We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Townsville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Palms

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com
Motel Palms
44 Bowen Road, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 39 hotels in Townsville
Mackay, Queensland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Townsville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Always stay here when in Townsville on business and could not meet nicer hosts than Wayne and Bev. I have never asked the price ( except V8 week ) and have never been disappointed with the service. Rooms are always clean and tidy and I can always get an evening meal delivered from across the road and put on your bill. Breakfast is always nice also. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a Courtyard room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The management is very nice. A natural smile on their face as you enter the reception. You just feel like being at home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Motel Palms was the perfect choice for an unexpected overnight stay in Townsville. Great value for money, clean, good efficient staff and a comfortable bed. All you need really. Reception gave me a good tip on a local restaurant and I had an excellent T-Bone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

I stayed here with my wife for one night due to an early departure to Sydney next morning.
The room was large, well furnished with a comfortable bed. No complaints about the bathroom either. The kitchen facilities were everything we could ask for and the tip from the receptionist to get a couple of take away pizzas from nearby "La Porchetta" proved to be the best value meal of our time in Oz! They were so big we left some in the fridge for the cleaners.
The swimming pool looked great even in the dark. Well worth staying longer if Townsville is the place for you but watch you don't get ripped off hiring a car from Hertz (but that's another story!)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundaring, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

My Husband and I stayed at Motel Palms for one night in July, during a sales trip from Cairns to Brisbane. We found our room to be Very Comfortable, Clean and extremely affordable. The Pool looked lovely although we did not have time for a swim.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

My family travelled to Townsville to attend a convention which lasted a week. The Motel Palms was just what we were looking for to accommodate our long stay. It is very close to our venue, shops and sporting facilities, which worked a treat if we wanted to buy something to either eat or cook in a hurry. We had a self-contained unit which suited our needs perfectly. Amongst our group were those of all ages. Beverley, Wayne and staff handled and catered for their needs wonderfully, friendly and always with a smile.
Motel Palms is surrounded by shady palm trees and a beautifully kept garden, which gives the BBQ and pool area a fantastic family atmosphere, and a great place to relax.

We were very impressed with the service, location and quite atmosphere that we will definitely return again for another long stay. Good work Motel Palms keep it up.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laidley
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

I recently made a trip to Townsville to see the in-laws and I was very impressed with our accommodation pick. Not being overly excited about the in-laws trip we picked a motel over staying with the family. I liked the look of Motel Palms website and we locked it away for our 4 day stay. During our stay we received great friendly service, a nice clean room and enjoyed the beautiful pool – they even gave us the idea of bringing the relatives over to use the pool and have a family BBQ, this went down a treat with the family and it was a wonderful afternoon.
It’s rare these days to experience good service and to deal with friendly people who genuinely like doing what they do – keep up the good work Motel Palms and see you around Easter when we head back for another family visit!

A. Graham - Laidley, QLD

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Palms

Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Townsville
Palms Motel Townsville
Address: 44 Bowen Road, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Motel Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Motel Palms to your Saves list