We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daydream Island - fantastic 3 night stay for our family of 5!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Daydream Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4740, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 5 Nights Pay 4
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Daydream Island
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Daydream Island - fantastic 3 night stay for our family of 5!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We’ve just returned from 3 nights on Daydream Island with our family of five (kids 4, 6, 8) – what a great stay! We had a ground floor Family Coral Ocean View room which we found to be clean, spacious and provide terrific views. The pools are terrific with plenty of options to be protected from the wind (which was required on two days of our stay) and we never had a problem getting a deck chair. We ate at Mermaids (dinner) and the Waterfall Buffet (for breakfast and dinner) both of which were great, although I’d suggest booking early in the day for your preferred time at dinner, as we saw numerous people turned away. We also utilised the Kids Club for an afternoon session, and found the carer to be professional and courteous and offered plenty of activities for our children, although probably because we were out of school holidays it was very quiet and no additional excursions for our older children were offered on that day. The Day Spa is wonderful – beautiful rooms and lovely staff – again, book early (I pre-booked prior to arriving via email). The resort’s gardens are amazing and all of the resort facilities are very well kept and maintained. Probably the only negatives I could mention were that we found the staff to fly around on the golf buggy transportation way too fast. Especially when walking down to the village, you almost have to jump out of the way of the buggies which come up silently behind you at too fast a speed. Also, we arrived via a private catamaran, and I was a little stunned that after checking in at the Transit Lounge, none of the staff standing around offered to assist in collecting our luggage from the jetty, especially as it was quite wild and windy weather. In the end we flagged down one of the passing speedy golf cart drivers who then assisted us. Overall, the majority of the staff on Daydream appear quite young, but they’re doing a very good job, without doing an exceptional job. The resort also seems to be managing it’s quieter times well, alternating the closing of some restaurants. I also like that they offer lighter lunchtime options compared to a restaurant meal, with salads and wraps available at the pool side bar. I did find it a little frustrating at times though to discover options like the ‘Call and Collect’ dinner (ie takeaway) option wasn’t available despite still being included in the In Room Compendium, and it was only thanks to a helpful staff member that we discovered Mermaids would offer lunch time takeaway to eat around the pool. The mini golf is fun for young kids and also the outdoor cinema a great idea, although I would have liked a kids’ movie to have been offered during our stay. In conclusion, I would highly recommend Daydream Island Resort for a family stay, we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: The Coral Ocean View Rooms offer amazing water views (even from the ground floor) and are convenien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    266
    188
    106
    75
See reviews for
303
344
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I went as part of a group to Daydream Island and was delighted with the place. I am not generally into resorts but we had spent some time in the outback and this was a lovely counter to that. The Whitsundays is a superb location and Daydream Island offers a nice set of possibilities for families especially, I would think. It is only a small island and if you are staying a long time (unfortunately we were not) then you might need to do day trips to other islands. Also if you are super-adventurous, you may find it does not do enough to hold your attention and excitement, but it was splended for us for a couple of days. All the staff were terrific and I loved it that at dusk, wallabies would come out over the island. There is a short but pleasant bushwalk up over a hill to the other side (through rainforest, more or less, but with several spots that have delightful views) and another very different walk along a coastal path, where you can look out at the islands as you walk around. There are often lizards, birds and other wildlife to be seen on both of these walks and indeed over much of the island. Nothing is very far away. There are a small number of shops and a few different eating options, though none of them seemed to be all that cheap. My friend did pay quite a bit for fish and chips but had a huge helping and said it was very nice. She claimed it was quite good value, given its size, and she only wished that she and her partner had shared one between them. Our room was great, although it was one of the less expensive ones. It was bright, roomy, very clean and and very comfy. I don't normally care too much about decor but this was really gave you a feel for being on the island with its motifs and bright ocean-inspired colours. We had a fridge and I had brought a few snacks across from Airlie Beach, being on a budget and not wanting to be forced to eat out for every meal on the island. We had buffet brekkies every morning and a buffet dinner one night in the same restaurant. Both were very good, with a huge amount of choices, although there were heaps of kids around. This didn't worry us but I can imagine that some people might think it is not quite the environment they want to eat in. We enjoyed the swimming pools and the spa. We tried aquarobics, went on quite a few walks, went to the lovely cove, attended the free film under the stars at the other end of the island and generally had a very fine time here. Would I go back? I'd love to. It's a case of if and when I can afford it.

Room Tip: You pay more for a view, which I think would be very nice but don't forget that there are lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in November, room 3306, Garden Balcony Room. 3rd stay at Daydream (1997, 2009 and now)

Overall, a great stay. Room very clean and well maintained. Has requested a king room, but was only provided with a Twin (reception did well to try to change this, acted very well and professionally to keep me happy at the negative result).

Room was well cleaned and serviced each day, again could not be much better. Bed was a little hard, and TV was an old 'box' style, which is a little surprising for a 4 and a half star hotel.

Grounds and resort still very well kept; love the outdoor aquarium. Also love the walk to the far end of the island with the bakery, and enjoyed walking back via the rainforest walk (great to try to spot the wallabies in the undergrowth)

Really, a great trip overall, very relaxing and enjoyable. And now the but.

When I stayed here last time (and still in the current compendium), they had a 'call and go' takeaway service (as there is no room service available). This was a very convenient way if you did not feel like a major meal in the evening, or wanted to have a snack on the beach. This time, not available (when I asked at reception, was told that it was not profitable, therefore had been discontinued). This seriously limits options in the evening, as only two places were open each night.

We tried all of the eateries on the Island - Fishbowl Tavern, the bakery, Waterfalls and Mermaids restaurant. In general, food prices are pretty competitive with comparable restaurants on the Mainland and other islands - but a lack of selections means eating at more expensive restaurants than you would normally on the mainland.

The Bakery - excellent value, for morning teas and lunches. Had pastries and scones here, and very happy with staff and service. Only open between 9.30am and 4.00pm

Mermaids Restaurant - had a fantastic lunch here on our last day overlooking the passage - again, great service, and excellent food, good value again.

Fishbowl Tavern - very relaxed atmosphere, order at the bar. Mains are in the upper range (T bone was $35) Sadly, the T Bone, asked for a medium / well, came back with the correct tag, but cooked to the point that there was little left of it (almost black with char). For the price, expect a lott more from any eatary.

Waterfalls Buffet - ate here 3 times (2 Breaky, 1 Dinner). Breakfast $26 per person, pretty standard buffet breaky, reasonable value. Dinner - went to the BBQ Buffet - $42 per person. A bit of a strange affair. 2 set sitting times (5.30pm and 7.30pm). Which means every body is lined up at 5.30 at the door. Which means every body is lined up at 5.35pm at the buffet. Which means the first lot of food is gone at 5.45pm. The chefs are then trying to play catch up, which results in food not beeing up to the original standard. (a lot of guests complaining, especially about the steaks; the second lot that came out were not much past blood rare). softdrinks are also not included in the Buffet price, so on top of the $42, you pay another $4 for a cup to allow you to use the softdrink machine. We also tried to order an orange juice, which, for the reasons as above, took 25 minutes to arrive. We paid cash, then got to pay for it again on our final room bill. (yeah). Food was OK, but not even close to being decent value. The staff were trying their best, but were simply overun. Would hope the Restaurant Manager might have a rethink on this procedure.

Look, I have always loved Daydream, and still do. But the fact is in todays world, guests have to be fully catered for, and the overall experience must match up with what is available elsewhere at comparative prices. Based on this trip, and my experiences in the 4 years since I was last here, the only reason I would return is if there was a very good room rate. Because the food choices make it overly expensive, simply because of the lack of options. And profitablity of one small food service can be enough to stop people from returning, when there are so many competitors in the market.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed at Daydream for a week with a friend. Absolutely fantastic! Lots of free activities - kyaking, paddle boards, catamarans. There is even a cove where you can snorkel directly off the island and see beautiful fish and coral. The highlight of the trip was doing the Sunset Cruise. It's $49pp and includes a glass of champagne, beer etc. fruit & cheese platter. Takes approximately and hr where you cruise around the Island and watch the sun set. Absoutely magnificient. A must do! The only downside to the resort is that there are limited dining options, and early bookings for dinner are definately required or else you may not be able to get into the restaurant til later in the evening.

Room Tip: Coral Ocean Room - unobstructed ocean views. Amazing! Also as these rooms don't face the pool th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

You can do as much or as little on Daydream Island, we chose to do as little as possible. We relaxed by the mermaids pool, sipped a few cocktails at the pool bar, soaked up the sun. Had a bit of a wander around the island to see some of the sights which I must say are worth seeing. The staff were amazing friendly. I will return in the future and I will be telling all my family and friends that they need to visit so put in on the bucket list!

Room Tip: The rooms closest to Mermaids restaurant will give you a fantastic view of the ocean and other islan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our honeymoon of 3 weeks in Australia brought us to Daysream Island for 3 nights. Overall we had a great time but were expecting a different experience.

Pros: the whitsundays are amazing. Beautiful. Pristine. Water colors I haven't seen in many places. You must visit whitehaven beach. There are a handful of little coves to hang out in that are quiet and beautiful. There are a bunch of pool options also. A cute short hike from one end to the other with great views. Wallabies everywhere! Activities desk man is awesome. Many staff members incredibly helpful and friendy, specifically welcome staff, guys at drove the buggies (even though we never took them, they are available). Looks like a good family place with activities for the kiddos.

Cons:
The food is marginal at best. Breakfast is actually best meal of day, buffet style. All other meal options are fairly limited and not overly exciting. Know the schedule ahead of time because there are times when nothing or next to nothing is available to eat. You are on an island with limited options. Given that, they do a fairly good job of providing options but perhaps they just aren't to our liking or typical standard of dining. The restaurants are completely overpriced. All food and drinks are over priced but somewhat in line with the rest of Australia right now but the restaurants really take it an extra step of steep pricing.

There is a big cheesy decor factor to get used to. Like ceramic fish hanging, dolphins in bottom of pool,etc.
we were completely nickel and dimed. "free" activities claim kayak and sailing cats but you have to pay for those. Snorkeling gear not free. $10 for a cheesy mini golf. $20 per hour if you want late checkout. (10am!) Pay pool tables and video games. $5 for soda on top of a $42 all you can eat buffet. Just add those prices in and stop nickel and diming.

Indifferent: rooms are fine. Clean. Nothing fancy, nothing overly comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our 5th visit. and our 2nd this year.We had a marvelouse time-- as ususal. Seven
nights are just enough to veg out, relax, and recharge the batteries.

Food was good. We prefer Waterfalls and Mermaids for evening meals and enjoy the BoatHouse bakery for our morning tea and lunch. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

We always look forward to a relaxing massage whenever we visit.

The grounds were very neat and clean and well maintained.

Tim S

Room Tip: coral ocean balcony is our prefered choice.The view is very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daydream Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Address: 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Daydream Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Daydream Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Daydream Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Daydream Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daydream Island Resort And Spa
Daydream Island Hotel Daydream Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daydream Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.