We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzroy Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzroy Island Resort to your Saves list
Fitzroy Island Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Absolutely beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This resort is brand new and is very comfy. The rooms are very clean and give you everything you need. There's good ventilation and amenities are top notch. We stayed for two nights and we probably woulda stayed another couple if we had time.
The beach is really nice and there's a point a short stroll away were there's excellent snorkeling, and nudey beach is absolutely gorgeous.
I'm not sure how it would be in summer as the locals told us that the stingers swarm around this are in early January but there's plenty to do on the island that was the case.
The only bad thing I could say is about the transfer to the island. The crew were a quite rude and there was no personal service, but from what I understand it's not the same company, but still it took away from the atmosphere a little. Otherwise great stay, two days felt like a week!

Room Tip: Try the scooters they are soooo much fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie O, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Thank you for the positive feedback which you provided to us. We are always looking for ways to improve our service, we have passed onto the boat crew your concerns and will continue to monitor this service. The Aqajet experience is unique to our island and a must do for any adventure seekers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    236
    95
    28
    19
See reviews for
142
290
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at Fitzroy Island for 2 nights in the Ocean Suite and it was absolutely beautiful accommodation. We were impressed by the quality of the fittings such as the marble bathroom with rain shower; the granite kitchen, beautiful furnishings, lamps, great veranda and chairs.

Chef and kitchen team in the restaurant - we did not see you but you are absolutely wonderful and we loved your food, especially the calamari and all of your deserts were fantastic. Your food made up for the less than efficient booking system and wait staff.

We were not aware that the restaurant had limited booking time slots so by the time we got back to reception to book our dinner on our first day; we were told that only the 8pm slot was available. It would be useful if guests were advised upon booking or upon checking in of the booking requirement so that disappointment could be avoided. It was a pity that the pool bar nor the bar in the restaurant was open to have pre-dinner drinks. We had to sit and wait on a couch in the corner of the restaurant which was kind of weird when there was a bar but not being used.

The pool bar was disappointing as the service was atrocious - and the cocktails were pretty yucky. There is a big opportunity for this resort to staff this bar and get a cocktail waiter because guests WANT TO BUY AND DRINK GOOD COCKTAILS! The girl could not keep up on her own, was not passionate about the drinks, and didn't even know the ingredients. On the second day we told her how to make a Grande Orange and that approach worked well for us. I think that guests at a Barrier Reef Resort expect fresh fruit and cocktails with flare for $17.50 each. We heard other guests complain about the pool bar and one couple who were on honeymoon made a complaint as they couldn't get served to get a drink. Another guest questioned why there was no service poolside and we agreed that if guests were served poolside there is a huge opportunity to improve the pool bar all round.

The other odd thing we found was getting towels for the pool as these were only available from reception which can be quite busy with people queuing to check in. It would be better to give the towels when people check-in or give them out by the pool. It seemed really inefficient and an unnecessary load on reception to have to worry about guest pool towels when they seemed to be the busiest doing check-in and billing.

Otherwise the beaches are beautiful on Fitzroy and snorkelling excellent but you do need to take some rafting sandals or reef shoes as the beaches are coral and will cut your feet up. The visibility was not great for us but we booked an Outer Reef trip with Sunlover to Moore Reef on our last day which was great. It is also checking out the jetty during the day or at night as lots of fish to see.

The walk to the lighthouse or summit is brilliant way to start the day before lounging at the pool or walking through the rainforest track to Nudie beach.

We would definitely recommend Fitzroy Island Resort and hope that management can take the feedback on board to improve some of the service issues. We would love to stay again at this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor if you are booking an Ocean Suite Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie O, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
I do appreciate this great feedback, and always take on board our guests recommendations to allow us to meet their expectations. I have relayed your disappointment to fellow management regarding the Pool bar and we have now addressed your concerns.
Thank you for your recommendation to fellow travellers to come to our resort this is the best endorsement we can ask for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at Fitzroy Island Resort for three nights. the accommodations were very nice. The dive shop was more than helpful in getting us geared up and in the water. The diving off the beach is almost as good as taking a day trip out to the reef.

There are two issues I had while staying here.One is the restaurant schedule. Zephyr's is only open for breakfast from 8am - 10:30am and dinner from 6pm - 9:30pm. Foxy's only serves food from 12noon - 3pm. There is a convenience store where you can get some snacks between 9:30am - 4:30pm. If you don't plan on taking advantage of the activities that are offered, this is no problem. Many dive options start at 8am which means you can't eat breakfast. The night coral viewing starts at 7pm and lasts an hour. If you like an early dinner, that's out of the question since service is a bit slow. It would be nice if there was an a la carte option all day long to accommodate those who miss the meal times or don't want to spend $20 or more on a meal per person.

The second issue is the beaches are very rough on the feet. They are beautiful, but they have a lot of coral on them. Had I known, I would have brought some kind of swim shoe with me.

Other than that, this place is a great deal for those who like to dive, snorkel, and hike.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

If you want to dive in paradise and with the best staff ever you should go to this place!!!! I am from Denmark, but lives in Townville studying marine biology and I went there for 3 days 2 nights and had the best time ever! The diving was amazing although the visibility was not good all the time did I see a lot of very cool stuff. I have been diving in Thailand, but the dive at Fitzroy were just fantastic because the biodiveristy was very high and my diveinstructor Renaldo was the most experienced person in diving I have ever meet. If you want to be a very good diver this is the right place to go. He will teach you everything about the organisms under water, show you things that you didn't know existed and just take care of you! I went there alone, but you can go there as a couple or a group of friends and I am sure you will love it. The staff never made me feel alone just taking so good care of me. The accomodation was amazing, you really feel like you in paradise staying at Fitzroy resort in the most beautifull surroundings. I will recommend this diving center to everyone! If you are diving for the first time, taking you Open water or advanced I will promise you that you will get an experience for life. It was with tears in my eyes I left this paradise and I know for sure that I will come back to this wonderfull place with the best staff and diving ever!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie O, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Thank you so much for the valuable feedback. We are indeed very proud of our very professional team at the Dive Centre. They always offer the highest level of service and are highly qualified, as you identified Renaldo is a very experienced dive instructor. We look forward to welcoming you back on our island in the future, its thru comments like yours that our staff get to feel a very personal level of satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

First up, the good bits: fantastic accommodation - still pretty new'ish and well fitted out and surprisingly well insulated - we didn't hear anything from the other apartments around us. And the food was great. Having said that, there is only one place to eat at night, and thankfully the food is very good. We have dairy and fructose intolerances in our family and they catered for these with ease. We had the buffet breakfast in the morning, skipped lunch (supplemented by some nuts/chips on our balcony during the day) and dinner, and that was plenty for all 4 of us (including 2 teenage boys). The walks to the summit and the lighthouse are good to burn off some of the calories (pretty steep), but having done it, you wouldn't bother again. The Secret Garden walk is gorgeous - like a reminder of another time and place - definitely worth it, and only short.
The down side to all this is that its a very small island with coral beaches. So there's not a lot to do (which is fine if you're happy to sit on your balcony and read), but a bit boring if you're a teenage boy. The kids could play table tennis (one table - well sought after by guests), swim in the pool, and that's about it. The beaches are not enticing because they're made of broken coral, so extremely uncomfortable to walk on or lie on. Having said that, Nudey Beach is about a 20 minute walk round the island, and does have sand. But the snorkelling there is pretty disappointing. The best snorkelling is in front of the resort to the right, in Welcome Bay. It doesn't compare well with Fiji, but there are still quite a few fish. However the green algae can make visibility difficult and it really smells. When we were there, about half the time there was algae along the beach. You need to pay for snorkelling gear too. We did a deal with the guys hiring on the beach paying only 2 days for 4 days hire. And its definitely worth trying the Aquajet, but its very expensive ($69 for half an hour). We got two for 15 minutes each, and that was better fun for the family. If you've got water shoes and snorkel stuff, bring it.
We took cards, and played as a family every day, and we borrowed some of the games from Reception, which helped the kids pass the time. And you can't cook in the rooms, despite having a full kitchen. So all you can use is microwave, kettle and toaster. And there is no coffee plunger in the room, so if you're in need of a good coffee to start each day, I'd suggest you take your own coffee making facilities. But you can get a latte from the restaurant or pool bar. And they have plenty of soy milk.
In summary - its a great place to relax and get away if you're an adult. Take a good book, and just enjoy the fabulous weather. Not so good if you're a kid.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor - good views and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie O, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
We appreciate the feedback which you have posted on our site. It was unfortunate that you were here when the coral was spawning as that can give off some odour, however thats what makes this area so unique, mother nature is truely an amazing spectacle to witness at times. The coral beach is all part of the local marine park, as you mentioned Nudey Beach does provide a magnificent alternative and the Aqajet is unique to our resort, a must for the any visitor.
Family groups find the out door activities, water sports, swimming pool, bush walks , coral viewing (day and night), games room, childrens room, book exchange, table tennis and inhouse cinema very entertaining. We will continue to monitor and improve the activties offered to our guests in order to provide more options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, enough to relax and to explore the Fitzroy island. The main advantage of the hotel is that is really affordable and very close to Cairns, only 45 minutes by ferry. The island is big enough, so you have very good opportunities to walk in the rainforest, although it can require some physical effort and sturdy footwear, as the tracks are very steep. The ocean is gorgeous, don't miss the opportunity to go to the Nudey beach (great place for snorkling, because there is an ebb during the daytime so it can be difficult to swim in some other places). And it will take time to find some comfortable place to lay on the beach because of piles of beautiful coral pieces everywhere. The sunsets are astonishing and the stars are the brightest I've ever seen!
The breakfast is excellent, very filling with a good choice of fruit and baked goods.
As for the room, I stayed in the cheapest one - the resort studio on the ground floor. It is really very modern with black marble bathroom,tea and coffee making facilities, the fridge. But the room's window overlooked an open-air corridor, so it was really very dark and noisy inside - i could hear people talking, walking, opening and closing the doors.It is very irritating. Certainly if you are going to a honeymoon ocean suite is a better choice!
In general the hotel has a very democratic atmosfere, I felt myself very comfortable there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We have stayed at many island resorts in the Whitsundays over the years, but heard about Fitzroy through the Getaway program and decided to venture further north and try it out. From the moment we arrived we were very warmly welcomed and found the staff very polite and helpful. Our room was a first floor Ocean View suite, which was beautifully finished and very well appointed, with a gorgeous water view. And it was very clean and well serviced daily.
We had breakfast and dinner each day in the main restaurant. For an island resort we found the prices reasonable and the food was very good.
Snorkelling was great, and right off the beach. Beautiful coral gardens and plenty of colourful fish. Make the effort and walk all the way to the summit of the island - the view is worth it.
The pool is very attractive and clear, but it needs retiling - there are a lot of mosaic tiles missing and sharp edges in some places - I cut my leg on the edge of a broken tile. This is the only negative thing in our six nights there.
And we loved the small cinema - very cosy and great films shown while we were there.
We'll be coming back sometime, as we prefer to support the Queensland tourist industry and help it through the current tough times than take our money overseas.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and choose an Ocean Suite on the top floor. Best view, and no noises from above (dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie O, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for the valued feedback you have provided on our Trip Advisor site. as you have rightly pointed out some of the tiles in our swimming pool do need some attention. I would personally like to guarantee that this problem is about to be addressed in November, when it will cause the minimum amount of inconvenience to our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzroy Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzroy Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.