We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rude hostel manager” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Globetrotters Budget Accommodation Townsville

Globetrotters Budget Accommodation Townsville
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Globetrotters Budget Accommodation Townsville to your Saves list
Globetrotters Budget Accommodation Townsville
121 Flinders St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The rude hostel manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The hostel manager is very rude he must be sacked !
go to hell !! always shouting to his staff and very loud !

Room Tip: Do not stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamil_12, Manager at Globetrotters Budget Accommodation Townsville, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
It is dissapointing to see such a negative review which we do take very seriously.
I am however confused as to where this information has come from as I am the only staff member at Globetrotters. I am the onsite Manager and deal with all bookings, maintenance & cleaning so I am unsure as to who you are refering to when you mention that I "shout at my staff." I treat all guests and tradesmen that come through with respect and it is dissapointing that I have been percieved in a different view.
I do hope that you return to Globetrotters again in the future and have a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011 via mobile

first impression of the hostel was not very
good. but the manager was nice, we got a free bbq, the rooms were clean and we even got a towel and a guestsoap :-) we enjoyed free tee and coffe and used the free wifi.+near to greyhond stop

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

Always a good time in this hostel and looked after by everyone here. Great location , staff and atmosphere! :D

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

It is more of a halfway house rather than a hostel it has a lot of recovering drug addicts and alcoholics staying here.The manager is rude and aggressive and his main aim is to try and sleep with female backpackers and if he can not get his own way then you can say bye bye to this place as you will be made to feel very unwelcome here. How he goes about doing this is by offering female backpackers free drinks he has absolutley no clue on how to run a hostel and knows nothing about the area and the surrounding locations. I would overall say this place is not a place for a backpacker to come and stay as it is unsafe and you will have to deal with the manager and his mood swings.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I actually really liked the way I was treated, haven't had it like this anywhere else. The management has now changed (just before I visited, in July 2011). Over the 2 weeks I was there, this is what I got - I've been fed some barbecue one evening, I've been taken to local pubs on a couple of occasions, I've been given a ride to the airport upon departure. As a guest, you may sometimes get things like that here, and it actually does make your stay more enjoyable.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Recently under new management this hostel is at the forefront of ambitious plans meaning that this time next year its going to be a totally different place but right now its a friendly homely place with all the basics that make it a place you'd want to stay at. EG, kitchen, washing machines etc. The guy running it, a larger than life character is one of the nicest blokes you'll meet and will do anything for you. Wjile being only not even a five minute walk from the beach its also right by all the clubs and pubs and shopping centre so everything can be catered for. On the Friday and Saturday nights it can get a little loud outside what with all the pubs and clubs and one busker who only knows about 4 different songs but its the hostel experience right. Every sunday an all you can eat bbq is thrown saving the pennys if you are a backpacker on a budget and at 25 dollars a night its around average for a nights stay anywhere in Townsville. All in all a very chilled out lovely place to stay and if you find yourself looking over it with a critical eye then speak to the guy running it for his own future plans make this a place for the future x

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed at the Globetrotters for two nights and I have not a single thing to complain about. The management is new and the peolpe are trying hard to imrove the quality of the hostel. I slept in a five-bed female dorm which was ensuite. Each person gets a towel. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom and the kitchen were clean. The hostel has a sundeck in the front which is very inviting to relax. You can hang out there with other guests, have your breakfast or just enjoy the sun while reading a book. Thumps up!

Room Tip: very clean, comfortable beds, no bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Globetrotters Budget Accommodation Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters Budget Accommodation Townsville

Address: 121 Flinders St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Globetrotters is situated in the heart of Townsville with only a short walking distance to the city centre, beaches, restaurants & bars and is situated on the same street as the local Nightclubs. Globetrotters can cater for all group sizes, anything from 1 night accommodation through to long term stays, all rooms have ensuites, air conditioning, Televisions & bar fridges. Additional facilities include: onsite pool & spa, Free Wi-Fi, complimentary tea & coffee, 24 hour onsite kitchen, 24 hour check in, free BBQ each Sunday, a large deck area overlooking the city, free pickup & drop off services (arranged prior to your arrival) & onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Globetrotters Budget Accommodation Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globetrotters Budget Accommodation Townsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.