We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be certain of what you are booking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sir Leslie Thiess Drive, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“be certain of what you are booking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

we had a short trip to Townsville, to attend an interview. booked everything on-line, as we usually do. everything was fine except for one thing, we were 'punished' by jupiters for booking on-line. We do not smoke, and had requested a non smoking room at the time of booking. but when we checked in we were given a smoking room, on a smoking floor ( floor 16). we were told on check in that ' people who book on-line cant expect to get good rooms, regardless of what we selected / paid for '. the room itself was not bad, obviously not as nice as the promotional photos, but overall average. certainly not 4 star as they claim to be. but perhaps other floors and other booking types do get 4 star rooms. i have re checked the fine priont, and note that there is a comment that they cannot 'guarentee' such requests. but to be told as soon as i present myself to the counter that non smoking was out of the question, is a different story than not guarenteed. the reason i write this, is that i have stayed in numerous types of accom, generally booked on-line, and have never felt 'discriminated against' before. personally, i will look at some of the other options, next time i go to 'the Ville'

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    147
    71
    23
    18
See reviews for
61
134
19
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was my 4th stay at this hotel over the last 12 months. The hotel is in a central location with the Ocean view rooms facing out to Magnetic Island, beautiful views.The Deluxe rooms are worth the extra money, and have been recently refurbished The Bathrooms are very clean and well presented. Highly recommend the buffet dinner at the in house Aqua Restaurant, fresh seafood and lots of variation to cover all tastes. Suggest you book as it is also popular with the locals. Breakfast is in the same location and just as good. A separate bar away Nice pool and grounds. A 15 minute walk or $10 cab ride to Palmer street which also has a number of restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher levels to take in the magnificant views of Magnetic Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I got married here and have been raving about our experience to anyone who will listen! We've always been a fan of Jupiters; great spa, good staff, fantastic location. But our wedding experience was the best value for money. The wedding coordinator is world class, and knew what she was doing. We stayed a few nights after in an executive suite and it was clean, spacious and luxurious! The views were fantastic. We are going back to stay over Christmas. Also, Jupiters has the only place for fine dining, Essence is a great restaurant. And Aqua has the best breakfast buffet in town! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareeMcCahon, Customer Engagement Coordinator at Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear BPRT-8683,

Congratulations to you and your husband on your recent marriage. It is so pleasing to read that we Jupiters Townsville could have been part of such a special occasion and to assist with making wonderful memories for you.
I can assure you I have forwarded your comments regarding the outstanding service provided to you by our wedding coordinator Julie.
We are very apprecetaive of your kind words; it is great to read you enjoyed all aspects of our Hotel after your wedding day.
Thank you once again and we look forward of having the opportunity of hosting you both over the Christmas period.
Yours sincerely
Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Queensland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for one night, combining a Craft Fair with a business day. The checkin was swift and welcoming, the room was beautiful, not ultra modern, but very comfortable with a king-sized bed, a glorious view of the ocean and Magnetic Island, and spotless.
We visited the casino and had a wonderful meal in the adjoining Cafe. Jupiter's employees were helpful, efficient and went out of the way to make our stay pleasant.
We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Level 15 had wonderful views, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareeMcCahon, Customer Engagement Coordinator at Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear PollyAyr,
Thank you for sharing your expereince here on Trip Advisor, I am thrilled to read Jupiters Townsville meet all your needs and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Jupiters should you choose to stay with us again, when next in Townsville.
Yours sincerely
Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've stayed here for business on somewhere between 10 to 15 occasions now. Hotel rates are good, room is always clean and well presented. Great bath tub in some rooms and positioned towards the TV :). Excellent views when room facing towards magnetic island. Although I'm sick of the buffet dinner now, food is always good and a lot to choose from. Only downside of the hotel for me is the gym, there really isn't enough equipment for a proper exercise.

Room Tip: - Room with a view towards magnetic island. - Room with a bath tub... the free-standing type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareeMcCahon, Custoemr Engagement Coordinator at Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Corey001,

It is great to read Jupiters is able to suit your needs while travelling with work, and that you enjoy many of our services and comforts.
You mentioned that you have grown board with the dinner buffet in Aqua, that is disappointing and I can assure you I have forwarded your comments on to our Direct of Food & Beverage for his knowledge. For your future stays, I would like to recommend you try our newly opened restaurant Kōbe, booking can be made for you when next booking your accommodation. Kōbe is our 4th dining destination now at Jupiters in additional to our fine dining restaurant Essence and our café Spin located in our casino.
I would also like to mention that I have forwarded your comments regarding the suitability of our gym to our General Manager for Property Operations for his knowledge.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on Trip Advisor and I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back when you next stay with us at Jupiters Townsville.
Your sincerely
Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

we have just stayed 1 night here & we did enjoy it, the rooms are looking a bit tired & need updating but to counteract this, we had a beautiful ocean view ...wow!
All staff were more than helpful & made you feel very welcome.
On the downside...we decided to have an afternoon by the pool, we felt this area really lacked atmosphere, the pool was a bit sad looking & really needed an overhaul & the gardens could be made into something extraordinarily beautiful if only it was given more of a tropical feel with more palms & perhaps Bali huts & lounges, instead it is a bit sparce & unwelcoming.
Despite this, i would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareeMcCahon, Customer Engagement Coordinator at Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hi balitraveller27,
It is a pleasure to receive you reviews regarding your recent experience here at Jupiters Townsville, thank you.
Your observations about our pool are greatly appreciated and I can assure you I have forwarded your feedback on to our Property operations Manager for his knowledge and consideration. It was great to read you enjoyed our very magical ocean view form your room, and thank you for making mention of it.
Your comments regarding our hotel rooms is noted, over the last few years we have been steadily renovating our Hotel, with most recent renovations being completed to our Deluxe and Executive level hotel rooms, we do have visions of completing remodelling to our Superior level rooms in the very near future.
Again, thank you for your review and I look forward to having the pleasure of hearing from you if you choose to stay with us again, when next in Townsville.
Yours sincerely
Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino

Address: Sir Leslie Thiess Drive, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Townsville
#5 Family Hotel in Townsville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#6 Business Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino is superbly located on the Townsville breakwater and overlooks magnificent Magnetic Island, the Coral Sea and Townsville City. The property is within walking distance of the Magnetic Island Ferry terminal, the CBD, the restaurant precincts of Palmer and Flinders Streets and Townsville’s award-winning beachfront, The Strand. There is so much to do - so much to see in Townsville and Jupiters is a “hot spot” for lifestyle and holidaying in the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiters Townsville Hotel Townsville
Jupiters Townsville Hotel And Casino
Jupiters Hotel Townsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.