We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Island let down by the Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzroy Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzroy Island Resort to your Saves list
Fitzroy Island Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island let down by the Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights here arriving about 9am and really appreciated the early friendly checkin. Our suite was very nice and large with a private verandah, sink, stove, microwave and dishwasher however it was all overrun with tiny ants that got into everything including clothes, food, medications etc and if we left a cup on the sink it was nearly carried away by them. The bed was very comforable but the mattress was on a wooden platform which was larger than the mattress so I kept bruising my legs on the wood. The tiles left a lot to be desired in terms of cleanliness in the shower and around the toilet and I have brought this and other matters to the attention of the General Manager who has responded.
The food and service in the dining room was very good but a bit pricey at $40 each for a lamb dish..sides an extra $11.. it was that or starve as Foxy's, the casual restaurant/bar was only open alternative nights. We found the food at Foxy's on our second night was excellent and half the price of the restaurant (same chef). A walkway to Foxy's would have been good to save walking through the mud in the rain. We love to swim and were surprised at the poor water quality and state of the pool. Staff were rarely seen out and about in the resort and parts of the main resort area appear neglected eg: the row of very tired and worn seats near the pool bar.
The resort offers daily fish feeding and glass bottom boat but they had run out of fish food and the boat was "broken".
The island itself is very beautiful and we enjoyed the 3 walks, the rugged terrain and vegetation, the steep walk up to the lighthouse was a challenge for us (both 70+) but we had our trusty hiking sticks which helped. We did not snorkel on this occasion but if we had we would have had to pay for the gear unlike our later visit to Green Island where everything was included.
Overall the resort is overated and overpriced for what you get and could be brought up to a higher standard. The island is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    259
    110
    34
    27
See reviews for
156
328
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

the resort is over priced for what you get and the price of food is over the top but the island is mind blowing, you can snorkle over reef in 3 foot of water so you dont have to be a strong swimmer to enjoy the reef and the walks on the island are a must, will go there again but stay in a self contained unit and take my own food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Ferry was good, check in was easy :)
Unfortunately we got 200mm of rain the two days we were there!! Nevertheless we had a good stay.
Facilities were good. We made good use of the small cinema (3-4 movies on a day).The pool was big enough although quite cold. Strange how the pool bar was only open from 12-4ish...not really the time when most would feel like a relaxing drink round the pool?
Dive/snorkel hire was good-there are two separate operators to hire from.
Turtle Rehab tour was well worth it! The tour guide was absolutely engaging and excited about the project. We are able to get up really close to the turtles and learnt heaps.
If I was a local the camping ground at Fitzroy Island would be where I would go....It;s just gorgeous!
Walk to Nudey Beach was great too. When we arric=ved we were the only ones there and on a less rainy wavey day it would be just spectacular :)
Snorkeling-although hideous weather made it impossible to snorkel at the best spot according to the dive shop we found LOTS of fish and coral-even in horrible visability. Would LOVE to snorkel here on a good day.
Restaurants- the fine dining restaurant exceeded our expectations. Service and food was REALLY REALLY good! Venue was just beautiful, we had a memorable night.
Foxy's was casual and difficult to get to in the pouring rain! During the day it was over run by the day trippers who were eating their lunches brought from home. However food was fresh and quick and well priced. Salad was adequate, bucket of prawns was very good! The mocktails here were also great (as was the beer!). We also had dinner here one night (was the only place open) and it too was fresh tasty and fast.
Stayed in a studio room. First impressions were modern and fine for a 2 night stay as a couple but found room had not really been well designed at all. Almost no natural light and opened up onto the walkway. Bathroom was squeezy with not enough room to put things and I HATE hanging my towels next to the toilet.
Bed was comfy and air con worked well. We almost asked to upgrade but really it was only that it was so rainy that we spent much time in the room. For stays of more length or with kids the self contained apartment style accommodation looked fabulous. I didn't like the look of the beachfront rooms-not really beachfront and only ground level-much better views from the cheaper rooms. We did wish there were pay per view movies-again only as it rained and we had nowhere else to hang!
This place could just be awesome with some small management changes, a spa for the girls/Mums and room service!
We would love to go back :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a special price on a cabin $290 (usually $360).for that price I expected the luggage to be taken from the ferry to the room instead of having to lug it ourselves on and off the ferry and to the room in the rain. I also thought the restaurant should be open every night considering our cabin did not have cooking facilities (not even a microwave). The bar/cafe was only open set times too. I expected more for that price range.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My partner and I are Cairns locals but very hopeless at traveling around the area. We decided to go to Fitzroy for a night and had a wonderful time!!! We left Cairns at 11am and got there at 12. We were checked in by a lovely chap (Kieran) who told us what to do around the island and to our surprise, our bedroom was ready even although we were two hours early. The view from our bedroom was like paradise and we could actually hear the waves from our bedroom.
We went to the Turtle hospital (pretty cool experience) and then went up to the Summit via the Lighthouse rd (a bit of a workout but definitely worth it!).
After a quick shower, we left for Foxy's and had a few cocktails/beers. We ordered a bowl of wedges which ended up being a gigantic plate!
Unfortunately, Zephry's restaurant was closed so I can't comment on the quality there but looking at our wedges and the meals served at Foxy's, it seemed to be very good value for money. Since we had a kitchen in our apartment, we took a few things from home to cook dinner and breakfast.
After a nice relaxing night, we woke up to the beautiful sun and after an easy check out we went snorkeling most of the morning (hire for a whole set is $15 and we even got to see a turtle at Nudey beach). After lunch and an ice-cream we just stayed on the lounge chairs in front of the swimming pool until our boat arrived. You can leave your bags in secured lockers at the resort until you leave and all the staff were lovely.
I would recommend this to anyone who wants to have a few relaxing days away from civilisation, the rooms are very clean and fairly well maintained (of course, I don't expect them to repaint the wall every time somebody leaves a scratch on it), the bore water has a very slight orange tinge bit is completely safe to drink and if you want to be away from the main resort, you can go for the Beach Front villas which are located 5 metres of the beach (you just have to cross a small gravel road).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The island is in every sense a tropical paradise with a beautiful beach, water sports, walks, beaches, snorkelling, diving, a turtle rehab centre etc. The hotel has been refurbished to a nice standard with no expense spared on furniture in the rooms. We went specifically for the Cairns Blues Festival and it was a great venue for the event and opportunity to make a long weekend of it. We booked the beach cabin #3; one of about 6 cabins located just infront of the beach and it was idyllic.

Now for some of the not so great stuff. At times we could hear the people walking in the cabin next door, the tap fell off the shower wall and took quite a while to adjust the heat. The pillows were very soft. There had been a bit of rain so the water wasn't crystal clear for snorkelling but not much can be done about that. The food at Foxy's was predominantly deep fried and I thought expensive for what it was, so next night we ate in the restaurant which was nice.

Back to the great stuff. We had many great cocktails at Foxy's Bar - overlooking the beach and also at the swim up bar at the main pool. They were very relaxed about taking alcohol purchased there, back to the room. The shuttle from Cairns to the Island only takes 1 hour and even in rough seas it handles it well. Not many children in sight which was great. Staff were all very friendly and they worked hard all weekend. Boaties can also take their own boats over.

Overall great and can't wait to go back next year for the Blues Festival!!

Room Tip: If choosing a room in the main building, check that it has a view. Some of them on the lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went to Fitzroy Island for our anniversary. We spent 3 days there last week. The weather wasn't perfect, but still it was one of the best short holiday ever together with my husband. All the staff were so friendly, and we had a very nice spacious room with beautiful ocean view. The room has a big fridge with dish washer, nice verada as well. we enjoyed snorkelling, kayaking and tracking. Summitt walk was a challenge but it worth every effort. There were no need to swim too far to see so many different variety of fish, we even saw a big turtle in the water. This is a place definitely want to come back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzroy Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzroy Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.