We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staying in townsville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Breeze by the Strand

Ocean Breeze by the Strand
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Breeze by the Strand
Save
You added Ocean Breeze by the Strand to your Saves list
81 Mitchell Street | North Ward, Townsville, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singleton, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“staying in townsville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

stayed in studio room quite a good size everything there i needed.good size bathroom ,balcony looking at the stand and beach and staff where helpfull

Room Tip: two people can stay easy in a studio room everything is there you need and quite reasonable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Nice place, good location. Very clean and all required amenities but don't bother asking for a room on a higher floor. Booked 10 weeks in advance and asked for a high floor but when rang a week before stay was told our room was on ground floor. When I said I'd asked for a high floor they said they'd see what they could do. On arrival we found we had been given a room on 1st floor with an obscured view off the side of the balcony of the beach and no chance of changing our room. Also, balconies not very private as you can see directly on to your neighbours balcony. Doubt I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We would highly recommend Ocean Breeze for self contained accomodation in Townsville, from what we can see, it must be in the top 3 of great rooms/location/cost. Ocean Breeze is very well located right in the middle of the Strand although the pictures are a little deceiving, it is on a side street so while most of the rooms have some view, it's a little obscured, best to ask for one with a premier view! The Strand is a nice play to stay near as there are lots of cafes/bars/restaurants and some shops (including supermarket) 100m up on Gregory street. It is nicer there than in the centre of the city which is just had big development, and is only a 10min walk into town. Rooms had all equipment needed to cook, clean rooms, nice balcony, helpful staff. Good security with swipe access for main gain and then front door.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Ocean Breeze was a beautiful, peaceful, relaxing place to stay in Townsville. It's located just off the Strand, with lovely views over to Magnetic Island. Our stay was made even more special by Denice, the lovely lady who works on the front desk and will go out of her way to make your stay enjoyable. Her friend even offered to drive us to the shopping centre when we were looking for directions! These apartments were clean and spacious with nice balconies. We also stayed at a 5 star resort on Magnetic Island, which cost almost double the price of Ocean Breeze and was shocking, poor service, lousy and dirty rooms and unresponsive staff. I have to say, Ocean Breeze was the eact opposite. Would reccommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights. The room itself was lovely - very bright and cheery. The rooms were not serviced the entire time we were there. The kitchen did not have enough basic utensils. The office was unstaffed over the weekend and were not contactable - at one point I did see someone in there, but the door was locked and she waved me away. Staff were generally quite unhelpful and I got the impression that once we had arrived they didn't want to see us. Good positioning. LOVED the water park and Juliets for amazing gelati. Overall fairly good - but definately need to up the service levels for the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We flew in to Townsville to begin preparations for 10 days of sailing-- including recover from jet lag and provision our sailboat. The Ocean Breeze was exactly what we needed as we were close to the beach for relaxing and walking, close to several liquor stores, and a full-service grocery store, including bakery. Our 2 BR 2 BA apartment was equipped with a nice sized kitchen where we prepared a couple of dinners for four and had everything we needed to do so. We also had a nice size living room with a flat panel TV on the wall and a small desk where we set up our computer and had wi-fi internet access. We also had a washer/dryer, which was great as we had 4 days worth of laundry by then. Also, it was great to have medical services less than a block away, as it became necessary to see a physician for a prescription. From the apartment, we took a nice long walk from the apartments to downtown and found yet another grocery store that we also used for provisioning the boat-- it was easy to catch the local "red bus" to get back to the apartment (be sure to note the two directions, or like us you may come right back to the same spot!). The marina was also within walking distance, but we used a "maxi taxi" to transfer our provisions and luggage to the boat. The staff was great and saw to most any need we had. We would highly recommend the Ocean Breeze if you're in Townsville for one reason or another!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

This is the spot! With two small kids our usual trip to visit the family in Townsville took on a whole different angle. The Ocean Breeze Apartments are serviced apartments run by some very good people. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The apartments are located just off the famous Townsville Strand, about halfway between the rock pool and town. 200 metres to great coffee shops, shopping centre and a lots of restaurants, pubs etc. The good thing is that they are just off the main drag, so was very quiet at night.
The accommodation was well maintained and very clean. Apartments had everything you could think of, and some. I cannot think of any negative points to mention - there was not one. We stayed at a similarly priced place after these guys and boy, what a difference.

Strongly recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Breeze by the Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze by the Strand

Address: 81 Mitchell Street | North Ward, Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Number of rooms: 176

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Breeze by the Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.