We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzroy Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzroy Island Resort to your Saves list
Fitzroy Island Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“50th Birthday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Took my husband out to Fitzroy for 3 nights after lots of research about where to go. It was a good and bad choice. Our first room was completely unsatisfactory. Despite the mouldy, mildew smell that hits you in the face as soon as you enter, our 'oceanview' was the back of one of the beach huts! You couldn't open the curtains as the people in the hut could look directly in on us. We went straight to the front desk but because 1) they were too busy and 2) we had not booked directly through their website, we were given a bottom floor room with 'ocean glimpses' as described by the front desk clerk. After much wrangling with the manager we were told we would be moved the nest day to a better room. Apparently if you pay for pots and pans you get a higher floor at this resort. The fact that we were going to utilize their restaurant and not eat cheap in the room made that a bit of an irony! Anyway to cut it short, lots of problems at Fitzroy that need to be addressed. The elevator was not working. The bar (Foxy's) was always dirty. We had to clean our own table every time we went there. Service was slow, surroundings were unkempt, drinks were very highly priced even at 'happy hour', staff were underwhelming with their knowledge and pace of service. Also having to pay for snorkeling gear as a resort guest is a joke! On Brampton that's part of the deal! Day trippers have the run of the facilities so the pool and toilets were packed (despite the signs that sat the pool is for resort guests only). However the walks were nice, the snorkeling was really good despite the wind, the food was better than average ... Basically we had a pleasant time but there was a lot of unnecessary stress. There are 7 rooms on the bottom floor that have NO VIEW! Don't accept them!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, whilst we endeavour to inform all our guests prior to arrival what the facilities have to offer in particular the rooms, sometimes through booking through 3rd party sites or Agents the information may not get through as we wanted. We make clear on our website regarding rooms and views and would strongly suggest that future guests ensure they make clear any special requests such as specific views etc. We do have different levels of accommodation therefore again we suggest ensuring you are understanding of what rooms have what facilities before arriving to avoid any disappointment when you arrive should you wish to change your mind and be unable to do so due to the high levels of occupancy we often experience. We also do offer the option of packages that do include a number of activities including snorkelling, these can be booked through our website or direct with the property. I will certainly be looking into all other concerns mentioned. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    237
    95
    28
    19
See reviews for
142
290
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were very happy with our choice to try Fitzroy Island Resort. Arrival took under an hour by scenic boat ride from Cairns. Most of the beaches are littered with twigs of colorful coral, but a few are sandy and soft. Mornings and sunsets, the day-trippers have returned to Cairns, and you practically get the beaches to yourself. We rented snorkels and clear-bottom kayaks at the resort dive shop. The snorkeling near the rocks by the campgrounds was quite good, with clear views of a variety of large coral, many fish and sea turtles. We hiked the trail to the lighthouse and summit, which can be rather steep, but offers sweeping ocean views of nearby islands and atolls, and we saw many skinks and sulfur-crested cockatoos along the way. The island restaurants are good, but we wisely chose to buy some groceries in Cairns to supplement the island’s small general store.

Room Tip: Our kitchen suite was large, clean and comfortable, with a private deck and sunset beach views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments and we very pleased you enjoyed the many features the island has to offer, we hope to see you back again one day. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently had a three-night stay in a one-bedroom ocean suite and really enjoyed it. We got an exceptionally good deal on our accommodation through Entertainment Book ($160 per night). Our suite was very well appointed with a reasonable-sized living area/kitchenette and separate bedroom and bathroom. Both kitchenette and bathroom had beautiful marble finishes and the furnishings were very comfortable. The kitchenette had a full-size fridge, microwave, toaster and dishwasher. There were a couple of hot plates as well.

We opted not to self-cater, so ate all our meals at the restaurant or at Foxy's bar. While the range of dishes on offer was limited, the food was well prepared and really quite good. We also thought the prices were quite reasonable compared to the exorbitant prices you can pay at other island destinations. Although the menu was the same for the whole time we were there, so I can see that people could get tired of it during a longer stay on the island.

There are a few short walks on the island. We walked up to the lighthouse and the summit...well worth the effort for the beautiful views of the island and the mainland. We also walked around to Nudey Beach for some snorkelling, which was good straight off the beach. There was certainly a lot of colourful fish and soft corals to see, and a safe environment for inexperienced snorkelers. Even standing on the jetty in the evening was rewarding...be able to watch all the fish, squid and turtles swim around in the light.

Some parts of the resort were clearly not finished when the original developer went broke. These still haven't been finished off, but rather boarded up. I guess until the new owners can afford to complete it. You can see that there was a vision here for grand luxury which, because the money ran out, has been left hanging for some time, but looking past that overall the resort is nice place for a break.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms don't seem to have any view. For a view, you have to opt for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit. As we have previously mentioned the property does have future planned development of further facilities to enhance our guests experience and we will provide such information as it occurs through our website for future visitors reference . Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

our family has just spent 4days on fitzroy island and would not recommend it to anyone. it was dirty, things in the rooms didn't work and there were many things not operating. this was in the september school holidays. we paid over $400 per night and were in a double room ocean suit. never again. don't do it.the food was very average and no variety.

Room Tip: go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are clearly concerned about your review and trust that you would have raised any concerns you may have had during your stay with the Resort direct as this obviously allows us to assess and deal with any issues immediately. It is difficult to comment on this review due to the lack of detail provided along with comments not normally received particularly with regards to the Suites which are of a high standard level of accommodation as often detailed in the many positive comments received. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We just had a night there the accomodation was lovely but unfortunately it is obvious nothing was ever completely finished, the taps were broken in the shower and smells of mould and fans/windows dirty. Unfortunately beng in the business means everythibg is obvious to us, there is no ownership with the staff as if its always someones elses problem a messy bar, rubbsh, lost property about the place. The worst experience was the food from Foxys which is all misleading on the menu. It is all frozen especially the chicken, very disappobting especailly as its not cheap I cant tell you how horrific a grilled chicken Caesar salad turned out today for $22 inedible!
It is a charming place and we would go back but with our own food and drink, and spend the least amount of time in the restaurants/bar area. The staff we did talk to were back packers and passing through so if you know thats the scene then its fine. They were great, but again no ownership or pride in their offering.

Room Tip: We had a great resort room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we will certainly be utilising them in reviewing what has been an extremely busy School Holiday Period where we had visitors from not only all around Australia but the entire world enjoying the beauty of the island. We are very serious with regards to reviewing what we do well and where we may need to improve and your feedback is invaluable in assisting us in that process. The Resort has come a long way in it's short 2 and a bit years since reclaiming it from the rainforest and refurbing it to it's current state and we have more facilities and improved services planned for the future as Fitzroy continues to grow and become further established as a quality Tropical North Queensland Island Resort destination. We appreciate your feedback and assistance in that process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

day trip over from cairns. while the resort looked clean and well presented - the island shop shelves were desserted, the vending machine was broken, most of the games were broken with out of order signs on them - and the staff in the restaurant were cold and abrupt. The take away coffee in the afternoon from the bar (the only thing on the island open at 2pm) cost $5 and the cup was wiped with the dirty washcloth used to wipe the coffee machine! I wouldnt return in a hurry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we will certainly be looking into all aspects of them and can confirm that the games have been fixed and where only out of order for a limited time as the contractor who supplies and maintains them has to travel from Cairns. We do endeavour to have all facilities in all areas working all the time however sometimes our location can unfortunately result in delays sometimes in accessing workman,specialists and or materials. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We just came home from 6 nights on Fitzroy Island. We had a fantastic time, and considering I had a tummy bug almost the entire time, that's saying something! The island is easy to get to and from. All the staff we dealt with were fantastic, especially Sam and Becca! We received an upgrade on arrival to a room with a kitchenette and balcony, which was beautiful! The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. It was excellent value for the quality considering it is in Australia.
The food selection from Foxy's bar is somewhat limited, but everything we ate was delicious, and not really overpriced in our opinion. We ate at Zephyr twice, and both times the meals were very good. We also took our own breakfast and food to make sandwiches which was very convenient. We ate the breakfast once also which was good.
The snorkeling was fantastic! We saw a wide variety of fish and coral, a sea turtle and rays. The trampoline is lots of fun, (even for 28 year olds.) The beaches are very beautiful, especially Nudey beach, which is worth the short walk. Yes there is a lot of large coral on the beaches, some beaches are entirely coral, but it isn't able to cut you, its just a bit uncomfortable to lay on. I guess that's the trade off for the snorkeling!
There were a lot of day trippers during the day but it was never crowded and that was during school holidays. I also didn't see or hear anyone partying. It was quiet at night and we were very close to the main building. I think the majority of people staying there when we were there were families or couples, not younger party animals as there isn't really anywhere to party.
The only thing I think would be nice would be if the louvre windows in the rooms has flyscreens so that you could open them at night without fear of being eaten by mozzies.
All in all, we had a very relaxing holiday in the sun. Thanks Fitzroy Island!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments and very pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzroy Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzroy Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.