We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michels

Michels
7 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
(07) 4724 1460
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 238 Restaurants in Townsville
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Noisy but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Rather a large restaurant, located on the dining hub of Palmer Street, we enjoyed fantastic meals consisting of a huge and delicious sea food platter and a cooked to our liking Tasmanian steak. Both dishes were very well presented. Wines were tasty too, and service was very good. The only negative was the noise. This restarant is obviously very popular and therefore rather crowded which made for a noisy amosphere. yes, we would dine here again, highly recommended for the delicious food. Don't go there though for a romantic , quiet dinner!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    38
    24
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always listen to the taxi driver!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It was our first time in Townsville and our wedding anniversary. Our taxi driver recommended Michels. The food, wine and service were fantastic. Our lovely young waiter organised a special anniversary dessert. The price was reasonable and we couldn't have been happier as we enjoyed our meal and watched the passing parade in Palmer St from our outside table. Tip - try the Sancerre!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Food was first class and could not be faulted. Meals were plentifull we definetley didnt leave hungry. Service was equally as good. It was promt and efficient. Highly reccomend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A big let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My hubby and I finally went to this "michels", although we knew it would be a bit exie we were looking forward to the treat anyway. We did pre book and when we got ther I asked if we could be reseated not right in front of the toilets. The meals were average for the price and the poshness is just in the name. Smartly tho the tables are lines with nice butchers paper and the napkin is paper. I expected a bit more flashyness and stylie meals with a difference. If the budgets tight, I recommend going to a nice bristro you know instead.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Really nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I travel to Townsville for work and Michels is a favourite for lunch and dinner. The lamb shank is divine as is the duck confit. The seafood boulibaisse and seafood linguini is also a winner. The dessert menu has a great bombe Alaska for two. The outdoor seating is a nice option in the evening (possibly not in mid summer!) but the patrons smoking outside the grubby pub next door can put a dampener on the ambiance. That said, the food is great and the wait staff always do their best and are friendly and welcoming. Highly recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michels also viewed

Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Michels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.