We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Ionio

Mar Ionio
69 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
+(61)747240051
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 244 Restaurants in Townsville
Cuisines: Greek, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Townsville, Australia
1 review
“pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My partner & I dined here on a very busy Saturday night, we both had appetizers & entres which could not be faulted & I can highly recommend the pork wrapped in pruchiouto...the service was both friendly & efficient, the menu quite extensive, however I felt that $8 for a beer (xxxx gold) was a little steep and the wine list very limited.....too many sweet wines.
Looking forward to a return visit

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Top service, great food! You must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Such a fantastic place to dine! Top service by genuinely friendly staff, great food, lovely location! We had a great time and would love to go back! Thank you for the complementary Grappa & Lemoncello!
This restaurant is newly opened but didn't have any of the teething problems you usually come across in a new place. Professionally run place, bravo! Very comfortable and easy going atmosphere. Great view over the river. Very good wines!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best new upmarket dining experience in Townsville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

If you like fine dining, this is your place. What a menu! It is not often I am unable to decide. We finally chose the zucchini flowers stuffed with a trio of cheese for entrée, followed by a traditional Italian pizza and Greek salad. I realise pizza is not fine dining, however, other options on the menu were! Of course, the exotic seafood dishes and pastas were hard to go past, and we will definitely go back to sample the rest of the menu. Our desert was an amazing crepe dish with homemade icecream (including vanilla beans) with sour cherries. I felt like a Masterchef Judge overwhelmed by the array of sensational selection of flavour and presentation. The choice of outside or inside dining was lovely, as we were able to sit outside on a gorgeous winter’s day overlooking the marina. All the staff are Greek and our waitresses knowledge of the menu and professionalism was extensive. A little caution, this restaurant is situated so close to their neighbour, if you aren't specifically looking for it you will miss it. The prices were also reasonable and considerably less than could be charged for this standard of dining. We had 2 entrees, 2 mains, a middle of the road bottle of wine, desert and 2 liqueurs for $160. Of course if you are looking for something a little cheaper, take out the grog and you still have a reasonably priced but fabulous dining experience. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HIGH END FOOD AT REASONABLE PRICES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have eaten here 3 or 4 times and it just keeps getting better. Great menu, good wine list and attentive service. Great location and views, cant fault this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have had the pleasure of eating at this restaurant twice now and can say that the food is simply wonderful. I went expecting the usual pizza and pasta but was really happy to find that someone is finally doing it right. The atmosphere is lovely and the owner Napoleon is warm and cheerful. My new favourite place in Townsville. Would recommend it to everyone who loves Italian and Greek food and if you dont, you may find you do after eating here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar Ionio also viewed

Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Mar Ionio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Ionio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.