We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billabong Sanctuary

Billabong Sanctuary
Bruce Highway, Townsville, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 4778 8344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 59 things to do in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors to this wildlife sanctuary can interact with many native animal species in three habitat areas: rainforest, eucalypt forest and wetlands.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Happy, friendly atmosphere and staff extremely helpful. Lovely and clean and offers a wide range of visits such as picnics, swimming, take aways etc.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    72
    22
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dromana, Vic. Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really Worthwhile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Interesting 4 hours. We liked this zoo because you can get really close to most of the wildlife. Well they are tame really except the crocodiles. All the staff were brilliant in explaining things and it was just good to see Australian wild life up close so really worthwhile. Good memories lots of photos all for just $30 each also a nice little cafe. It,s not Melbourne Zoo but we did enjoy our day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a must do when in Townsville.  I visited a few wildlife sanctuaries while I was in Australia and this one blew the others away.  I went there on a Monday and had the park nearly to myself.  I spent the entire day there and I was never bored at any point.  In fact, I found myself wishing the lunch break was slightly longer in between shows as I did not want to miss any shows and I accidentally missed the turtle feeding.  Although the park is small, it is worth devoting a day to the park as each show is unique and interesting.  However, if you could only devote a half-day then head there in the morning as the most interesting shows happen then.  Each state has different laws regarding how close you can get to the koalas.  In Victoria and New South Wales you can only pat a koala and have a picture standing next to it, however, in Queensland you can hold  a koala, which is a once in a lifetime special experience.  At Billabong for $16 per picture, you can have a picture holding a koala, wombat, snake or mini crocodile or for $33 you can have one a picture each with a koala, wombat, or reptile.  Additionally, the staff will take pictures with your camera of you holding the animals.  The staff is very knowledgeable and it is obvious they care about the animals.   If you are expecting to see animals in showcase condition then this isn't the place for you.  Billabong takes in older animals and animals that have been rescued from the wild (though some have been bred in captivity).  Personally, I think that is what makes a place like Billbong fantastic, it's an animal refuge for the less fortunate. There is also a pool on site and a reasonably priced snack bar run by aa friendly woman.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“good day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Unfortunately we visited not soon after the cyclone so many exhibits were closed or damaged but still enjoyed the day the grand kids loved it, could do with some more picnic tables and their food choice was limited and expensive but the staff were lovely and what was open was fun, we will return again with the kids as they loved it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value, interactive experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Liked that you can get up close and personal with many of the animals.also quite affordable entry $30 and $33 for 3 photos with snake, wombat and koala.. Cute happy healthy animals and friendly staff...make sure to book the whole day there so u can go round with the tour guide.also bring your own food as cafe is quite expensive..great pool also great place for kids

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billabong Sanctuary also viewed

 
Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Billabong Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billabong Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.