We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded by nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfisher Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kingfisher Bay Resort to your Saves list
Kingfisher Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
“Surrounded by nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Spent 3 nights with the family in a one-bedroom room. Had a relaxing time in spite of rainy weather for duration of stay - well designed resort emphasising the natural setting. Rooms are getting a bit dated, refurbishment of bathrooms would be a good idea. Staff were generally friendly and helpful, although got the sense that there were quite a few new staff still "learning the ropes". Not many free activities included - just swimming pool and tennis courts. No gym, games room. Meal options were a bit limited while we were there. Casual dining option was very crowded from 6pm on. Seafood buffet on saturday night was excellent. Overall a good experience, mainly due to the impressive natural environment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    359
    203
    143
    84
See reviews for
306
419
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Ordered a gin n tonic - no tonic. Ordered a bottle of wine from their list they had run out of my first and second choices. Trying to book a sunset cruise advertised in their rooms, when at reception staff had no idea what I was talking about - when I referred to the brochure she also had no knowledge of the brochures. 21 dollar burgers with no sauce and dry chicken from the sand bar... Very expensive. Overall could have been great as location was excellent staff and prices made my experience quite poor

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Vanguarde1,

Thank you for your taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent stay, I note this is your first Trip Advisor comment

I note your comments in regards to the lack of some items when you were ordering from our outlets. Please be assured that this is not the standard that we would expect for our guests and I have asked our Food and Beverage manager to review where we have appeared to have failed in ensuring our offerings are in stock for our guests.

In regards to you experience in booking the Sunset Cruise our Front office manager is reviewing our training of our new staff to ensure that their product knowledge is across all of the guest offerings.

I have spoken with our Exec Chef in regards to your comments about your sandbar experience, please note that none of our burgers on offer are over $ 16.

I cannot reply on your title comment relating to the resort being run down as you have not elaborated in your feedback.

We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

From the quay you can barely see the hotel, it is so well integrated in the wilderness. The rooms are large and the one we had was on a small wild pond. Each room has its own very private balcony. The services, onland and on the island were always excellent except that one day they forgot to clean up our room. They did it at night after our request. All 3 restaurants that we tried had very good food and a great choice of beer and wine. The guided tours were also excellent.

Room Tip: You can ask for a seaview or a bush view, each of them are interesting in their way; it depends on y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPG
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Kingfisher Resort is the best hotel on Fraser Island. There isn't much competition, so I suppose it has made them lax in customer service, food and room quality. We took the bay view upgrade which overlooked a swampy lagoon with the ocean in the distance. Bird watching here was good. I would recommend a second floor room as it had a damp, muggy feel so I can't imagine how much more damp and muggy it would have felt on the main floor. We were somewhat disturbed by the cockroaches in the bathroom, however, we understand that this an eco resort so I suppose bugs are part of the experience. Just bear that in mind if you are the type of traveler that abhors bugs. We found that there was not enough staff to do the work. One young man seemed to be the only one manning the pool cabana, taking lunch orders to the kitchen and bringing out the food, serving drinks at the pool, the bar and at the fancy restaurant in the evening. He was running to keep up with the demand and was very pleasant. He just needed some help! The quality of the food was not great or just passable at all three restaurants. You feel a little trapped at this place. The pool was nice, but we had a lot of rain, so we we did not get to use it that much.
The sights on the island are very interesting and well worth exploring. We were very happy we that we made the decision to not to rent a AWD and drive around ourselves as the roads are treacherous and getting stuck is a very real possibility (unless that is your idea of fun). We usually rent and drive where ever we travel in the world.Getting help is difficult as some of the roads are in remote areas with little traffic and cell phones don't work everywhere on the island. You also need to understand when the tide will come in or you will be stranded. We went on the tour arranged at the hotel. Our tour guide and bus driver Gary was a seasoned Fraser island driver and even he got stuck several times. Once he needed another bus to pull his bus up a hill. He gave us a wonderful tour and good insight into the history of the island. This is a great stress-free and informative way to see the island.
Unfortunately I don't think that Kingfisher lives up to what it should be, considering it's price and amazing location. We should have only booked 2 days rather than 3 days as we were anxious to leave after seeing the sights the island had to offer. The hotel was a disappointment.

Room Tip: upper floor bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Princess,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on your stay at Kingfisher Bay resort in February.

It is unfortunate that you stayed during a time of high rainfall and didn't didn't get to use all the hotel facilities and felt trapped in the resort.

I note that you enjoyed the option of our tours over renting your own 4wd, I will be sure to pass this onto our Tours team and Gary.

In regards to your comment of pests in the bathroom please be assured that the resort runs a scheduled pest control thought all areas including rooms, with the resort situated adjacent to a National Park on the worlds largest sand Island there may be times where wildlife will interact with our guests such as the bird watching that you have mentioned, also be assured if we were made aware of your apparent issues with pests in your room this would have been actioned immediately.

Constructive feedback is always welcome to ensure that we are constantly improving our product offerings for our guests.

We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Expectations were high, which may have been the problem, but on arrival were instantly deterred. One poor person, sometimes two on reception-severely under-staffed but to their knowledge.In queue 10 mins-then bang,bang,bang sent on our way.
But day two to day four we dealt with lovely Kate who was ever so genuine and could tell was so knowledgeable but not at her exposure-lack of resources and "good" if any help. She was a great help & made us feel important no matter what, people interrupting etc, phones ringing, and was 100% focused on us, a real stand out. Also mention to Mitchell and the other blondish porter (can't remember his name) who were also very helpful.
The segway is a must and beauty spot tour. Beautiful spot nonetheless. But hold onto your young caring ones,to the like of Kate & Mitchell -priceless! Then multiply by 5 or so. Clearly over-worked.
Regards

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
DearSteve B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

I note your positive comment in regards to Kate and Mitchell, please be assured that I will personally pass on your comments in regards to their service.

I am pleased that you enjoyed both our Segway and Beauty spots tour.

We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It is truly such a shame that a great resort in a wonderful location is badly let down by repeatedly bad customer service.

After a booking experience filled with errors - from charging us for things we hadn't confirmed to sending us other people's booking confirmations, and having to escalate the confusion to a supervisor who then kindly fixed the booking, we were hoping to be able to write a positive review and that everything was resolved. But from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the front desk staff seemed continually confused and unable to help with even the most basic queries. Kingfisher- the front desk is where your guests will enquire about tour meeting points and times....please equip them with the information that they need! To top off the confusion the staff didn't seem to care that they were unable to provide essential information and would not keep their promise to call/have the bill altered/provide an update- chasing up information repeatedly was a frustration to say the least. It is little wonder that the reception desk had a continuous queue - day and night.

Having said that Fraser island is amazing - and the champagne pools tour that we went on was a once in a lifetime experience. Ranger Peter was passionate, enthusiastic, fun and so so knowledgable. We felt as if he really let us have a glimpse into his world on Fraser. An experience we'll never forget. We also went on the beauty spots tour, which was good but not on the same level as the experience we had with ranger Peter.

The flames of Fraser was a great experience with amazing food, cooked in front of your small group by an experienced chef. It was expensive but the experience was well worth it and our host was knowledgable and helpful throughout the evening.

Our room was a nice size, on the 2nd floor and overlooked the marshland. It was perfectly acceptable given the location, but in any other place it would be considered to be damp and dated - don't expect lux! The spa bath in the bathroom was lovely after a long day of walking around Fraser.

Accommodation is limited on Fraser, and we would recommend the experience of staying on Fraser, and doing the excellent activities. Kingfisher bay is perfectly acceptable accommodation for exploring, just be prepared to not get very good service from the front desk staff (once escalated things get easier!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear LilaveW,

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay.

I note your comments in regards to your reservation process and have spoken with our Reservations Manager in regards to the issues you encountered during your booking process, please be assured that we will review and action accordingly.

I also note your comments in regards the reception desk and would like to investigate further to what information was not available to you upon inquiry and where we have appeared to fail in this area. To allow me to investigate further can I please ask you to contact me directly on resort_manager@kingfisherbay.com.au

I note you enjoyed both our Beauty spots and Champagne Pools Tours as well as our new dining experience the Flames of Fraser. I have passed you positive feedback onto both Peter and the Flames of Fraser staff.

Again thank you for your comments regarding your stay, please be assured that all constructive feedback is welcome and assists the team in ensuring we are consistently improving our service and products we offer our guests.

We wish you well on your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a spa room at the lower floor of the unit. there. Day 1: 4WD Beauty Spot Tour+Tennis(Court, racquets and tennis balls are free to borrow at the reception)+Seabelle restaurant ($40 pp)+Bubble bath. Day 2: Canoe Paddling+ Hiking+Sandbar ($20 pp)+ Swimming at the pool+ 30-minute Segway Loose Session +Bush Tucker Talk and Taste. Try to get an upper floor unit if it`s a busy time of year unless you can sleep through anything.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor unit if it`s a busy time of year unless you can sleep through anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Happylili2222,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback in regards to your stay.

Great to see you fitted in so many activities during your time with us.

We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfisher Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.