We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seagulls Resort on the Seafront

Save Saved
You added Seagulls Resort on the Seafront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seagulls Resort on the Seafront
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   74 The Esplanade, Townsville, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 hotels in Townsville
ROCKHAMPTON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Nice place with good pool and freindly staff. the apartment was comfortable but a bit small with the kids. We ate in the restaurant for 2 nights and enjoyed the meals. Breakfast was particularly good value. We decided to stay here again on the way back to Rockhampton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
29
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had our ceremony and reception wedding here on the 13/Oct. Ceremony under the Gazebo and the wedding reception outside.
Within the last few days of the wedding, we had changed our minds about 10 times, whether we do the wedding inside one of their function rooms, or outside on pavement area, or on the grass. Within the last day we were still undecided were to do the ceremony under the Gazebo, or in a shady area on the grass.
Lets just say as difficult and even maybe a little organised myself and my bride were at the time, Seagulls staff especially Sue (the owner) went above and beyond just to make our day special, perfect and nothing was too difficult for her.
We had guests from Melbourne stay @ Seagulls leading up to and after the wedding, and all were very impress with the wedding, food and service. Most agreed the wedding was so different to the norm, an all outdoors tropical wedding that they had never experienced before, and they loved it :)
The landscaped area was was beautiful and well maintained.
In one of the rooms booked, the smoke Alarm decided to go off at about 1am and we couldn't turn it off, but within 5 minutes the night manager came and played around with it and managed to turn it off, which was nice of him to do this at that time of the morning.
Rooms were nice, and family rooms had plenty of room and beds inside (recommended if you have 4 + people staying in a room)
If I had to point out one small problem over the whole event it would have been booking the rooms for all the guests coming up from Melbourne did get a little complicated and seemed difficult at times, but in the end it was all sorted by staff.

For us and our guests, our overall experience was great, it was our dream wedding, and couldn't ask for anything more.
As long as wifey was happy, so was I.

Room Tip: Family room would probably represent best value, if you have 4 + people staying, and they are very r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed a dinner on the tropical terrace. New Asian inspired menu a great improvement on previous heavy for the tropics European attempt. Had an enjoyable seafood lakes.
Hotel rooms comfortable & clean, though noisy from adjacent air conditioners.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here in late September in a 2 bedroom apartment with my husband a friend and his daughter for a wedding. The gardens are so lovely surrounding the whole complex you certainly feel that you are in tropical Qld Pool was very clean and inviting There certainly was no issues there. Having said that the 2 bedroom apartment was very average. The kitchen/dining/lounge was very small. Even though the apartment catered for 5 people the dining table was butted up against a wall and had 3 chairs around it There was a 2 seater couch against the other wall and 2 chairs pushed against the window which faced the balcony Really very tiny There was an old style airconditioned servicing this area effective but dripped water outside onto the balcony There was only 1 bathroom which looked like it had been renovated recently The bedrooms were very basic double bed, wardrobe and side tables with another old style airconditioner Double bed was average to sleep in The second bedroom had a single bed with double bunks in it and according to the other guests were really uncomfortable Tried the restaurant the first night we got there meal was fairly average for the price so did not eat there again Staff I found to be very friendly and helpful. As someone else stated 5 star grounds 3 star rooms

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

One of the reasons I booked here was because they had advertised they had an internet kiosk well they don't. They also have a tennis court we were looking forward to using but were unable to because they were doing renovations and using the court as a workshop area. The room we had was located close to the dining/bar area and on one night there was a private function that went until after 1 am. With plenty of other accomodation available in Townsville you would think they would be more professional and considerate of their paying guests. We were very dissapointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late and very tired from Sydney , night staff were really pleasant and help full in carrying luggage to upstairs room. Room was newly renovated, very bright and clean, new bed and air conditioner.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I recently had the opportunity to return to Seagulls Resort after many years. I must say that it has been maintained very well over that time period. The gardens within which the hotel sits are spectacular and hide a lovely pool for cooling off in tropical north Queensland. However, regardless of the lovely gardens the rooms are made of 'Besser brick' and while neat, clean and tidy have the quality of a fairly average 3 star country motel.
The staff are very variable. Those in the Restaurant couldn't have been more helpful. Having arrived back from business engagements at a few minutes to 9pm I realised that the kitchen may well not take an order given that it closes at 9pm. However, I asked and was very pleased to be told that provided I didn't want a grill, the grill having been turned off and cooled, there would be no problem. To make things easy I chose the chicken curry, as I was certain that would have been pre-made. I was surprised at how good it was, plenty of chicken and medium heat. The desert, a chocolate moose was equally good and very rich.
The staff at the Reception were on the other hand completely uninterested in their guests. They were by no means rude, but at the same time they didn't seem happy to see a new guest.
I don't think I was treated to a smile let alone a welcoming word at any stage.
I would certainly not recommend Seagulls for business purposes. While they have wi-fi internet connection in the Resort, it runs on a quaint system that requires you to personally go to reception and purchase access when you will be provided with a username and password. If if course you get back late from business and the reception is closed then you have no hope of obtaining internet access.
Good for a relaxation and a playground for children but not for business.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front are a bit less like a country motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seagulls Resort on the Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagulls Resort on the Seafront

Address: 74 The Esplanade, Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seagulls Resort on the Seafront 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Seagulls Resort on the Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagulls Resort Townsville
Seagulls Hotel Townsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagulls Resort on the Seafront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.