We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm curious who the 8 excellent reviews are?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eurong Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eurong Beach Resort to your Saves list
Eurong Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Eurong Beach, Fraser Island, Queensland 4581, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“I'm curious who the 8 excellent reviews are?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I actually had a fantastic time on Fraser Island during a 2 day tour but this
'Eco' resort is as bad as a Fawlty Towers episode.

The rooms need a desperate upgrade. Cold brick walls and tiled floor. Old style pawn shop Tv, 4 channels. Sand in the bed sheets, stains on the towels.

The restaurant tops it though. If you find a more disgusting buffet anywhere I would like to know. Perhaps it explains why the toilets smell like they do. For 2 days they smelt like an open latrine.

That being said, as soon as I can find decent accomodation on the island I'll be sending my parents back to see this magnificent island.

Room Tip: Just stay somewhere else or be tired enough like we were that we didn't care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Eurong Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Ourpoeticprince
FIrstly, great to hear that you enjoyed Fraser Island on your tour and that you'll recommend the destination to family and friends.

I wanted to assure you that our resort has never been marketed as an 'eco resort' and all facilities are clearly marked on our website and marketing collateral for guests opting for two-day accommodated tours. I am genuiniely sorry to hear that we did not meet expectations during your stay and have shared your comments with team here at the resort to ensure all are aware of the concerns you have raised.
.
Also, please accept my apologies about the smell you mention in the toilets, which is not in keeping with our normal standards. Our maintenance team discovered one of the extractor fans had malfunctioned and we immediately made arrangements to fix the problem. The fan in mention has been turned off and is currently under repair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    57
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
52
48
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed in a hotel room. As the resort is older, the rooms are very spacious as is the bathroom (shower only no bath). The kitchenette was well laid out with a small bar type fridge. The room and bathroom were both very clean on arrival. Only toiletries supplied was soap (no shampoo etc), bath towels supplied but no pool towels (we had our own so not sure if they can be obtained from reception). Facilities included 2 pools (we only used the main pool adjacent to the restaurant) which was great - has a spa & waterfall feature and ample seating. The restaurant offers buffet & a la carte - we chose a la carte which was very good but the buffet also looked very nice (and value for money) and was well stocked even though the resort was fully booked and a number of tour groups were dining. They stagger group dining to ensure the kitchen can keep the buffet well stocked. We chose a la carte as we have had bad experiences (at other resorts) where tour groups strip the buffet and leave little for other diners but this wasn't the case here. The bakery/coffee/pizza shop has great food as well. This was our first visit to Eurong and will definately stay there again as it is a great base for exploring Fraser Is.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Eurong Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear DoryBlue
On behalf of the Eurong Beach team, thanks for telling us about your time staying with us on Fraser Island. You're absolutely right, Eurong's a great base to go exploring and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We come to Fraser every year and usually spend our time between Eurong and Kingfisher. We have previously stayed in houses at Eurong 2nd cutting, but for a stay of 3-5 days we stay at Eurong 'Resort'. The location is GREAT, the resort is ok. Check in was quick and staff were friendly. Having stayed here on 6 previous occasions and filled in the 'comment' form, yet nothing has really changed. We don't mind the dated rooms - it is a remote place, but the cleanliness of the rooms really needs attention. The floor was sticky and we had to wear shoes inside to feel comfortable. As we have been here numerous time we remembered to bring limited cleaning supplies. The kitchen had cockroach droppings that needed cleaning. The toilet seat needed wiping and disinfecting before use - this too was very sticky. The bathroom floor drain was almost completely blocked with 'dust & dirt '.
They have never had side tables for the beds so we used a chair as a side table. We moved the bed 10cm to fit in the chair, and discovered a dead matchstick and numerous dead flies.
The bedding was clean and adequate, but when we asked for extra pillows we were told they would be sent up when available - they never arrived. We used the quilt cover folded as a pillow.
We didn't try the restaurant - have tried on numerous occasions and really didn't like it, so now we bring our own food and BBQ. There is only one lot of BBQs at the resort at one end and really not close to most of the accommodation.
We love the bakery - we got fresh pastries and bread rolls there every day to take up the beach. The staff at the bakery were friendly and helpful.
The pool was clean and welcomed after a day at the beach. We have never seen the waterfall working, despite being here at different times of the year.
In saying all this, the location is great, and we will stay here again - being aware of its shortcomings.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Eurong Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Dear Petallitraveller
Thank you for your loyalty as a return guest to Fraser Island and for your candid comments regarding service and cleanliness, which is not in keeping with our usual standards. Please accept our sincere apologies and rest assured I have shared these today with our Resort GM who will address with his team. Thanks also for singling out our bakery - which has the best pastries and bread for 75 Miles - we'll be sure to let the baker and cafe staff know you were impressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue mts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Have just come back from 5 nights at this resort, clean modern accommodation, highly recommended for families. Great location, friendly staff, they sorted out a problem with our ferry crossing & kindly shouted us breakfast & dinner for the family in recompense.

Room Tip: Tradewinds appts are furthest from the pool & beach bar & v. quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Eurong Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear annie271
Thanks so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at Eurong. Feedback is a great motivator and we'll be sharing your review with our team. We hope to see you and your family back on Fraser Island in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glorious Basingstoke
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here as part of a 2 day tour of the island and the accomodation was just what we needed. As the tour was the main focus, the accomodation didn't need to be The Ritz - we had a four bed room which was plenty big enough for a family. Food was included and all meals were good and food plentiful and I would recommend the place without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Eurong Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Hi pablo_jaye
Thanks fo the great review - we hope to see you and your family back on Fraser again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in a two bedroom apartment. Check-in was straight forward staff were friendly. We were on the top floor & most of the other rooms on the floor were getting a makeover. Nothing flash - just a fresh coat of paint & new fittings. Our apartment was great (nothing fancy). Two single beds in one room, queens size bed in the other, heaps of cupboard space too. Big balcony outside with chairs & a table. Great view of the beach. Also had a dining table with 6 chairs, 2 x two seater lounges that seemed very new & a sofa bed with a rollaway bed under it that could be used to sleep a couple of extra people. Kitchen was full size & had all the gear you could need with a good stove/oven, full size fridge & microwave. We took all our groceries, drinks etc. we needed over to the Island. Bathroom was clean (small amount of mould here & there due to the climate). It had a bath / shower & although the toilet was in the same room it kind of had a wall around it for some privacy. The only thing we needed in the room was a broom - the sand builds up really quickly. The floors are tiles but the bedrooms had carpet. Oh & it was really cold weather when we were there but we had our own heater - rooms had nothing apart from blankets but we were chatting to some people from another room & they had borrowed a heater from reception. We ate at the buffet a couple of times. Pretty basic food that filled you up - the BBQ buffet was good but the Mexican one was pretty average. There is an option to order off the menu too. The kids swam in the pool - it was freezing but they enjoyed it. Apart from the store (& fuel), there is a bakery which does takeaway food too. And the best pies I have had in a long time. Overall, we were really happy with our stay. We had gone well prepared & we knew it wasn't a fancy resort but we chose to stay here because most of the things we wanted to do were on the eastern side of the island. And we were really happy with our choice & had a great, relaxing stay.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so it's a climb to the top floor with all your luggage but well worth it. Top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Eurong Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Blueysmrs
Thanks for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor and for your kind comments about our staff and resort. We think Fraser is a pretty special place and hope to see you and your family back again in the not-too-distant future for another relaxing holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Eurong beach resort has shops, bakery, restaurant with availability of a la carte or buffet service with great food. Front reception provided a brilliant service and the lady in charge was very friendly.
Eurong beach resort was very central to all the local attractions and we had a great holiday and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Eurong Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Jem0438
Thanks for taking the time post and for your kind comments re our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Island and Eurong Beach Resort in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurong Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurong Beach Resort

Address: Eurong Beach, Fraser Island, Queensland 4581, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eurong Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurong Beach Resort's absolute beachfront position gives easy access to the vast expanse of Fraser Island's famous Seventy-Five Mile Beach. It's an easy drive up the beach to see the mighty sand blows, coloured sands, fast-flowing Eli Creek spilling into the ocean, the Maheno shipwreck, Indian Head and the Champagne Pools. The resort is also centrally placed to visit the southern lakes, which include McKenzie and Wabby, as well as the rainforests around Pile Valley and Central Station. A bakery supplies hot bread, casual snacks and coffee and there is a well-stocked general store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eurong Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurong Beach Hotel Fraser Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurong Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.