We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marineland Melanesia

Marineland Melanesia
Green Island, Green Island, Queensland, Australia
07-4051-4032
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Aquariums, Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Marineland Melanesia Crocodile HabitatSituated on beautiful Green Island off Cairns on the Great Barrier Reef. Home to Cassius - largest captive croc in the world at nearly 5.5 metres. Set on 3/4 acre garden setting with over 60 crocodiles, sea turtles, tropical fish aquariums, and museum of primitive art and marine artefacts. See our crocodile feeding shows at 10.30 and 1.30 daily, and have your photo taken holding a baby crocodile. Ask about our family rates.At our entrance you will find our gift shop, with a fantastic range - and the best prices. Souvenirs, T-shirts, beach clothing, towels, sunscreen, shells, coral, gemstones and jewellery. We make beautiful gemstone and coral jewellery here in our shop as well - take home something unique to Green island.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

before visiting, this place sounds just for the family and kids, but after the adventure. definitely recommend for all kinds. also once you purchase the ticket, you are welcome back anytime during the stay. we took lots of pics and lucky enough touch the live crocs.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bega, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Up close & personal experience with crocodiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

An incredible display of Melanesian artifacts, great little aquarium and lots of crocodile to view up close. Feeding time is really exciting with two of the largest crocs being fed, an awesome display of the strength & size of these amazing reptiles. This is a great activity for all ages.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were amazed at the strength of those jaws! Make sure you visit at feeding time as the show is eye opening. The staff were really informative and you are able to get so close and really experience their size and strength. Then hold "cuddles" the 4yo croc and feel his skin and belly. There is also a huge collection of beautiful artefacts from here and PNG. Very interesting place. A must see if you're going out to Green Island.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Crocodiles!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were on Green Island for the day and made sure to catch the feeding of the Crocodiles here. The collection of Melanesian artifacts is scattered aound the complex with the stars of the show housed behind wire towards the back.

The park itself is showing its age a bit. I don't really like caged animals and found the pond which housed 2 turtles unfairly small. The croc cages are also small but they don't seem to need to do much moving around. The attendant, part of the owners family, really does genuinely care and respect the animals so maybe I'm just being sensative.

The crocs are huge but don't move until they sense the food. The attendant explains everything, from the founding of the Marineland to the crocodiles themselves, really well with lots of good humour and bantering. These are pretty awe inspiring beasts to watch and theres plenty of space around the various cages for everyone to see. Insect repellant is provided if you need it and you may even be lucky to cuddle a baby croc if you're there at the right time.

Overall its a nice family owned business that can be an interesting addition to your day at the Island.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dreaming and Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

After travelling on Big Cat (love being on the water) to Green Island we embarked and headed straight towards Marineland Melanesia. It is a few minutes walk we made in time for the feeding of the crocodiles. I had heard about this little place but really did not know much other than it housed the world largest crocodile in captivity CASSIUS. He is awesome and aged 100years, Cassius is a giant compared to a lot of crocodiles have seen and would not like to meet him while swimming!.
Marineland has a museum, this is one where you can step back in time.One could let their imagination go back to the days of mystery with so many handcarved artifacts from different areas like PNG,and islands. Certainly an incredible place. It is a family run business.
I learnt so much about the crocodiles and held a year old crocodile.
The cost was under $20 for an adult and one could spend a few hours just loking at all the artifacts and photos. Highly recommend.
.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marineland Melanesia also viewed

 

Been to Marineland Melanesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marineland Melanesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.