We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical island paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Green Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Island Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Green Island, Great Barrier Reef, Green Island, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Green Island
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tropical island paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just had a fabulous five nights at Green Island Resort and thoroughly recommend it.

Green Island is a popular day trip destination, which adds life and colour during the day. There is so much to do for such a small island – excellent snorkelling (amazing coral, fish, reef sharks, the odd stingray and lots of turtles!), glass bottom boat, visit the crocodile park, relax by the pool or under an umbrella on a sun lounge on the beach, wander along the boardwalk through the rainforest (it won’t take you long but the information boards provide fascinating information about the island’s history), or just chill out on your balcony with a book.

After all the day guests depart, Resort guests have the island to themselves and can enjoy free sunset drinks on the beach (great way to meet fellow guests), watch the fish being fed from the jetty, stargazing on a clear night and night nature walks.

Our Reef Suite was exactly as pictured on the Green Island Resort website. It was spacious and comfortable and the shower was incredible – excellent water pressure!

Living on the Island you are a captive audience when it comes to food. We found ourselves spending about $40 for lunch for two adults without drinks (although the salads are so large you could share them!) and dinner was usually around $150-160 including two courses and a bottle of wine. They also offer picnic hampers where you can take your food off to the beach (with lantern and picnic blanket) for a quiet, romantic dinner under the stars.

All the staff were very friendly and really anxious to assist whenever they could. Nothing was too much trouble.

We took advantage of the Day Spa to each have a massage – not cheap but definitely worthwhile! We also went on the Outer Reef day trip with Great Adventures where we snorkelled past the most colourful coral I’ve ever seen! The semi-submersible was a great way to see the edge of the reef, amazing fish and more coral without getting wet! If you're spending a few days on the island then I'd definitely recommend taking a day out for this trip.

Room Tip: All the Reef King Suites seem to run along the outside edge of the Resort (separated from the path a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    100
    25
    13
    8
See reviews for
103
228
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night recently. The rooms are beautiful and very very clean, checkin your bags at the reef terminal and you don't see them again until you get to your room. Very very arduous check in process where you are told to sit down like school children and listen to the staff - clearly aimed at foreigners but incredibly painful when you speak English and it seemed to take an hour. Breakfast was good. Dinner was expensive so factor in $100 for it - $40 mains. All wetsuits umbrellas snorkels life jackets etc were included which was fab value.

Would we stay again - yes. Next time we would stay 2 nights so we werent so rushed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for our honeymoon and took the honeymoon package: bottle of sparkling and sweets waiting in the room and dinner in the resort restaurant. The restaurant is excellent and the rooms are great. The sea was too rough to take a snorkeling boat tour, though.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stay at Green Island resort as part of our honeymoon. It was fantastic. The staff was beyond helpful, the food was wonderful and the island was beautiful. It was all the little extras that helped make our stay great... snorkel equipment, beach chairs and towels, tours/walks, glass bottom boat, fish feeding, etc. It was a great 2 days could have easily stayed for 3-4.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Wow. Consider this gem for a few nights if staying in the Cairns region in winter. Why? Coral and tropical fish to explore whilst snorkelling from a clean sandy white beach : Check. Over 28 degrees even in winter (!). Check. Snorkelling with green turtles everyday (mornings or after 430pm- that's the rule not an exception!). Check.

Every activity is INCLUDED in the price: snorkelling gear, wetsuits; kayaks; wind surfers; a glass bottom boat tour of coral (good); daily 5pm fishing feeding off the jetty (addictive!), 515pm free champers or beer to watch the sun plunge into the ocean :); and star gazing each night at 8pm and then a 9pm spotlighting nature tour of the tropical island forest with a guide? Check. Check. Check. Check.

An endlessly delicious buffet breakfast included in most deals. Immaculate lovely rooms and daily servicing (it's so clean every day! How do they clean up all the sand I dredged through the room each day!!). .

Oh and I neatly forgot: an awesome crocodile park on the island ! (curious, exciting, scary albeit unexpected...) This was our 7-year old son's favorite activitiy bar snorkelling. Cassius is the largest croc at 5.5 meters ever in captivity ;)

But the best thing for us was the helpful, professional, HAPPY staff. We have never experienced this joy from staff ever. Consistently in Green Isl restaurant, reception, room service, cleaners: they really seem to like their guests and working there, especially the lovely American staff. Kudos to a presumably great, happy manager!

We have stayed in many Whitsunday islands including Hayman, and Daydream Isl and Hamilton. Green Island Is is way better: clearer water, sandy beaches, turtles and tropical fish, and at 45 mins from Cairns - much quicker to get to! And especially for the great weeklong deal we got online. In comparison, the more expensive Cairns hotels we stayed in have been more costly and a let down- why not take the 45 min complimentary ferry to the island instead?!

One downer: Dont let the swarming day tourists put you off: there are too many of them; and a day tour would not do the island any justice. But once they leave at 4pm the island is deserted, magical and all yours! Also anothet gripe: lunches are generally junk (chips pie burgers) and the dinners are very expensive although the gourmet meals at Emeralds is exceptional. Just make sure you bring a few bottles of your own favorite wine for relaxing on your balcony or expect to pay 3x retail price... While Im at it, the coral itself isnt the highlight: it's the huge variety of fish, turtles and harmless reef sharks in clear water that make it amazing.

Another tip: Just be a bit more adventurous than the sheeple: We snorkelled around the WHOLE island (just 1.6 km though ;)) about 10 -20 m off shore with wetsuits, flippers and lifejackets and a fit 7-year old and saw sting rays, tropical fish, corals, sea grasses, turtles etc etc. Breath taking. And we swam under the pier at fish feeding time to see up close the giant trevally and moon fish and parrot fish and reef sharks. Awesome.

Don't do the overrated day trip - stay a few nights (we stayed 7 nights! And still it was too short) ;)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Wow. Consider this gem for a few nights if staying in the Cairns region in winter. Why? Coral and tropical fish to explore whilst snorkelling from a clean sandy white beach : Check. Over 28 degrees even in winter (!). Check. Snorkelling with green turtles everyday (mornings or after 430pm- that's the rule not an exception!). Check.

Every activity is INCLUDED in the price: snorkelling gear, wetsuits; kayaks; wind surfers; a glass bottom boat tour of coral (good); daily 5pm fishing feeding off the jetty (addictive!), 515pm free champers or beer to watch the sun plunge into the ocean :); and star gazing each night at 8pm and then a 9pm spotlighting nature tour of the tropical island forest with a guide? Check. Check. Check. Check.

An endlessly delicious buffet breakfast included in most deals. Immaculate lovely rooms and daily servicing (it's so clean every day! How do they clean up all the sand I dredged through the room each day!!). .

Oh and I neatly forgot: an awesome crocodile park on the island ! (curious, exciting, scary albeit unexpected...) This was our 7-year old son's favorite activitiy bar snorkelling. Cassius is the largest croc at 5.5 meters ever in captivity ;)

But the best thing for us was the helpful, professional, HAPPY staff. We have never experienced this joy from staff ever. Consistently in Green Isl restaurant, reception, room service, cleaners: they really seem to like their guests and working there, especially the lovely American staff. Kudos to a presumably great, happy manager!

We have stayed in many Whitsunday islands including Hayman, and Daydream Isl and Hamilton. Green Island Is is way better: clearer water, sandy beaches, turtles and tropical fish, and at 45 mins from Cairns - much quicker to get to! And especially for the great weeklong deal we got online. In comparison, the more expensive Cairns hotels we stayed in have been more costly and a let down- why not take the 45 min complimentary ferry to the island instead?!

One downer: Dont let the swarming day tourists put you off: there are too many of them; and a day tour would not do the island any justice. But once they leave at 4pm the island is deserted, magical and all yours! Also anothet gripe: lunches are generally junk (chips pie burgers) and the dinners are very expensive although the gourmet meals at Emeralds is exceptional. Just make sure you bring a few bottles of your own favorite wine for relaxing on your balcony or expect to pay 3x retail price... While Im at it, the coral itself isnt the highlight: it's the huge variety of fish, turtles and harmless reef sharks in clear water that make it amazing.

Another tip: Just be a bit more adventurous than the sheeple: We snorkelled around the WHOLE island (just 1.6 km though ;)) about 10 -20 m off shore with wetsuits, flippers and lifejackets and a fit 7-year old and saw sting rays, tropical fish, corals, sea grasses, turtles etc etc. Breath taking. And we swam under the pier at fish feeding time to see up close the giant trevally and moon fish and parrot fish and reef sharks. Awesome.

Don't do the overrated day trip - stay a few nights (we stayed 7 nights! And still it was too short) ;)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Spent our anniversary here for 2 nights in their Island suite room. We booked through their website that included buffet breakfast, transfer to & from Cairns via Great Adventures, sunset drinks which was so marvelous & romantic, snorkeling, wet suits, use of beach chairs, glass bottom boat tour, nature walks and star gazing which was so memorable seeing the milky way and Saturn! By 930 every morning the first lot of day trippers arrives and they continue on until noon. They do get a lot of day trippers each day. It is also wonderful that they provide shower facilities and lockers for day trippers. Altho' I know it can be a bit frustrating to be queuing for food and getting snorkeling gears, we were lucky during the time we were there that wasn't a problem at all but we do see A LOT of day trippers around. Once we leave the common area and enter in the resort's "housing" units, we do find peace and quiet. Being a resort guest we still get to enjoy the privacy we want. Inside resort, guests can enjoy a small pool, Coastal lounge where you can wait for your ferry ride after checking-out of the resort. It is air conditioned, have tea and coffee, TV and computer (internet access is for a fee). They also take care of your luggage from checking-in at the terminal and to your room at the island and when you check-out, the bellman picks-up your bag from you room to the ferry. We enjoyed all the activities offered. I did like the walk through the national park. And the fish feeding every afternoon. And after the day trippers leave, we all head out to the beach for some drinks while watching the sunset. The resort gets quiet and you just feel isolated from the rest of the world and that feels really nice. Our suite was so huge and so relaxing, clean and air conditioned. We requested a quieter part of the resort to spend our anniversary & on our first night after dinner and after star gazing we where surprised to see a complementary dessert plate for our anniversary from the resort. It was so thoughtful and such a nice gesture. The bed was huge and we slept comfortably. There's a separate toilet & shower and a bath. Housekeeping was impeccable too. They do make up your room in the morning & at night and they leave a weather information with fun facts about the island with turn-down chocolates. There are 4 movie channels for free aside from normal programming. Mini bar is well stocked. Breakfast had a good selection but the reason I gave it only 4-star was because we find dinner rather expensive. During the day you can have buffet lunch at Green's for $27 the selection was just okay, there is a pool bar, Emerald's restaurant and Canopy grill that sells the usual burgers, wraps, fish and chips which ranges from $15-16. However at night, resort guests can only chose between room service which has limited selection or have dinner at Emerald's restaurant. At the restaurant, mains starts at $36.50 and entree at $18.50 which was such a tiny portion. The food was good though. We were able to try room service which has bigger portion size, pizza for $24 and pasta for $21 but with additional service charge. The staff are friendly and helpful. We just loved our stay in the resort. Would definitely recommend a stay in the resort rather than just coming for the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Island Resort

Address: Green Island, Great Barrier Reef, Green Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Green Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Green Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Green Island Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 27 km across the Coral Sea from Cairns in Tropical North Queensland, Green Island Resort is luxury on the Great Barrier Reef. With just 46 suites nestled amongst the rainforest and secluded from the day visitor facilities, this world-class eco-sensitive resort offers a unique blend of luxurious accommodation, first class service and unparalleled access to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Green Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Island Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.