We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 disappointing experiences” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Brewery

The Brewery
252 Flinders St, Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 245 Restaurants in Townsville
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Also called Townsville Brewing Company Phone +61 4724 2999
2 reviews
“3 disappointing experiences”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

3 different experiences I have now had at The Brewery, every time being rather disappointing. Meals have been either forgotten or mixed up each time, and after complaining to staff get no apologies or any justification. Such a shame as its a beautiful pub, but service really let's them down.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    58
    9
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Pub good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Brewery had a great atmosphere whether you're there for a social drink, bar snacks or a meal. Fantastic range of beers including Townsville's own brand. Well worth a visit

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
“Started nicely ended terribly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My friend and I were lucky enough to get a table without a reservation on a Saturday night.
When we arrived there were only a couple of other groups dining. Our order was taken by the manager (without writing it down which seemed impressive) and we settled in to enjoy the experience. No complaints about our starters however when our mains came out it was obvious the manager should have written our order down as our meals were oviously wrong. Our steak meals had not been cooked even close to what we had ordered. Although I was given a new meal, at no time were we able to enjoy our main meals together as my friend had to eat alone before hers went cold. Even when my meal was brought out a second time one of my sides was wrong. The staff admitted their mistake but failed to apologise at any time and even the manager made a dig about how 'easy it was to fix'. I'm glad it was easy for them but it ruined our relaxed dinner. When it came time to pay the bill I asked if there was any chance of a recuction due to the issues during dinner. The manager was called over and he happily agreed to take the $109 bill to 'an easy $100'. Once again, glad it was easy for them but there's no way we'll be going back or recommending it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great use for the old post office”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wonderful ber produced on the premises, would recommend the Ned's Red. Food & drink reasonably priced and watch out for the happy hours that are not advertised due to Australian law. Half price beer. Food (only ate bar meals) was good and freshly prepared. They have a full restaurant service and the menu looked good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“cool venue with nice ambience and great beer products”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Set in an original federation-style building, the feel is relaxed and modern. There is a good range of beers, my favourite being the Hop Monster. Music and decor contribute to a relaxed vibe.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brewery also viewed

Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to The Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.