We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven on earth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lizard Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lizard Island Resort to your Saves list
Lizard Island Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Via Cairns, Lizard Island, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven on earth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We flew to Lizard Island from Cairns. We were not given any information about the plane when booking. If you don't like small planes, this may be a problem. But, it's only an hour flight and it's worth it if you can stomach it...no bathrooms on the plane... (or take some medicine to get you through the flight). We were flown to the island on a plane that seated 12 passengers and flown back on a plane that seated 6 passengers (though, on the return flight, one passenger had to sit next to the pilot and one passenger had to sit in the back row by themselves (meaning, at least one couple was separated from their partner because of the small plane). We were promptly greeted and taken to The Lodge for a welcome drink. Then we were taken to our room...Anchor Bay Suite #31. Whoa! The atmosphere/ambience of the room was amazing and the view is a slice of heaven on earth. It was hard to leave the room...but we made ourselves change and go out so we could go enjoy all the island had to offer. Relaxing on the beach, snorkeling off the beach, hiking, taking a 'dingy' (not a dingy by my definition...it was a nice-sized little motor boat with a shade structure) to other parts of the island and private beaches for more snorkeling and a picnic lunch. Note: when you order a picnic lunch, they pack double of what you requested if your lunch is for two...so we had way more food than we needed or could eat. So much fun! We also did a 1/2-day snorkeling trip (which is an hour snorkeling)...it was all we needed. A full day trip would have been too long for us...aka, boring (we ready to stop snorkeling after 40 minutes). But that's just us.

The food in the restaurant was very good, but not excellent (which is what we expected for the expensive, all-inclusive price). The portions of food were good for us because we don't like to over fill. However, if you feel the portions to be small, you could ask for another order (the same or something else). There was one night where I decided to try something new and didn't care for it at all. They had no problem bringing me a different order. The staff is very friendly and willing to offer helpful advice about what to do on the island. However, the serving staff wasn't as attentive as we expected. Not sure if that is because they are mostly young and not as experienced serving in a 5-star restaurant. There were many times where we waited way too long for someone to refill our water glass or before we had to go find someone and ask for more water, or whatever. They weren't very good about checking on you to see if you needed anything. But, whatever they did, they did it with a smile.

Overall, we loved our time there and are glad we went. However, we expected excellence for the price...and that is not what we would rate it overall.

Room Tip: Anchor Bay Suite numbers 27-38 are the best location and views, in our opinion. If you're looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    41
    7
    10
    3
See reviews for
38
204
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We spent six days there. Everything was excellent, including the food (second time we were there and the first time it was not as brilliant). The reef is gorgeous, as are the facilities provided by the resort, especially the dinghies included in the price that you use for going on your own to private beaches. Simply astonishing.
Plenty of money, but the bottom line is that we long to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This resort is right on the coral and we spent hours off the beach seeing the beauty of the coral and fish.It,s an expensive resort and we could only afford 3 days,wish it was 3 weeks but a great place and when we win the lottery we will be back.Can not fault the resort..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 via mobile

Nothing to say but perfection, so thank you lizard for another great holiday.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were at Lizard Island for 4 days and we wish we could stay more. It is very special with those pristine white sand beaches, with the Cod Hole dive site nearby. We had excellent dives there. We had very good days by the beach and we saw some of the nicest sunsets we have ever seen.
We recommend that you make a reservation for a candlelight dinner on the beach. It was great!!!! We had our last night dinner in a table on the sand, we were barefoot, the stars were bright there, the fire of some torches lighted around, the wines and the food were perfect. It was a moment to last forever in our memories as one of the best in our lives.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester county, ny
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Lovely island ....the only thing on this island is the resort. Just coming from Southern Ocean Lodge we were expecting a lot. Everything here is beautiful but just a tiny notch below SOL. Great snorkeling, a clean quiet beach, a very good food. Unless you are a serious scuba diver 3 nights here is plenty...no night activities at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

WOW WOW WOW. My wife and I had an amazing experience here. It's quiet the beach is super pristine and beautiful and there is a nice reef for snorkeling. It's very romantic as well... <3

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lizard Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Island Resort

Address: Via Cairns, Lizard Island, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Lizard Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lizard Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lizard Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Island Hotel Lizard Island
Lizard Island Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lizard Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.