We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners North Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mariners North Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Mariners North Holiday Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   7 Mariners Drive, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Magnetic Is Transfer
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Over-rated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Good place but quite expensive for what you get. The kitchen in our apartments (we moved a few times) were all old and some didn't work well (microwave and oven). We started with an executive apartment (more expensive): it was dark and overlooking the rubbish bin!!! So no view and loud when the truck comes to empty them! We went on to a regular 2 bedroom apartment and it had a nice view of the water but the kitchen was again in need of repair. The entrance doors slam loudly and so you can hear everyone on the floor coming and going. Overall a disappointment for the price. I suppose if you are just in it for location (on the strand) then you might over look the other issues but we were here for an extended stay and so issues wore us down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Its disappointing to hear CDDingo's review. We certainly take on board feedback & act accordingly. There is a system in place at the property to report any issues during the guest's stay. I can't comment on any specific's regarding CDDingo's review because I am not aware of the apartments referred to. But I can say that the property has been performing ongoing refurbishment of all apartments. This refurbishment occurs on a regular basis depending on the individual owner's budget.

All apartments face the Ocean & have balconies which overlook Cleveland Bay. We certainly do not have any apartments overlooking rubbish bins? Iam not sure what CDDingo is referring to?? Rubbish collection is from the Marina side of the property & it quite some distance from the apartments? There are wheelie bins in the car park which are at the rear of the apartments.

We do offer discounted rates for extended stays.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    30
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
25
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Love this place, have stayed several times. Large 2 bedroom apartments with ensuite. Good value. First time had a room right overlooking the ocean, great balcony, amazing views, great room, only drawback was no lift and had to carry luggage up 3 storeys. Walking distance to The Strand water park for kids and short taxi ride to city for restaurants.

Next time, we asked for a room with an elevator which was great, however, had no view and overlooked the car park. Large balcony with full size table (8 seater), and still the large and very liveable rooms, full size kitchen, large refrigerator etc.

If you could get a room overlooking ocean with the lift would be amazing, but not sure it they exist as they are in a different "tower". Overall, would happily return based on the great experiences I have had here over the years.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Mariners North is certainly a great place for families as Carla has commented. More than happy to hear from Carla to ensure she gets her preferred apartment. My tip for families is to request a ground floor apartment with easy access to the pool & gardens.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at Mariners North in a 3 bedroomed apartment from 13-17 June while there to attend a family wedding. Apartment was on 8th floor with fantastic views from all 3 balconies. Accommodation was immaculate and so well placed just off The Strand. Underground parking with 2 parking bays was included. Outdoor pool and barbecue area including the landscaped grounds were beautiful. I cannot fault this place and only wish we had stayed longer! Highly recommend Mariners North.

Room Tip: We had a corner apartment on a high floor with breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Angela's review is what we strive to achieve in our business. On this occasion Angela rated us very highly & provides reinforcement of our endeavours to make the guests's stay a memorable one. The 3 bedroom apartments offer a great opportunity for family & friends to stay together. In Angela's case she was able to enjoy her stay whilst attending a wedding.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Rented a 3 bedroom apartment for 4 nights. Excellent spot whilst getting organised for my daughters wedding. Clean, well equipped, beautiful views excellent facilities. Had everything we needed to spread ourselves around. The staff were helpful and friendly. Can't fault it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I can't argue with transiptrip's review, Mariners North is a great spot to base yourself in Townsville. We appreciate the feedback & look forward to seeing her again in Townsville.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Mariners North is just the very best place to stay in Townsville.
We have been many times and never disappointed in fact each stay just gets more pleasurable. The two bedroom unit was excellent. Ultra clean and fresh. Thank you
Views that are wonderful at any hour of the day: from sunrise to glorious sunsets are all a photographer's dream. The ambience and charm of the tropical gardens, the swimming pool and poolside facilities are a great asset for any age group making it the best place to stay in Townsville.
Plenty for children, a secure garage underneath and just a short walk to so many attractions
which abound in Townsville by bicycle, bus, car ,bus or Ferry to Magnetic Is or just walk along "The Strand"
You will not be disappointed Book now !!!
Wonderful hospitality from the "Team" You all made our stay just the best.

Room Tip: All apartments have glorious sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Its always good to see regular customers, Alex & Jenny have stayed with us on a number of occasions over the past few years. They always bring friends from New Zealand to enjoy our warm weather this time of the year. It was great to see they are in good health. They are avid walkers & Mariners provides them with the perfect base to explore Townsville.

This is the perfect time of the year to vist Townsville, forget about your woolies. Its shorts & short sleeve shirt weather for the next few months. We look forward to welcoming you to Mariners North for the Best Views & Sunsets in North Qld.

Warm Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towsville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The best thing about Mariner's North are the magnificent views from the balcony. It is the perfect place to sit and enjoy drinks and food as the sun goes down, taking in Townsville's beautiful winter weather and colourful sunsets over the Strand and Palleranda. The balcony was spacious, with a good sized table and chairs to make the most of the outdoors. The unit itself had plenty of room, was well appointed, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable, with everything that would be needed for extended stays. Even the main bedroom had a wonderful ocean and beach view.
The location is brilliant, within waking distance of the city strip, and right on the Strand with its attractions. We enjoyed the nice clean, large swimming pool.
The only down side is that the units are all two and three bedrooms, which makes them a little more expensive for a couple compared with one-bedroom apartments, however, I doubt that there is a better place to stay in Townsville, so the extra cost is worthwhile. We loved the place, and will return for another stay.

Room Tip: For views, the main tower is hard to beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
May be Tim should be a copy writer, what a great Headline - its sums up our great location on 'The Strand' in Townsville. The apartments do offer large spacious living areas & balconies that overlook Cleveland Bay. This time of the year in Townsville offers great weather & great sunsets from your apartment at Mariners North.

Take the opportunity to come to Townsville & experience the awesome climate we have over the winter period.

Warm Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudjimba, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed twice in a 2 bedroom apartment and will be booking again this year. Mariners' has a great location overlooking the coast and the new Marina and is a stone's throw from the Strand with all it's beach facilities and restaurants etc. The uninterrupted views out to sea and along the Strand and towards Magnetic Island couldn't be better, always something to see. The hotel has a very pleasant pool and garden area overlooking the water and there are garden apartments if a lower level is preferable. Our 6th and 7th floor apartments were in the Tower, which is not high rise. There is secure underground parking, a definite plus in this area. The apartments have individual owners so can vary in decor etc. but both ours were spacious, well equipped, very clean and everything worked, plus a good size balcony with outdoor furniture. Reception staff are friendly and helpful, but servicing is only carried out for slightly longer stays unless paid for. We tried The Oaks on Palmer and won't be going back, it was 2 years ago so it might have changed but once bitten......... ? Instead we will rebook where we can be pretty confident of being comfortable.

Room Tip: All have ocean views, lower level has easy garden access, higher quieter as always, but not a noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Great to hear from Lin S regarding her recent stay at Mariners North. It is an accommodation provider's goal to create return guests & we have have achieved it on this occasion. Mariners North welcomes feedback & we appreciate Lin taking the time to give her review on the property.

Further to Lin's comment about the the servicing of the apartments, we are classified as self-catering apartments. If you stay more than 8 nights the apartment is serviced. We will service the apartments as requested for a minimal charge. The majority of guests want to be stay in higher floor apartments, we would recommend families consider ground floor apartments as they have easy access to the pool & gardens.

Warm Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariners North Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners North Holiday Apartments

Address: 7 Mariners Drive, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners North Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariners North Holiday Apartments offer Absolute Ocean Front accommodation in Townsville. Every apartment is fully self-contained , with two full sized bathrooms, a spacious open plan living area and a generous private balcony with stunning ocean views. They come complete with air-conditioning, large modern kitchen, laundry, Austar TV, DVD, security access and secure undercover parking. Venture outside your apartment and enjoy a range of resort style facilities including a saltwater pool, spa and full size tennis court, all set within tranquil tropical gardens. The Strand is right at your door step offering the Waterpark, Childrens Playground, patrolled beaches; BBQ area,Rockpool, Cafes, Restaurants, cycling & walking tracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mariners North Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariners North Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.