sharks, sting rays, fish, and wallabies. It was a bit of a hike from the hotel to the shops/restaurants at the other end of the island, but it was a pleasant walk (excluding the golf carts running us off the road a few times - it really could have been wider). The outside of the resort looked a little old, but the interior was very nice and maintained. Seemed like a nice venue for a resort getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Daydream really is one of my favourite islands to visit in Australia. It has everything you need and offers great service and ambience, wonderful restaurants and bars with some of the most amazing seafood and cocktails I have ever tasted as well as loads of activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wonderful! All staff were very friendly, especially Craig who was extremely helpful. Food @ Mermaids was sensational (recommend the Seafood Platter!) Had a great time during our day trip on the sailing Catamaran, the Camira - would recommend this to anyone visiting. Thanks to everyone at Daydream :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Arriving at daydream for the 2nd holiday here it was still the same, very untouched. Big smiles on arrival was very welcoming. Great clean room and all activities very central. The resorts good value considering its an island and islands are always that little more expensive. Food was great but not all outlets were open so this was very disappointing to us and others. Great fun at night with lots to do for the kids and family's. day spa is a must and grab a jet ski it's fun. Mini golf was really run down and disappointing compared to last visit , it's almost as though they have let it go. I'd rate it as 6/10, I would have given a higher rating if there was more open and the billing was right. Would I return well there is a lot of islands to visit so if the right special came up the answers yes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Beautiful island but roon was not ready until 2.45 and it smelled mouldy and there was no outside area for drying swimwear etc. Bathroom was noisy as aircon didn't switch off.

In one day most restaurants were closed, main snorkelling beach was closed and we were charged $50 for snorkelling equipment for 3 days that we couldn't use (partially due to weather).

Carvery looked like a good option but was $49 per adult!!! Small bottle of water $5.

In management replies to past reviews there are many excuses but nothing seems to have changed. I would say read all reviews as they all have very valid points then decide if this is the place for you.

Staff are friendly and pools are good when not sat next to an overflowing ashtray and the rooms are big. Its a shame...this island could be so much more special with very minimal effort....I hope they turn it around.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaydreamIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Ozzie_1770
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Daydream Island resort and Spa. All feedback collected is thoroughly investigated and passed on to the management team though out the resort.

My sincere apologies for your room not being available at your time of check in, this are a very rare occurrence and one that I would appreciate further details on to look into.
As you would have previously read Daydream Island rotates all of the restaurants across the Island so that we can cater to all guests and everyone gets the opportunity to experience all the Island has to offer with the majority of guests provide very positive feedback.

With regards to smoking around the pool area and in any public area Daydream Island has designated smoking areas that we encourage all guests to utilise. We do our best to police this by educating staff and management to enforce this program as you can imagine with such a vast area this can be difficult to police as not all guest are willing to comply.
It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the natural beauty of the Island and that our staff had such a positive impact on your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Daydream Island Resort and Spa in the very near future and I’m sure your experience will be a positive one.

Kind Regards,
Craig Ryan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Daydream Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Address: 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Daydream Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Daydream Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Daydream Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daydream Island Hotel Daydream Island
Daydream Island Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daydream Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.