We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post card perfection ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Green Island Resort to your Saves list
Green Island Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Green Island, Great Barrier Reef, Green Island, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Post card perfection ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

An amazing retreat. The room was spacious and luxurious, and the staff were very attentive and accommodating. The island itself is post card perfect.

Yes there are tourists and the pier end of the island is very busy between about 1pm and 4pm but it is easy to escape into the tranquility of the resort, find a patch of beach all to yourselves, or go snorkelling because the water is usually not crowded.

Had a fantastic time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    139
    32
    15
    12
See reviews for
143
287
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This resort is ideal for a get away from the world as long as you can wait for the last boat to leave taking all the day trippers away.
The island is yours to explore and is well worth it as the feeling of desert island abounds.
The resort has a guests pool and restaurant which served some of the best food I have eaten in Australia. Breakfast was also excellent.
My only disappointment was the room. We had room 11 which was a ground floor interconnecting one. The noise from the room above was surprising as any movement could be heard through the ceiling, and the bar fridge had to be turned off on the second night as it made such a racket. This was very disappointing as the rooms are decorated to a very high standard. I am also suppressed that there are interconnecting rooms in such a resort, are they really needed?
Apart from the quality of build, the resort is well worth a stay as it is something different and a nice change from city hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in an upstairs Island suite, which I highly recommend. The room itself was large, clean and well-appointed, and looked right out onto the tropical rainforest. We were probably the closest room to the helicopter pad, but I don't remember the noise or vibrations being too much of a problem. The restaurant's offerings were fantastic from breakfast through to dinner, if a bit pricey. We spent a romantic afternoon on a secluded beach with a splendid picnic hamper packed by the restaurant, which was a lovely touch. Snorkelling was great, as was exploring the spectacular rainforest. The island is bustling with tourists in the day, but takes on a quiet tranquillity by night. The staff are so helpful and made our visit very memorable.

We booked well in advance with an pretty sweet Entertainment Book offer, but on checking closer to our arrival, the discount offered by the resort's website itself worked out even better...so do your research! We could not have afforded our stay otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Went for a locals night over. Room was very comfortable. Island is just stunning. Be sure to visit the crocodile adventure... It is awesome. Breakfast is sooo lovely and the staff are all very friendly! Will definately be going again .... Sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights on Green Island. The resort is excellent - very clean, large, and attractive rooms, with excellent service. There is only one restaurant, but it is quite good - especially for breakfast, which is included in the room fee. Snorkeling is good, especially at the end of the jetty. Diving (novice level near the resort) was also good, and we really enjoyed the dive master. The only negative is the large number of day-trippers that descend on the island during the day, but it's easy to escape at the pool, etc. located within the resort grounds. The island is small, so three nights was just right for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I booked three nights at Green Island and were impressed by the quality of the accommodation, beauty of the island, excellent service and the magnificent snorkelling experience just off the private beach. In fact we saw more fish and turtles than our day trip on the outer reef. Snorkelling equipment is available on demand. Service is excellent and always cheerful.
The rooms are large, well-appointed and very private.
The island has many day visitors which add to the experience however the resort is designed for maximum privacy and in any case all day visitors leave by 4pm leaving guests behind to enjoy the island overnight. There are daily fish feeding and educational night tours. The only restaurant on the island is excellent but can get a bit monotonous for long stays as there is no other option on the island, not to mention quite expensive.
Breakfast was included and was both plentiful and varied
We are committed to returning soon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green_Island_Resort, General Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
hzed, thank you for your wonderful review and feedback about the restaurant.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a wonderful 3 nights at this fantastic resort. The service was great, the rooms and facilities were very well maintained and all activities were included in the price. Loved the fish feeding, sunset drinks and nature walk. The food in the restaurant was great quality and value for money. While there are quite a few day trippers who visit the island, resort facilities are for house guests only and there is plenty of beach and snorkelling space for everyone. Enjoyed the glass bottom boat and Marineland Melanesia - awesome crocs and aquariums with a great croc show by very knowledgeable and friendly staff member, Brad. Best of all was the fantastic snorkelling - a huge array of marine life literally metres from yr room. So great being able to safely snorkel with turtles, rays, huge fish and large schools of fish as many times as you like during the day. A great experience and great value for money. Rooms are very private and the king sized bed was great. We will definitely be going back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green_Island_Resort, General Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
3 days! You're practically a local now Cranium59!

Thank you for taking the time to leave this wonderful review, i'll make sure Brad hears about your positive feedback.

Look forward to seeing you when you return:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Island Resort

Address: Green Island, Great Barrier Reef, Green Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Green Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Green Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 27 km across the Coral Sea from Cairns in Tropical North Queensland, Green Island Resort is luxury on the Great Barrier Reef. With just 46 suites nestled amongst the rainforest and secluded from the day visitor facilities, this world-class eco-sensitive resort offers a unique blend of luxurious accommodation, first class service and unparalleled access to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Green Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Island Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.