We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Over priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach House Motel to your Saves list
The Beach House Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   66 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Pottsville Beach
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We were a bit put off when we drove up and work men were sitting around the front of there rooms drinking beer, I asked could we see a room before we checked in and were told well you have booked it, you will be paying for it anyway!, where as other places would never treat people like that, so we stayed the night. All through the night there was terrible language and fighting from next door and the other people staying at the place kept running up and down stairs swearing and slamming doors. After a night of NO sleep at all, I told them we would be checking out, well I had gotten a discount for booking 2 rooms, 1 for me and my family and 1 for my elderly father, so I was told I had to pay for 3 nights in total for each room but at the full price since we were checking out early. And that I should be VERY careful what I write here because they are covered by the defirmation board and several other entties I think I was supposed to be intimidated by, but telling the truth is NOT classed as defirmation!., otherwise everyone who used these sights would be sued!... so after 1 night of NO sleep and almost $800 poorer. I will NOT be recommending ANYONE should stay here....but that is just MY oppinion. We rebookes into a fantastic place on Palmer at a fraction of the cost more and we had all the bells and whistles... and were not scared at all to sleep there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleConnie29, Owner at The Beach House Motel, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
The Beach House Motel’s rate is price appropriate and given that it is situated on the beach front in Townsville and is walking distance to clubs, hotels, restaurants, take-a-ways, shops, Casino and ferry terminals , it is only logical that the rate is going to be higher than motel’s that do not have this location.

In future for Annelikestotravel to avoid cancellation fees in the accommodation industry, and many industries for that matter, it is advisable not to make telephone or online reservations until the premises are sighted before agreeing to pay. Once a booking is made with a Motel/Hotel the business then prioritises reservations and other potential customers are turned away. The majority of accommodation providers give a discount when guests book a room for an extended stay, fluctuating tariffs enable the hotel and motel industry to trade in a sustainable productive method, furthermore, if a customer then decides to shorten their period of stay, the room rates revert back to the standard daily fee.

Fabrication of incidences in an attempt to avoid cancellation fees can have serious consequences. Defamation cases are taken seriously and have dramatically increased due to individuals writing non factual content on the internet which is accountable to both the writer and publisher. Input or feedback is readily accepted providing it is done in a manner that is positive and constructive and with no personal agendas.

• A phone booking was made Annelikestotravel eight weeks prior to the day of arrival and a phone confirmation was received one week prior to arrival.

• At no time did I state, “Well you have booked it you will be paying for it anyway!” After being asked if Annelikestotravel could look at the rooms, I said “yes, however if the rooms were not suitable there would be a cancellation fee on each room.” Following this Annelikestotravel responded, “it will be fine” and preceded to fill in and sign the check-in registration sheet with the cancellation policy clearly stated in the same print (This policy is clearly visible and at no time has it ever been minimised or in fine print).

• At mid-afternoon on 25th May 2011, when Annelikestotravel checked in, one corporate customer was sitting outside his room.

• At approximately 8:00am the following morning Annelikestotravel came and told me that she and her family were checking out due to noise and drunken behaviour and fighting, I was surprised as my husband or I had heard nothing. The motel has a night bell and the main phone number is diverted to the manager’s residence, and at no time were we contacted.
• After my explanation of the cancellation fee Annelikestotravel was charged as per our cancellation policy, accepted and signed the bank slip.

• On leaving the office Annelikestotravel said “people will be hearing about this” I felt that this remark appeared as an attempt to intimidate to which I replied “be very careful as defamation can be a very serious matter”.

• The motel was fully booked that night, twenty six rooms and approximately forty-five people being a mixture of corporate, government, tourists, and holiday makers. After Annelikestotravel’s complaint I asked all of the remaining guests for feedback on noise, and Not One Guest Said They Heard Undue Noise, Unreasonable Behaviour Or Fighting, some of those guests have been back several times since
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed in The Beach House Motel for over a month and loved every minute. Theresa and John were very good to us Irish girls and we couldn't thank them enough. There are only good words to describe our stay here. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. We had everything we needed and more. Wonderful views of the Strand and close to everything. Thanks Mother T and Saint John! Look forward to our next stay xxx

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Queensland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Made booking over phone owner could not be more helpfull.
Arrived on the 28th /04/2011 with husband and 2 children.
Next day the owner caught me in the car park on my way shopping with one of our older daughters( aged 22 ) who lives in Townsville and asked how many people we had staying in the room.
Told her as per phone booking it was 2 adults and 2 children aged 11 and 10 for 1 night than 2 adults and 1 child aged 10 for 3 nights ......as she was looking at my other daughter (who is 22 years old).... I told her that she lives in Townsville and was not staying with us. She then said there would be an extra charge for one of the children... and as we were staying for 4 nights not 5 it would be an extra charge for our room per night.
Was taken back by her attitude she could have come to our room and spoke to us.... not in the car park with other people around.... not a good way to run a business.

When going to leave I told her there was a few things in the room that needed to be looked at.
The sofa bed had an old book and hair ties and a confectionery wrapper underneath it from other people...this sofa had not been moved and cleaned for some time ...the aircon was covered in dust , at this point she told me that was enough and said the dust was from us after 4 nights ......owner said they get a few people like me who don't want to pay the full amount (this was while her husband was processing the credit card for the amount she said ) at no time did I ask for the price to be dropped.
Told her there were a few more things that needed to be looked at ..she told me to stop and started to walk away telling her husband to charge me and get me out of the office. She was rude and I could not believe her attitude to a paying customer and the way she was speaking to me.
We have stayed in many motels of all prices and if we raised an issuse with the owners they would let us know they would look into it THIS IS WHAT WE EXPECTED THIS MOTEL TO DO... NOT ACCUSE ME OF WANTING A DISCOUNT and carry on like she did.

Things she did not get to hear!!!
The window screens in the bathroom were thick with dust and had not been cleaned for some time... spare pillows were put in a wardrobe on the bottom that had dust, a big stain on the bottom of the bed valance and as there is no doona you see it as you walk in the room and there was NO SMOKE ALARM in the unit at all.
My husband said he would go and show them what we were talking about.. but they refused and did not want to talk about it .

If you wish to stay on the Strand this is one motel I would not recommend

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleConnie29, Owner at The Beach House Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
The most relevant factor to this response is the fact that this review is libellous. It is a written review in retaliation for a business requesting a customer pay the appropriate fee (a fee which was already discounted). This review has been put on the internet with the intention to potentially damage and negatively affect the financial income of the Beach House Motel.
1. As the guest booked for five nights a discounted rate was given when the guest arrived this stay was reduced to four nights so naturally the rate would have to be renegotiated. This was fully explained and still included a discount for the four nights.
2. At no time were the rates discussed in the presence or vicinity of other guests. The guest became quite agitated and defensive when asked the number of people staying in the room.
3. At no time during the entire stay did the guest approach Management/Staff in relation to any grievances or issues relating to their accommodation.
4. On payment of account the guest repetitively raised several issues and was assured numerous times by management that these issues would definitely be addressed and would have been addressed earlier if we had been advised.
5. The Guest’s complaint lost credibility as each time management acknowledged the grievance and assured they would be addressed a new grievance would be raised.
6. As time passed it appeared extremely transparent that the customer was vying a further discount
7. At no time was the guest ever asked to leave the office.
8. Whilst the guest was paying the account other guests waiting to settle their account witnessed unreasonable and confrontational behaviour.
If potential guests look at the other reviews for the Beach House Motel over the past few years (with the same Managers), it can be seen that this review differs vastly and must be treated with suspicion!
The Management of the Beach House Motel are willing to take constructive criticism from our customers when valid points are raised, changes are then implemented to meet customer expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This place was leftover from the 1960,s but still going strong. You would stay here if just for the view to Magnetic Island. The rooms were ok, clean and the beds comfy.
The best was the Townsville Strand outside your door. It seems everyone in Townsville is out for a walk either early in the morning or in the late afternoon. Some great little cafes just around the corner in Gregory st.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

The location on the Strand with plenty of off-street parking was perfect after long days of driving. We walked everywhere, loved the Strand, the open air pool, the exercise stations, the wide range of food options. Although the motel style rooms are old fashioned, they are clean, spacious and they still have those traditional motel touches of fresh milk and biscuits every day. We arrived in the evening and Theresa gave us a good rate for one night - we stayed for three! Make sure you find time for the museum - the entrance charges are steep but the dinosaur section is worth it! And if you do drive anywhere, find Riverway - an open air, free, community swimming complex. Avoid C-Bar on the waterfront - so many better choices nearby.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We had driven all the way from Melbourne over a couple of weeks, and we had stayed at many motels - but this was our favourite from the whole trip.
From the moment I popped into the reception the owner couldn't do enough for us and was very friendly - she gave us tips for what to do in town and provided us with brochures for the area.
The room was clean and bright, and we enjoyed the whole area and motel so much that we decided to stay on for another night.
Townsville is a beautiful place, and if we are ever lucky enough to move to Australia then this is the place we'd like to be.
If you have children, check out the free pools and waterpark along the front - we booked a trip out to the reef from Townsville and it was breathtaking.
Big thanks to the lady who runs the Beach House (and also her husband) and if we do get chance to come back over we will certainly be checking into the Beach House!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Stayed at the Beach House in May 2009. The motel is well located, right in the middle of the strand easy walking distance to nearby restaurants/bars. Plenty of parking, quiet location, and free cable tv. The rooms appear to have been recently painted in a fairly pleasant yellow and fit out with some artwork. The shower has good pressure but takes a while to get hot. Some rooms also have a view of water and Magnetic Island (although only a couple). Reasonable value for money for a 3.5 star motel so well located ($130 pn for a family room).

Stayed May 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House Motel

Address: 66 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach House Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Beach House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.