We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to retreat in the heat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Oasis Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added City Oasis Inn to your Saves list
City Oasis Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143 Wills Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
1 review
“A beautiful place to retreat in the heat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A friend and I recently spent a night at City Oasis on a road trip up to Cairns. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable and the air-conditioner worked a treat in the Townsville heat. Our beds were very comfortable and i slept better there than i had in weeks. The pool and spa area had a lovely tropical feel, and we spent most of our time relaxing in and out of the beautiful cool water. I recommend staying at City Oasis Inn as it really has that essential laid-back vibe perfect for relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hi Jess640

Thank you for your very positive thoughts on City Oasis Inn

As summer approaches its always great to read that our pool and spa area is a hit with our guests

I'm glad our facilities contributed to your enjoyable journey to North Queensland

Regards
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    79
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
50
68
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room was clean and tidy but the shower and toilet facilities are very pokey. Also there is no basin in the "bathroom" so the kitchenette sink is the only place you can wash your hands. Air conditioning was adequate. The pool is very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for your overnight stay and review on our standard room

Our standard rooms are well suited for overnight accommodation and the room you stayed in is great if you want to park directly in front of your unit. These rooms do not have cooking facilities and therefore there is no kitchenette sink but there is a hand basin.

We have a wide range of room types so if you are looking for larger rooms or self contained accommodation or family units there is a lot to choose from. For those wanting room to move we even have a two bedroom fully self contained cottage available.

I hope you were able to relax in our tropical pool area and were able to take advantage of our free summer breakfast special

Regards
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We recently stayed at City Oasis. It was conveniently located near the cinema, a supermarket and a 10 minute walk to the shops and 15 minute walk to Palmerson St which is the restaurant strip.
Its a half hour walk from The Strand but we enjoyed the exercise each day and had a swim when we got there.
The Motel itsself has catered well for families with adjoining rooms with kitchenettes & Austar. It was very clean and comfortable and the staff go out of their way to help you with any needs you may have.
The spa was hot and the pool cool and tranquil. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Monique

Thanks for taking your time to post a review on City Oasis Inn

We really enjoy looking after families and sharing our outside pool, spa (hot and cold) BBQ area and gardens. We have quite a few accommodation options for families ranging from rooms with bunk beds, self contained apartments, interconnecting rooms and even a fantastic little cottage with its own yard. So if you come back to Townsville again please keep in mind the variety we love to offer to suit particular needs.

I am glad you enjoyed your walks to the Strand. Townsville locals have embraced outdoor exercise in a big way. Our location is smack bang in the middle of "exercise central". We have Castle Hill sitting on our door step - the number one exercise spot in Townsville, followed a close second by our beautiful Strand beach front only 900 metres from City Oasis Inn. We also offer free entry into the best gym in town positioned on a hill that has great views of Magnetic Island

Once again thanks for your review and happy travelling

Regards
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was impressed with the variety of rooms available when booking this hotel. On arrival which was before normal check-in time the staff at the counter were polite and friendly, even suggesting places to get lunch near by.
I booked a single room and expected to only have the one bed - I didnt expect to have a choice from two queens and bunks when i walked in the door. I found the room clean and welcoming - except for the bin that was hant been eptied and was full including a dirty nappy. A call to reception fixed that issue within half an hour. Noise wasnt too much of an issue at night however the garbage truck doesits rounds of the offices across the street quite early in the morning.
Im not sure if i just couldnt find it but there was no elevator facilities, guests were required to cart their bags up mutliple flights of stairs - lucky i packed light.
I went to the restaurant downstairs for breakfast and was pleased they had a varitiey of hot and cold options which also included a buffet breakfast perfect for business travellers. The service was quick and friendly.
The location of the hotel was great for my purpose as it was very close to the office and also a short walk to Woolworths.
The amenties at the hotel was of a good quality and it was a pity the weather wasnt warm enough to test out the pool and spa which looked beatutiful.
Loved the view of the mountain behind the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
HI Jonkees

Thanks for your review on City Oasis

I will pass on your positive comments regarding your check in experience to our great team.

Out of all the comments made in reviews, positive experiences concerning staff members is one of the best things to read.

Sorry we missed the bin in your room. I think the cleaning staff who also do a fantastic job at City Oasis may have just been a little too eager to have your room ready due to your early arrival and missed this vital element. I am happy to hear the issue was rectified immediately.

As you mentioned our location is great - close to everything in Townsville's city centre including
shops, transport offices and recreation hot spots.

We do not have a lift in our building but our staff will gladly help all of our guests with any luggage item. We have many rooms on the ground floor (16) so there are lots of easy options on offer.

If you are travelling to Townsville again on business we would love to look after you. The weather is certainly warm enough now to take a refreshing dip into our refreshing cool pool

Thanks again
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were booked for two nights and rang ahead to see if we could come early. This was no trouble and more importantly when we asked the staff happily gave us a tour of available rooms we could select from.

The rooms were very clean and we picked a good large sized family room. The pool was lovely and the service was excellent the staff were very helpful with information.

Breakfast was okay, one of the girls serving us was really warm and friendly. Good, clean accomodation in an excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Guest Relations Manager at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for your kind review Theresa!

I remember you and your family- it was a pleasure having you here. Not to make you jealous but the weather presently is near perfect- unlike the rainy week you stayed. Where are you planning the next family holiday?

Hope all is well in Auckland and if you are ever in Sunny North Queensland again come and stay with us!

Warm Wishes

Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed two nights. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Clean and comfortable rooms. Pool and surrounds were outstanding. The kids loved the pool. Close to the Strand and would recommend to families for convenience and quality for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Guest Relations Manager at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank-you for your positive feedback!

We are always happy to accomodate holidaying families. With summer creeping up on us the shady oasis pool is a much needed haven for parents and children alike. It's good to hear that you made use of the Strand during your time here, it is an ideal spot for families and only 3 minutes away from us by car, did you enjoy the waterpark? .

Hopefully we'll see you next time you're in town :)

Kind Regards
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I can highly recommend this hotel. I was traveling with a friend and we stayed there for a couple of nights.
We were surprised by the nice, clean and comfortable rooms. Also the breakfast was delicious. And the lagoon was really good to relax and for a little swim. The staff was lovely, friendly and helpful with everything. They gave us useful tips for our further road trip, what we really appreciated.
Also the location is perfect, quite central but still quiet.

If you go to Townsville, this is definitely the place where you should stay:-) And I think it is suitable for everyone, from couple to elderly people, children and backpackers.

Room Tip: Rooms were just renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks for your review on City Oasis Inn and for posting your holiday photos with the review

It looks like you had a great time while visiting Townsville

Happy travelling

Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to City Oasis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Oasis Inn

Address: 143 Wills Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#3 Business Hotel in Townsville
#3 Family Hotel in Townsville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Oasis Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Oasis Inn is a four-star resort style property, superbly located in the city centre of Townsville, North Queensland. City Oasis Inn offers a wide range of accommodation styles. Suiting the corporate traveler due to the close proximity of government/corporate companies, and holiday guests as they are only a short walk to local attractions. The saltwater, lagoon style pool incorporates a heated spa and an open spa, as well as waterfall and children's wading area. This is surrounded by lush tropical landscaped gardens. The licensed Sidewalk Cafe and Bar offers a relaxed atmosphere with indoor and alfresco dining. Guests can also enjoy the convenience of room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your City Oasis Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Oasis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Oasis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.