We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good at the right price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Townsville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Townsville to your Saves list
Ibis Townsville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-14 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good at the right price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is my second stay here after being here in March 2011, both on business. Again I was lucky enough to get a special at $74 a night compared to full freight of $119. They have obviously realised they were overpriced back in 2011 as they were charging standard tariff of $130 to $140!
This is a typical Ibis hotel – basic, cheap fittings, rooms size reasonable, perfect for a business trip but would not want to spend more than 2 or 3 days as a bit cramped and no pool or other “resort” facilities.
Positives – right in the middle of a strip of restaurants and cafes and a short walk to night club area. Food at the onsite “Sugatrain” was again good, not cheap but reasonable quality and consistent. Also now have 24hr room service. Staff were very friendly and helpful, which was different to last time – as with most low end hotels this aspect is pretty much a daily lottery.
Negatives- starting to look a bit tired, lots of chips, scuffing and fraying in the room which in a better hotel would be fixed.
Bottom line – if you get it for the right price – my call is less than $100 (in low season) - it is good value. Perfect for 1 to 3 days business or as base to do other things around Townsville.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Ibis Townsville, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Good Evening Cobra53,

I have to agree with you, our location in Palmer Street is fantastic. Our prices do flucuate day to day depending on the season. There are many great deals and rates that you can book for the hotel both directly and online.

Our hotel is six years old now and unfortunately is in need of some repair that we are progressing towards throughout the new year. At the moment the Hotel is still in good condition. It would be great if we did have 'resort facilities', but unfortunately due to where we are located, the size of the property and being an Ibis we cannot house such facilities.

Thank you for your comments in regards to our team. We pride ourselves in our service and friendly attitudes and we know that it does make a difference.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    190
    83
    22
    9
See reviews for
46
142
53
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

A last minute trip to Townsville for a meeting meant that hotel choice was limited. The Ibis is well located and good value (Townsville). Rooms are basic, actually a little like a cabin on an overnight ferry. Basic, functional but clean. Great for a stay when you're only planning on sleeping in your room. Fortunately there are plenty of pubs and restaurants around.

So it's good for an overnight stay or somewhere to sleep, but its not a destination.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Ibis Townsville, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hi Dusse,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay. Ibis Townsville is only a 3.5 Star Hotel, like you said, maybe not a destination but we are in the best location Townsville can offer. I agree with you, our rooms are clean and we do pride ourselves in our service.
We are very lucky as we have an amazing restaurant Sugatrian for our guests to use for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was a weekend away from kids So was perfect We where able to relax and pop down stair for drink and dinner on Palmer Street Breakfast was very nice and relaxed like we love So pretentious crap or snobby over work staff that cant make a simple flat white(has to be a espresso macchiato blah blah) Was just what we want and need Will stay again

Room Tip: Leave the kids at grandmas and grandad and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Ibis Townsville, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hi GNinja357,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Ibis Townsville is a great place to relax and our location is fantastic. Being on Plamer street is a bonus for us with all the eateries surrounding us.
We take the time to understand what our guests like from us. It is a relaxed town, so we create a relaxed atmosphere with good service. Flat Whites are our most popular coffee and I am glad that we were able to meet your needs in serving it to you.
We hope you enjoy your next stay.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our stay here was made special due to the staff being so friendly, The hotel is a basic Ibis, but the nicest one we have ever stayed at. It just had something extra, including a lovely bar and restaurant, and the staff went the extra mile to give us more tea etc, with a really good atmosphere with the staff members, as teh Manager was so lovely with them, too, Makes a big difference!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Ibis Townsville, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Good Afternoon BristolHappyrambler,

Thank you for the fantastic feedback you have provided. It's great to receive five out of five with any score.
At ibis Townsville we strive to produce the best service and experience for our guests. We are a friendly team and enjoy working at the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel ibis Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here at least 15 times over the last few years while travelling through. It's in a great location and the staff are always super friendly. The rooms are simple but very clean and new. It's always super cheap too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Ibis Townsville, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello NaomiGreen,

Wow, a 5/5. What an awesome ranking. Thank you. At Ibis Townsville we love to hear great feedback especially from return guests such as yourself. It's nice to see that we are consistant and you enjoy coming back to the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you upon your next arrival.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Ibis Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and have no complaints at all. We were on an Accor Red Hot Rooms rate and decided to upgrade to the king room option which gave us more space to spread out. The food in the Sugartrain Restaurant was quite good, especially breakfast. The staff were all excellent and very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is surrounded by a large number of different eateries and bars which is really convenient. Will definitely use this property again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Ibis Townsville, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello,

What a raving review, thank you. It is amazing when fantastic comments are dispayed about your travels and stay at Ibis Townsville. We do pride ourselves for our service in all areas including recption, restaurant and housekeeping.

We agree, our location is great. Like you stated we are so close to the CBD, attractions, The Strand and eateries/bars. Palmer Street has a great atmosphere and we are happy to be apart of it.

Thank you again and look forward to having you stay at the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Ibis Hotel, Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Townsville

Address: 12-14 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Townsville 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Townsville is conveniently located in the heart of the city dining precinct and only a few minutes walk from the main shopping centre of Flinders Mall. The hotel features 118 rooms, a cafe with alfresco dining and two meeting rooms for up to 80 delegates. Guests will also enjoy close proximity to the popular Strand development, where they can enjoy beautiful beaches, a swimming pool, community art and public events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Townsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Townsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.