We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chifley Plaza Townsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chifley Plaza Townsville to your Saves list
Chifley Plaza Townsville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Flinders & Stanley Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Plaza Hotel Townsville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
1 review
“Location and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right in the middle of the CBD. Location was perfect and the price was very good. I paid $93.00 for a lovely refurbished room on level 3. The Cafe Breakfast was good, although busy, but it is the city. Rooms had very good AC which was nice in Townsville. Will recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    74
    35
    14
    17
See reviews for
22
68
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My partner and myself stayed at the Chifley over the new year period and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived around 930pm on Sunday night and were met by a very friendly and bubbly girl at reception who was more then happy to assist us with our queries. The room we stayed was the executive suit and it was lovely. Nice big comfy bed and a beautiful spa.

The parking location was a little different but however they have only recently changed parking locations I am sure these will be improved in the near future. The noise level from the street was bearable but considering the time of year and location was expected.

The breakfast was incredible and would strongly recommend.

Would recommend this hotel to family and friends and will stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Right in the middle of town, the noise was terrible, not only street noise but also from the adjoining apartments, we were woken at 5.45am with people laughing and carrying on next door and the street noise kept us awake till late at night. The apartment had new furnishings which were really nice but the walls had large chunks of paint coming off, the carpets and the built in desks were very badly stained. The light switches had their covers off and the toilet floor hadn’t been swept and had dust and hair on it. The bed was really comfortable, but with all noise it was impossible to sleep. There is no car park, so we had to find a park on the road outside. While we were eating downstairs, we had a drunk walk in and relieve himself on the floor, he then walked up to the table next to us and tried to start a fight. I wouldn’t recommend here at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Located in the centre of the city the plaza hotel was fantastic place to stay. We were able to walk where ever we needed to go as everything was so close, shopping, restaurants, night life, local attractions and more. In was fantastic!! As for the hotel its self the services was great the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a decent size and were very comfortable! I will definately be recommended this hotel and would definately choose to stay here again if I return to Townsville! Have had a fantastic holiday :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Was well looked after was easly checked in great friendly service from janet room was well suited to my needs janet helped with local information i needed the meals were great value more then i could eat would definatly stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

My car broke down just out of Townsville and the repair shop dropped me in the City and I stumbled on the Chifley Plaza. Excellent service, had a lovely large meal for dinner and a very comfy modern room. Rate was very reasonable at 125 including a cooked breakfast, which was great, long story short, car got fixed but I was not as sorry I broke down. I will make a point to stop here next trip on my own accord.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

After driving from Cairns we arrived at the property tired and needing to be refreshed!
We were greeted by the lovely receptionist who kindly upgraded our room. Also found the male employee on night shift very friendly. We loved the room as it was modern and extremely clean. Although the bathroom was small it was fitted brilliantly and the shower was amazing! Loved the nice dark furniture and touch lamps were a great touch. The bed was very comfy!! We really appreciated the 24 hour reception. Didnt get to use the pool but we will soon as we are definitely coming back. Thanks for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chifley Plaza Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Plaza Townsville

Address: Corner Flinders & Stanley Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Plaza Hotel Townsville)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Townsville
#10 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chifley Plaza Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chifley Plaza Townsville is conveniently located in the heart of Townsville's shopping and business district, just 10 minutes drive from the airport, and 2 minutes to the beach.The hotel offers a range of guest rooms and suites - all are non-smoking with individually controlled air conditioning, wireless internet, TV, DVD Player, tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chifley Plaza Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chifley Plaza Townsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.