We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull highway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seventy-Five Mile Beach

Seventy-Five Mile Beach
Fraser Island, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Seventy-Five Mile Beach like an insider
Top Rated
$140*
and up
Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Noosa or Rainbow Beach
Attraction details
Devon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautifull highway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Beautiful and clean, the nicest highway I have ever driven along. We also saw dingos here. It is essential to listen to the gudes as they are experienced and knowledgeable and it is much more preferable to go on an organised tour than a tag along tour as you are able to relax and enjoy the ride.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    57
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unusual beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was an unusual stretch of beach on a huge sand island. The road from our hotel was long and bumpy on a four wheel drive bus that occasionaly got stuck going up hills because of the sand. There were a few opportunities to get off the bus and take short pretty walks. The lunch provided on the tour was also mediocre.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Scared the "Bejesus"out of me !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Arrived on the Island via Hearvy bay ferry ,landing at 17.00hrs as the light was fading in a privatly hired 4x4 with camping gear included for 2 nights .The first thing that hits you is ..you are on your own ! we headed for the central camping site which is about 30mins drive (if you follow the signs ) via a rough sand track and Boy do you have to keep your wits about you ! the camping site is basic but has toilets which are lit at night (a god send ) and the pitches are ample ,but you have to remember you are in the wilds and miles from civilisation ! The site as all are ,are enclosed by fences to keep the Dingos out but there many other beasteys lurking around to keep you on your toes !!The drive to the beach or Mckenzie lake is about 2hrs which would test most ardent 4x4 drivers on sand and rock tracks but a good laugh once you make it !The beach is miles of fun when driving but watch out for the wash aways where the water leaves the land and cuts big channels on its way back to the sea at low tide,hitting one of these at speed causes most accidents .Eurong i found to be the best enclosed campsite with very friendly Rangers which is Mid Beach on the Island .Also worthy of note is Indian Head awesome views....Camping on the beach is not advised but many do and quite an experiance so long as you know what the tides are doing,get it wrong and you will get wet and lose lots of gear ...car included ! If you read all the literature about Dingos you think you will die just setting foot on the island,but be sensible and their not a problem ,most attacks are due to them after food scraps left out or, Drunks entering their territory !!! I left the Island thinking i was lucky to be alive but on hindsight now realise what an experiance it was to be "at one with nature " and on a reserve which may not be there for ever ,so if you have a chance to go there before its ruined ..Do it !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Walk up to the lookout on top of Indian Head - W O W factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The beach is pretty speckie, but gets a tad tiresome after the first 30 k's. The highlight for us was walking onto Indian Head 150 feet above the beach and looking down into the crystal aquamarine waters to watch the schools of tailor - the sharks hovering beneath them, the manta rays cruising past and the turtles seeming to just float by. This was the highlight of our 3 day trip on the island - apart from catching my first tailor off the beach.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Astonishing beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I travelled half of the world, and I've visited many a beach in my life, but this one is simply awesome. Sooooo long and large!! A sort of highway across the sea.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seventy-Five Mile Beach also viewed

Fraser Island, Queensland
Fraser Island, Queensland
 

Been to Seventy-Five Mile Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seventy-Five Mile Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.