We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite place on Fraser Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Wabby

Lake Wabby
Fraser Island, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$332*
and up
3-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Brisbane or the...
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
174 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Favourite place on Fraser Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I did a two day tour of Fraser Island and of all the places I saw, this was definitely the most breathtaking. The tree-lined walk up to it is pretty but nothing prepares you for when you climb up to the top and see a huge desert in front of you. We spent a long time exploring the sand dunes, some of which were so high you had to take a running jump to get to the bottom. The actual lake itself is down at the bottom of a huge sand dune and I won't lie, it's very cold. Still worth a dip though and I wish we'd stayed longer.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    30
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stopped off here as part of our 2 day Fraser Island tour, it's beautiful. I would do the tour again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A Gem on FI!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

As I've said on other reviews, anything on Fraser Island takes one back generations. Its so pristine and idyllic! Generations of Indigineous peoples
roamed and made camps around these areas and its so good that this generation can come to appreciate all this in its natural state.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A bloody long walk but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

2.5km in, 2.5km out
Not a stenuous walk
Plenty of places to stop and have a drink of water as you walk
The sand blow once you get there is pretty awesome to see
It was cool on the day that we were there so no one was swimming

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lake Wabby, Fraser Island, Qld”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This beautiful lake has been formed by a sand blow over a long time. It is a fresh water lake which is slowly being reduced in size by the encroaching sand dune. Popular with swimmers. 4WD vehicles are parked some distance from the lake so access to the lake is gained by a km or so walking track which is be steep in parts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Wabby also viewed

Fraser Island, Queensland
 
Fraser Island, Queensland
Fraser Island, Queensland
 

Been to Lake Wabby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Wabby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.