We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Motel

Save Saved
You added Summit Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summit Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   6 Victoria Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 hotels in Townsville
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One night stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for one night during the school holidays on our way to Cairns. The owners were very friendly and helpful giving us directions to a few places we wanted to see in the short time we were there. We had inter-connecting rooms, each room sleeping four, which gave us more than enough space. We all slept well. Would stay here again if the need arose.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Used Tripadvisor to select this motel for a one night stay in Townsville. It was easy to find and is located near the CBD and the Esplanade. In comparison with others in this price range in Townsville I rate it highly simply because of its location. It's an easy 15 minute walk downhill to the restaurants on The Esplanade but a much longer and challenging return trip on foot up the steep hill. Take the car unless you're in training! If you need the exercise take a trip to Castle Hill Lookout behind the motel. We were looking for an inexpensive but pleasant one night's accommodation and this budget motel fitted the bill. Although basic and in need of a little brightening up, it was very clean, had a large shower recess with good water pressure and management were very friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi was also available and although not the fastest it was adequate. Parking is limited but we didn't experience any problem parking within the complex. It was fairly quiet and away from any main road. Value for money.

Room Tip: We selected a room on the lower level to avoid carrying the suitcases up the stairs. Room 9 is in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Decided to come to Townsville QLD for a winter defrost from our -2 mornings and cold days in July this year and we had booked into the Summit Motel for the week and to see the sights.
We found the Summit Motel on the internet and booked our stay. The owners, Allan and Jeannene were wonderful hosts and anything we asked for was graciously granted. Our room was clean, comfortable and pleasant. The motel is in a perfect location with all the attractions of Townsville within walking and short driving distances. A highlight of the motel is Russell, Allan and Jeannene's Jack Russell. He always comes to say hello, loves attention and a pat. This lovely motel is a home away from home and we would definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaku, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in Townsville with no booking. Pulled into Summit and thought it was closed as it was late 8.30ish. As we backed out we saw a man with a dog, assumed owner and asked about rooms. This man was not the owner but told us reception was still open. We checked in and 'yeah' a lovely clean and very spacious room. Location is great and handy to the town centre. Felt like we were out of town as so quiet. Room had everything that we needed and more and parking. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. Thank you, also thank you to the man who was out front with the dog as we were driving away.

One thing I would add could you put an open/closed or vacancy/no vacancy sign out the front as reception is up the drive and cars parked in the drive blocked our view when pulling in so we didn't see the open reception sign.

Room Tip: I liked having a downstairs room as easier to get our luggage in and out. But would have liked to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you're looking for somewhere easy, affordable, clean and comfortable, this is the place to stay. The hosts are wonderful, friendly people who were always accommodating to our needs. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan s, Manager at Summit Motel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel and you are always welcome back. Clean, quiet and comfortable are top priorties at the Summit Motel, with helpfull and friendly customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Summit is a wonderfully family run happy motel to stay at. Jeannene and Allan were such welcoming hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed at the Motel with our poodle who played well with the Motel pooch named Russell. The service was great, the rooms very clean and spacious with an adjoining outdoor area for our dog. The location is perfect, it is within coo-ee of everything you need or want to do and the guest laundry was very handy for our long stay. We highly recommend The Summit Motel and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan s, Manager at Summit Motel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you Margo and David for your lovely review of our Motel. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope David is on the mend and we look foward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Found the location to be sweet, within walking distance of nearly everything for the moderately fit or an easy cab ride, if not ! Spent 3 nights and everything was fine. Allan (?) the owner was extremely friendly & helpful , with help for the charging of phones/i-pods etc , advice on where to go and tips on restaurants etc. The rooms were of a good size even after the roll out was added and clean & neat. Wasn't the cheapest as price doubles during the V8 Supercars but all in all a great pick and would gladly stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the first floor if you can as you always get a bit more noise "Downunder" !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan s, Owner at Summit Motel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. We are glad you were happy to sleep on a trundle bed as this V8 Weekend is our peek time and there is a shortage of beds in Townsville for the whole week. Clean and comfortable rooms are our number one priority at our Motel. Thanks again and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Motel

Address: 6 Victoria Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#3 Best Value Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This highly rated Motel offers clean, quiet and comfortable rooms to all guests either for business, pleasure or long term stays, perfectly located within walking distance to The Strand, City, Castle Hill, Palmer Street and Queens Gardens. All rooms offer free high-speed WiFi (NBN), Split A/C, Fridge, Toaster, Microwave and Comfortable beds. The Motel also offers free parking for cars and larger vehicles, pool and BBQ. Smart people stay at the Summit Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Summit Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Townsville
Summit Townsville
Townsville Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.