We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go - you deserve it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedarra Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bedarra Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedarra Island Resort
Save
You added Bedarra Island Resort to your Saves list
via Mission Beach, Bedarra Island, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedarra Island
Brisbane, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go - you deserve it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just had the most amazing weekend on Bedarra Island! From the moment you arrive you can’t help but fall into a relaxed state. The whole island has the calmic effect on you. The setup is great. Your own private Bungalow just far away enough to feel like you’re on your own island, but close enough to the main ‘house’ to have your every whim catered for. The all-inclusive approach can sometimes be a little daunting – but no need to worry. A well thought out wine list – with premium selection available if you want to splash out, help your-self cocktail bar and snacks if you feel the urge – ensure every taste is catered for. The meals were completely delish, but my favourite was breakfast. I by-passed the eggs Florentine offer and could look past a simple breakfast salad of leaves with grilled pear, toasted nuts and seeds finished with a spiced maple sauce. It was not just delicious, but a well thought out, clever breakfast offering. Great coffee, juice, cheese and toast finished me off. Lunch is a simpler fair. A yum Laksa with a glass of Clare Valley Riesling hit the spot. Just enough to ensure I could enjoy a mid-afternoon wine and cheese. For Dinner we had our own table with the most magnificent view onto the Barrier Reef in the distance – the perfect setting for a set 3-course Dinner. It was like we were in the chef’s Dining room. I was a little concerned about the ‘no–choice’ menu – but this actually enhanced the experience. Dinner finished with all guests (sans the honeymooners) enjoying dessert wine, bad jokes and a sore tummy from laughing so much. We met some great people!
The staff are amazing! We were fortunate enough to be staying the same weekend the owners were on deck to give the managers a break. The unmistakable point of difference for Bedarra is the passion that both owners and staff put into the place. They really understand the needs of their guests and do whatever they can to ensure the perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
92
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Where do I start... this hotel is simply the best hotel we've ever stayed at - it was simply amazing. Having just arrived from qualia in Hamilton Island, our standards were set pretty high. There are only 8 rooms so straight away it feels extremely exclusive, and the setting of Bedarra island is breathtakingly beautiful.

The staff were so great and really did make you feel like old friends - Jodi & Miki in particular were fantastic - they really couldn't do more for us. Also the food was divine, excellent 3-course meals from their in-house chefs at dinner, great lunches and sumptuous breakfasts - can't fault any of it.

You really did feel like you were staying at your own (very luxurious) beach house - right down to there being a huge bar area that you could just help yourself to for the whole duration of your stay. As much as you want! The only restriction being the higher priced wines and champagnes and a few premium spirits (i.e. hendricks gin, and certain brandy, etc).

They have small motor boats that they stock for if you want to take they out to the local islands - definitely do this, as was the highlight of our stay. We went for the morning to a small local island where we the only ones there, and ate a beautiful packed lunch of king prawns, brownies, cheese & biscuits and ham/chicken fajitas. One of life's good days :)

One slight thing to note, is that in the Point Villa (one of the best, but furthest along the beach) - although there was WiFi it relied on 3G mobile signal to work and there was no signal for the duration of our stay. The wifi worked in the reception though so urgent emails can be checked/sent there. However, given no internet was not a big issue for our stay in paradise I haven't knocked off any stars :)

If it wasn't for the expense and distance from the UK, i'd go here every year - but you really do get what you pay for in this instance.

Book now, you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Point Villa that while being the most expensive, is definitely the best located on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Everything was fabulous, the food was amazing, rooms were amazing, hospitality was the best and of course Bedarra Island spoke to us with gentle breezes, rich colors and sweet smells. We have such nice memories of Jodi, who was always there to offer more of what we were thinking of, does she have a food and drink ESP?? Jeffery makes the best skinny margaritas. And of course, Micki was there to serve us very eloquently our wonderful seafood platter dinner.

Room Tip: We had a slight upgraded room for the first two nights, #13. It was exactly the same as the basic ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed at Bedarra Island Resort for four nights in June 2014 for our honeymoon and had the most wonderful time. The resort was absolutely beautiful and there was nothing that I could fault from our stay. The chefs did an amazing job - the food was devine and more than plentiful. We were lucky enough to stay at the resort while Sam and Kerri-Anne were there. They were such wonderful and personable hosts and helped make our stay even more enjoyable. Our room was stunning, private and so comfortable. I would highly recommend a stay at Bedarra to anyone thinking about a trip to this area. We had the perfect honeymoon and this is by far the best resort we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The whole resort is fantastic. You really can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My new husband and I recently spent four nights on Bedarra for our honeymoon, and we will be dreaming of the trip for many years to come.

The location is just gorgeous. Beautiful little island with a lovely front beach and interesting rocky landscape, plus lush and well maintained tropical gardens. We felt like the only people on the island as we barely saw other guests except for meal times. Our villa didn't have a plunge pool but it didn't matter as we had the beautiful resort pool to ourselves the entire stay. The weather wasn't great when we were there so unfortunately we weren't able to take a dinghy over to a nearby island for a picnic, but we had a sumptuous picnic on our deck instead and there was still plenty to do - we were able to swim; kayak; (attempt to) paddleboard; walk to all the lookouts; help yourself to a bottle of wine, a cheese platter and a book and relax in the day pavilion on the beach. It was lovely to just relax in our villa and enjoy the solitude. The no children policy is a blessing.

The food... oh, the food. A true highlight! Each day's menu was interesting and inventive, and the food was exquisite - chef Jimmy is incredible. We forgot what it felt like to be hungry and I nearly cried when I peeled back the tinfoil on my airplane meal on the way home and was confronted with soggy beans. If you like seafood, splurge on the special seafood platter - you won't regret it. We took full advantage of the famous open bar and threw ourselves into a wine education as each meal is carefully paired with some great wines. Jody's warm and attentive service ensured we never had an empty glass in our hands, and we happily accepted the cocktails she made for us (based on what she'd observed we liked to drink).

Jason and Kayla are truly fantastic hosts who made us feel like friends rather than clients. They are helpful, friendly and professional and they went out of their way to welcome us and ensure our stay was perfect. They and their team are what make the experience extra special.

Barefoot luxury really does encapsulate what Bedarra is all about - you are treated like royalty but without any pretentiousness. The place oozes understated class and it is impossible not to feel relaxed and happy the moment you set foot on the island.

If you're reading this to help you decide whether to book or not, I could not recommend it highly enough... it's an indulgence well worth the money and we are already planning when to return!

Julie & Josh - May 2014

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 13 - Oceanview Terrace. The large deck with the sun lounges was great and the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed on Bedarra for 5 nights in April 2014. We have stayed at a number of high end resorts around the world and this was our first try of an Australian luxury resort. We were not disappointed, in fact both of us would probably say that in its own way this is the best place we have stayed at.

The island has only seven (soon to be eight) villas and most of the time it just seems as if its only you on the island. It has a lovely beach and you can swim safely or kayak, paddle board or take a motor boat out. They also provide massages in a small pavilion on the beach which my wife raved about.

From speaking with other guests it seems all the villas are beautiful. We stayed in the Point Villa which is a bit away from the other villas and the main resort area and so it was very private. The villa itself was fabulous with large rooms, a massive deck and a beautiful plunge pool. We were right on the water and could watch the turtles swimming while we sipped our wine.

Everything is included in the price, with the wine/beer list extensive and always someone on hand to top you up. The meals were one of the best parts of the stay. We had Jimmy as chef who prepared three really superb meals a day. On some island resorts I have been to the restaurants can have a sense of sameness over a week particularly when you are isolated and without restaurant choice, here however the food and dining experience was the highlight.

Then there are the staff, Jason and Kayla are wonderful hosts, but everyone you meet is friendly and you really feel their aim is to make sure you love your stay. The staff numbers are small so you get to know them and we were so lucky to be looked after by such lovely staff as Elyza and Keenan and Jimmy.

Unfortunately our stay was cut short but fortunately we now have an excuse to go back again. Yes its expensive but when you leave the island you will say " that was the best money I ever spent". We can't wait to get back again.

Room Tip: Get the Point Villa, you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife and I recently spent 7 nights for our 23rd anniversary at Bedarra and it's was everything we expected and more. The resort is in pristine condition and very private, it is up to you how much you mingle with other guests, but for the full experience I recommend you do, particularly at the pre-dinner drinks.

All the staff are fantastic and attentive to your every need, from Jason & Kayla our hosts, Jimmy & John the chefs, Jody, Mikaela & Keenan our restaurant attendants to Fozzy the water taxi captain.

We had 7 days of nothing but sunshine and stayed in Villa 14 (North -East) which has it's own private plunge pool and in my view is the most private of all villas as well as receiving all day sun. The food was supurb and changed daily, with wine selections at dinner complimenting the offering.

Be aware that villas 11, 12, 13 & 14 are on a hill and therefore have steps to negotiate with villa 14 being the highest, this could challenge some, although there are a few golf carts used by staff which I'm sure can be arranged if needed. We found the steps not a concern as the view from the villa was well worth it.

We are looking forward to a return trip to this beautiful paradise.

Room Tip: Villa North-East (14) is the highest and therefore offers the best view and privacy with all day sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedarra Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedarra Island Resort

Address: via Mission Beach, Bedarra Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bedarra Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedarra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst a backdrop of secluded hidden bays, majestic granite boulders, white sandy beaches, and towering coconut Bedarra Island is the ultimate definition of barefoot luxury. With just seven private villas, each with uninterrupted ocean views, this all inclusive sustainable island resort will ensure you find yourself in a sanctuary of complete solace and seclusion as you explore the tropical rainforest, beautiful beaches and fringing reefs. Our Executive Chef prepares gourmet meals daily and local produce and tropical fruits are a feature of our ever changing menu. The open terrace restaurant, bar and lounge are the heart and soul of Bedarra, where guests converge over a delicious and ever-changing menu, or to indulge at the legendary open bar. An exquisite menu is matched only by the sublime beauty of deserted beaches fringed by lush rainforest. Find your own table for two on the pool deck or terrace for an intimate dining experience or join the Long Table for a dinner party style congregation with your fellow guests and resort host.Although our ethos remains centred on relaxation, we do offer a number of less sedentary activities including kayaking, stand up paddle boards, snorkelling, fishing, tennis and self-guided interactive walks through the verdant rainforest. For the more adventurous and at an additional fee we can arrange deep sea fishing, scuba-diving, and scenic helicopter flights. We pride ourselves on offering each guest a unique experience. Whether it be a candlelit dinner for two on our private deck under the starry night, packing a gourmet hamper in your own dinghy for a romantic picnic on one of the nearby deserted islands, or booking the entire resort with a group of friends or family for a bespoke tropical island experience you will remember forever. Bedarra is situated seven kilometres off the coast of Mission Beach, Tropical North Queensland (approximately 140km south of Cairns). Scenic 35 minute heli-transfers are available from Cairns airport directly to our beachside heli-pad. Alternatively road transfers from Cairns take approximately two hours connecting with twice daily water taxi transfers from Mission Beach to Bedarra. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedarra Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.