We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, indifferent staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfisher Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kingfisher Bay Resort to your Saves list
Kingfisher Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice location, indifferent staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at Kingfisher Bay resort for 4 night for our honeymoon. We were disappointed with quite a few things. Firstly, when we booked the room through the resort website, we upgraded to a sea view, and also mentioned that we were coming for our honeymoon. However, when we arrived, we were given a room that was dark and dingy, and looked onto a car park. We were very disappointed, so went to explain the problem to the manager. She was not apologetic at all, and first tried to accuse us of not having booked the sea view, as on the hotel system it said 'standard room'. We showed her our confirmation email, which clearly showed the sea view upgrade. After having a brief look, she said there were no sea views available. We said we were happy to pay to upgrade to a villa, but without even checking, she said there were none available.

After some time she found us a room with a slightly better view, but it was definitely not a sea view, or even a water view. Her general attitude was grumpy and that we were putting her out. In the morning, there was a new duty manager at the desk, and I asked if there was any possibility of upgrading to a sea view. I explained the situation, saying that we had upgraded to a bay view when we booked, but still did not have a bay view. She asked what room we were now in, and insisted this was a 'bay view'. I disagreed as the room was not even facing the sea, and she continued to argue with me. I repeated that we had upgraded online, and she said that you couldn't book a bay view online, only a 'sea' view - which of course is exactly what we booked, as I told her. Finally, she found us a sea view for the remaining 3 days, but at no point did she apologise either.

It was disappointing that we had to spend time arguing with staff on our honeymoon . Also, after driving around the resort for 4 days and seeing many empty-looking villas, it seemed to be untrue that that there were no villas available - it seemed more likely that the manager on duty could not be bothered checking.

Another issue was that we ordered a picnic lunch, which when we went to pick up, no one knew what we were talking about. When they found it, it was given to us in a filthy old cooler bag, covered in mould. The bread rolls were missing so we couldn't actually make sandwiches with the fillings provided, and there were no knives to cut the cheese for the crackers! Again, when we returned the mouldy bag, and explained the situation, there was no simple apology.

We still had a good time, despite the rain, and were were impressed with the Seabelle restaurant - both the food and the staff - especially to the restaurant manager, who was very friendly and professional.

The last room was okay but, there were maintenance issues and the grout in the bathroom was filthy, and the bottom of the shower curtains in both rooms were dirty/mouldy. I do understand it is hard to keep bathrooms spotless in this climate, but there needs to be more effort made. We have stayed in cheaper hotels which were far better maintained. We are not uptight people and often go camping, but this was our honeymoon, and so these small details were a bit depressing.

When we checked out, our account was overcharged by $200, which was just the last unpleasant detail. However, there was a new staff member on duty that morning who happily fixed this for us,without arguing which was a relief.

Fraser Island is a beautiful place and we would like to return but our experience has put us off staying at Kingfisher Bay. We think it could be such a great place if all the staff were more professional and better trained. I thought the ability to simply say "Sorry about that, how can we help?" should be fundamental to working in hospitality - it was when I used to work in that industry. The marketing team emailed us asking for feedback, but when we gave them the above feedback, they did not respond.

Kingfisher Bay resort is a good place to explore the island from, but if you want to go somewhere for a special occasion, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 236! Try to get a sea view (good luck with that!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Ianthe S,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay.

I note your comments stating that we did not respond to your feedback please accept my apologies for this, as a note our staff member who controls this area has just returned from Annual leave and your feedback email would have been responded to with an out of office advice direct to your email box.

If I may I will respond directly back to your original feedback email as I would have done upon receiving it.

Again my apologies for the delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    412
    244
    155
    90
See reviews for
342
495
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Make sure when staying at this resort you do not pay upfront. The resort does not refund under any circumstances, despite whether you cancel within the cancellation periods or not. Whilst this may be ok if you wish to obtain a credit note, this is not acceptable if for whatever reason your trip needs to be cancelled. How the resort deals with these issues is unprofessional and in my opinion out dated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Leia A,

Thank you for your email feedback and for drawing those customer service issues to our attention. Please be assured that your complaint email (dated 4/3/13) had been processed by our team and had escalated up to Exec Management Level to respond to, which we were in the process of doing. It appears you have posted on Trip Advisor on 28 February, without giving our Exec team a chance to respond - which is regrettable.

As of now, you would have received an email outlining our response to your initial enquiry and we again we apologise for the delay in reaching a resolution. We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menteith Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

kingfisher Bay Resort is a cabin like hotel set in amongst Forrest on Fraser Island with wooden boardwalks between the rooms and the main dining and reception area. The swimming pool is of a fair size. Our stay was for 2nights but the highlight without doubt was the full day beauty sport tour included in our price and our guide was Peter Meyer. We had a fantastic trip seeing 3 dingos on the beach and Peter made this trip so interesting for us despite bad wet weather. His knowledge and enthusiasm is second to none. A visit to his beautiful photo gallery at the resort is amuse for anyone who likes nature. Meals were reasonably priced considering the location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in an Executive 3 bedroom villa. The booking service was hard to understand, the villa was tired, there was 1 bedroom with no air conditioning-which we didn't know when we booked. Information on opening times of some of the resort bars etc was difficult to find and wasted time walking to facilities which were closed.

This resort needs better maintenance and an upgrade of some of the facilities, it was a good base for 4 wheel driving, but not to the standars we expected.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear CarolW_11

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Kingfisher bay Resort.

I note that you have commented about the maintenance of the resort, I would be interested in receiving more feedback regarding where you feel this is needed and invite you to contact me on resort_manager@kingfisherbay.com to share your thoughts.

In regards to your comments about facilities not open I am unsure to what facilities you are referring to as all of the resorts facilities are open as normal with the only seasonal restaurant being the Maheno restaurant which is however open daily for breakfast and Saturday night for Dinner.

I look forward to your further comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for,two nights with all trips previously pre booked - the accommodation was great clean and nice and quite with a great balcony on the edge of a fresh water lake. The main restaurant was expensive which was indicative of Australia anyway...the four wheel drive was fantastic a,great full day out. All transfers are well drilled with plenty of advise. The main building looked great with a lovely pool area for relaxing.
I recommend this location for no more than two / three days as there is much more to see and do on the main land.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was just fine. No stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear 392Craig,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at Kingfisher bay resort.

I note that you enjoyed all parts of your stay and have shared your positive feedback with all departments

We wish you well on you future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights. The room was quiet, had a comfortable queen and a single bed; medium sized outdoor deck with chairs; medium sized bathroom with tub and shower (with really good water pressure). The remote controlled air conditioning worked well. The complex includes a couple of outdoor swimming pools in the main area and two more near the Sand Bar (restaurant and bar) down the road a hundred metres. The hot tub was warm but not hot. It's a nice place with lots of around-the-pool chaise longues and large fixed umbrellas. The interior of the main reception area has the SeaBelle Restaurant (expensive dining featuring 'bush' options) and the Maheno breakfast buffet ($25 for a nice selection)
Service staff gave friendly, helpful advice and answers; the place is clean and well-maintained. Internet wifi is not available in the rooms. You may purchase it from a third party provider starting at $6 per hour, but staff warned that the signal, available only in the main reception building, was not very strong.
Tip #1: You can get an inexpensive meal at Sand Bar by ordering from the 'sides' list: the garlic/herb/cheese pizza (medium size) comes with hummus and guacamole dips; add the garden salad for a total cost of $18 - gives more than enough food for two.
Tip #2: The rooms on the second level have better view of the rainforest; the rooms facing west will offer some sunset views.
Tip #3: If you book during summer low season, ask to have the breakfast buffet included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear ccvvbb,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding your stay at the resort.

I have shared your comments accordingly with all departments and I note your comments in regards to the Staff providing helpful advice and answers.

We hope to welcome you back to Kingfisher bay Resort in the future and wish you well on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After reading a lot of the reviews (which was mostly good) and name behind it (Accor), we selected King Fisher Bay Resort. We booked the rooms and 4wd hire.

Reception
After getting off the barge, we were greeted by a lovely person and drove us to the reception building. She was friendly and guided us to reception. At the reception, we had to wait for our rooms to be ready (and we got there around 3PM). Some rooms were ready and unfortunately for us, our room (together with others) was not even though check-in is advertised at 2PM.

Rooms
The room was nice and clean and provided a fridge for cold storage.

Dining
We dined at the SandBar a couple of times. The food price was reasonable and it was provided a place for the kids to swim close to parents while relaxing. Service was good in general. We recommend getting there before it opens for dinner as it gets quite busy. We also dined at the Maheno restaurant for breakfasts as they provided a variety of food.

4WD
I would not recommend hiring from the resort as they have partnered with Aussie Trax. Partnered should be used loosely as we had great difficulty sorting out our bill. We got charged twice - once by the resort and once by Aussie Trax. It took many calls from Sydney. Neither party would talk to each other and an apology was not forthcoming either. Besides all of these, the 4WD we got was old and it cost nearly double of what you can get from the other resort or any hire company off the island. Very disappointing!

Blackout
We had the fortune of being on the island when a blackout took out all power on the island. This would have been ok since it's something that cannot be planned for. How it was handled was a different matter. There was communication twice during the night to give you progress advise but that was it. NOTHING! Lucky for us, we had our own torch as nobody checked to see if we were still ok nor did anyone come around to offer candles for lighting so we saw a lot of people using their phone to light the way. The next day, we had to line up at reception to find out what is happening ..... fantastic! With no end in sight, we opted to leave earlier than planned.

Days after leaving the resort, we still had to deal with getting reimbursements and a run down of our bill.

Would we come back or recommend this resort? NO!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Anaksuhnmun,

Thank you for your review from your stay with us in January , I have respond to each of your comments as they appear to ensure that I respond accordingly.

Reception - I note your positive comments in regards to your greeting by one of our staff members. In regards to check in time our rooms are available from 2pm onwards and we endeavour to ensure that guest are able to access their rooms as close to that as possible, please accept my apology that there was a delay in being able to access yours on during the peak season.

Rooms and Dining - I note your positive comments in regards to both areas during your stay.

4WD hire - I note your disappointment with the hire of your vehicle, please accept my apology for being double charged, I have asked our Front Office Manager to review were we failed in rectifying this straight away for you. I have passed on your comment in regards to the 4wd condition and price to the hire company. As you have noted they are a separate business from the resort and guests do have a large choice of hire operators off island as well as on.

Blackout - It is unfortunate that you stayed with us during the unforseen blackout that affected the resort. I note that you comment that you were given update reports, please be assured that guest safety as all times is a priority, as such issuing candles that have a naked flame is not an option when guest are in rooms, the resort has implemented further safety procedures in the unlikely event of this occurring again. Please note the power was restored at 11am the next day. Again please accept my apologies that this occurred during your stay and that you felt that you needed to leave earlier than you had planned.

I trust that your account has now been sorted, if there is anything that I can be of assistance with regarding this please contact me on resort_manager@kingfisherbay.com

It is disappointing that you feel that you will not return to the resort based on the issues that you faced with the blackout and 4wd hire.

If your thoughts change and you would like to visit us again I would again invite you to contact me on the above email address.

We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfisher Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.