We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable accomodation on the Strand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach House Motel to your Saves list
The Beach House Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   66 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Townsville
Blackburn, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Affordable accomodation on the Strand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We chose this motel as it was the most affordable accomodation we found right on the Strand. As it turned out it was perfectly situated, 5 minute walk to the pub, restaurants, coffee shops, ice cream shop and fish and chip outlet. Supermarket and bottle shop were also a short walk away. The room was clean and comfortable although the configuration left a little to be desired. The queen bed was right up against the wall so we had to pull it away and in doing so made the room quite small. The lack of power points in the main room was also annoying. The room was fine but you wouldn't want to spend too much time in it.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room that looks down the driveway.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed overnight at Beach House Motel prior to an early flight and we couldn't have been more pleased that we booked it. The staff bent over backwards for us and were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The whole place looked freshly painted, the room was very clean and smelled so fresh. We had a family room with two doubles and a single and there was plenty of space for everyone. The location is spot on, right on the beach and close to shops and restaurants. We strolled to the Aquarium via the Marina and had a lovely day. This is top class basic accommodation, and the staff really make it. Very highly recommended if you want comfort and cleanliness at a very reasonable price. Thank you!

Room Tip: I was told by another guest that upstairs rooms are quieter. We had an upstairs room but next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

I researched a lot of locations for our quick one night stay, and this was a great choice! Right on the beach, and a short walk to parks, pools, and the kids water park, as well as a great array of cafes and restaurants. We paid $130 and had a room with a queen and a double bed. The room was quite small and basic but clean, pleasant and comfortable. We all slept well, and Theresa in reception was lovely. I would highly recommend this motel.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed here for three nights Jan 2011, and were offered those at very reasonable price, compared to what we had paid at other places throughout Australia. Theresa offered us the keys to three rooms so we could pick what we wanted and all three were immaculately clean and comfortable looking. We really enjoyed our stay here as Theresa and John took a real interest in what our plans were and helped with advice on how to achieve the best at the least cost (Australia is VERY expensive just now!) . Theresa also advised on reasonably priced places to eat in the near vicinity and we ate like kings whenever we took her advice. They even helped us find and book our accommodation at our next stop in Cairns. Can only speak for ourselves, but find the previous posting very unlike the people we got to know and watched dealing with their guests daily. Have already recommended the Beach House to people we met on our travels and to friends who are heading to Oz in the next few weeks and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011 via mobile

We were a bit put off by the shabby appearance of the motel but we wanted to be on the strand. It was a bit overpriced for the standard of room - but it was clean. Had a fabulous Thai takeaway dinner on the beach across the road, absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville Beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We were a bit put off when we drove up and work men were sitting around the front of there rooms drinking beer, I asked could we see a room before we checked in and were told well you have booked it, you will be paying for it anyway!, where as other places would never treat people like that, so we stayed the night. All through the night there was terrible language and fighting from next door and the other people staying at the place kept running up and down stairs swearing and slamming doors. After a night of NO sleep at all, I told them we would be checking out, well I had gotten a discount for booking 2 rooms, 1 for me and my family and 1 for my elderly father, so I was told I had to pay for 3 nights in total for each room but at the full price since we were checking out early. And that I should be VERY careful what I write here because they are covered by the defirmation board and several other entties I think I was supposed to be intimidated by, but telling the truth is NOT classed as defirmation!., otherwise everyone who used these sights would be sued!... so after 1 night of NO sleep and almost $800 poorer. I will NOT be recommending ANYONE should stay here....but that is just MY oppinion. We rebookes into a fantastic place on Palmer at a fraction of the cost more and we had all the bells and whistles... and were not scared at all to sleep there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleConnie29, Owner at The Beach House Motel, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
The Beach House Motel’s rate is price appropriate and given that it is situated on the beach front in Townsville and is walking distance to clubs, hotels, restaurants, take-a-ways, shops, Casino and ferry terminals , it is only logical that the rate is going to be higher than motel’s that do not have this location.

In future for Annelikestotravel to avoid cancellation fees in the accommodation industry, and many industries for that matter, it is advisable not to make telephone or online reservations until the premises are sighted before agreeing to pay. Once a booking is made with a Motel/Hotel the business then prioritises reservations and other potential customers are turned away. The majority of accommodation providers give a discount when guests book a room for an extended stay, fluctuating tariffs enable the hotel and motel industry to trade in a sustainable productive method, furthermore, if a customer then decides to shorten their period of stay, the room rates revert back to the standard daily fee.

Fabrication of incidences in an attempt to avoid cancellation fees can have serious consequences. Defamation cases are taken seriously and have dramatically increased due to individuals writing non factual content on the internet which is accountable to both the writer and publisher. Input or feedback is readily accepted providing it is done in a manner that is positive and constructive and with no personal agendas.

• A phone booking was made Annelikestotravel eight weeks prior to the day of arrival and a phone confirmation was received one week prior to arrival.

• At no time did I state, “Well you have booked it you will be paying for it anyway!” After being asked if Annelikestotravel could look at the rooms, I said “yes, however if the rooms were not suitable there would be a cancellation fee on each room.” Following this Annelikestotravel responded, “it will be fine” and preceded to fill in and sign the check-in registration sheet with the cancellation policy clearly stated in the same print (This policy is clearly visible and at no time has it ever been minimised or in fine print).

• At mid-afternoon on 25th May 2011, when Annelikestotravel checked in, one corporate customer was sitting outside his room.

• At approximately 8:00am the following morning Annelikestotravel came and told me that she and her family were checking out due to noise and drunken behaviour and fighting, I was surprised as my husband or I had heard nothing. The motel has a night bell and the main phone number is diverted to the manager’s residence, and at no time were we contacted.
• After my explanation of the cancellation fee Annelikestotravel was charged as per our cancellation policy, accepted and signed the bank slip.

• On leaving the office Annelikestotravel said “people will be hearing about this” I felt that this remark appeared as an attempt to intimidate to which I replied “be very careful as defamation can be a very serious matter”.

• The motel was fully booked that night, twenty six rooms and approximately forty-five people being a mixture of corporate, government, tourists, and holiday makers. After Annelikestotravel’s complaint I asked all of the remaining guests for feedback on noise, and Not One Guest Said They Heard Undue Noise, Unreasonable Behaviour Or Fighting, some of those guests have been back several times since
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed in The Beach House Motel for over a month and loved every minute. Theresa and John were very good to us Irish girls and we couldn't thank them enough. There are only good words to describe our stay here. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. We had everything we needed and more. Wonderful views of the Strand and close to everything. Thanks Mother T and Saint John! Look forward to our next stay xxx

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House Motel

Address: 66 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach House Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Beach House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.