We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Billabong Sanctuary

Billabong Sanctuary
Bruce Highway, Townsville, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 4778 8344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 68 things to do in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors to this wildlife sanctuary can interact with many native animal species in three habitat areas: rainforest, eucalypt forest and wetlands.
Putaruru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Up close and personal with all species being kangaroos, koala. Snakes etc. Great narrator. Certainly people take time out to visit this place

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    79
    22
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best part is interacting with Kangaroos.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice place outside Townsville but it's not worth spending money on a cab fare. (Quite expensive to take a cab, but if you have a car then 15 mins drive from downtown ) It is a small private zoo referred as a sanctuary. It takes about an hour to see all animals. I didn't attend any shows but I think it could be interesting and informative.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
299 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Attraction to see all of Australia's Critters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Billabong Sanctuary is a great way to spend at least a morning/afternoon, if not all day taking in all the animals that Australia has to offer.

The park is well laid out, and has different areas to see both caged, and free running kangaroos, birds, and ducks. Food is available for feeding the kangaroos and birds, but be sure to protect it. The kangaroos are not shy, and have no problem grabbing ahold of your hand while eating, or trying to get at more of your seeds.

Guided tours with a local wildlife expert is worth the time to listen, and personally encounter the animals. You can touch/hold a wombat or koala, watch alligators/ crocodiles being fed. The park has a wide selection to see, and is very kid friendly.

There is a cafe for food purchases, rest rooms, and plenty of things to do to make a full day of it. Parking is free, and is easy to access off the main highway.

Our only complaint was the high price for professional photos (you have plenty of opportunities to snap pics without paying), and like everything in Australia, the entrance fee is not cheap.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good experience but could have more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Had a good experience, but I was a bit disappointed in the lack of animals other than that from what was there is was worth the money.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place to keep the kids entertained whilst educating them.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a wildlife sanctuary with lots of Australian Fauna, about 15 kilometres south of Townsville. Information sessions are held throughout the day on various animal types which caters to both children and adults. The presenters are very personable and enquire where participants are visiting from, so comparisons about the species found in other area of Australia are discussed as well. We were able to view all exhibits around the park between watching the presentations.

On arrival, we were shown how to find our way around and also had the chance to purchase seed to feed the ducks and kangaroos. The ducks are wild and in great numbers, and choose to stay at Billabong Sanctuary for as long as they like. The children enjoyed feeding the ducks and kangaroos out of their hands with the seeds, which were very quiet and gentle.

The highlight of my day was to see a not only one live wombat, but to see both species of wombats walking around their enclosures. Normally wombats are sleeping whenever I go to fauna parks!! I even got to pat one of them!!

There are professional photo opportunities available with the participant photographed with a variety of animals for reasonable prices. We didn't go down this path as we had a very stroppy 5 year old with us, who refused to even pose for us in front of the Billabong Sanctuary sign!!

The audience were often encouraged to pat and hold some of the animals, and nobody felt rushed through their turn. My 11 year old grandson was very excited to hold a snake and a baby crocodile, and had a parrot sit on his hat.

I loved the passionate delivery of each of the presenters who obviously enjoyed what they are doing. The crocodile show was excellent and educational with the crocodiles performing as predicted. The dingo, wombat and koala presentations were delivered with passion about the animals survival in the wild . We were encouraged to feed the cassowary grapes, after a presentation regarding the importance the cassowary plays in the rain forests.

There is a pool available for swimming for anybody who is "over" the animal viewing. Lunch, Devonshire Tea and snacks are available. There is also a BBQ available to cook meals on, and tables and chairs set up around the park for lunch and snack times.

The first presentation begins at 10 am and the final one is at 3 pm, so I would advise you to plan to stay most of the day to gain as much as you can from this experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billabong Sanctuary also viewed

 
Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Billabong Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billabong Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.