We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel that has had a part touch up.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Southbank Townsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Southbank Townsville to your Saves list
Rydges Southbank Townsville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tired hotel that has had a part touch up.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Greeted by a friendly reception. Although she did not recognise my RPG benefits. The corridor from the lift to the room looked like a tired hotel.
Once in the room the refurb was ok. The bathroom is a real let down. Tip to hotel management - don't refurb a room and leave the bathroom - do the whole room.
As I arrived late I dined in the Bar & Grill. Not many diners and still the service was a little unattentive. Food was good.
Very amusing when I asked if they did affogato's. The waitress said yes, then the 3 staff had a long discussion behind the bar about if anyone knew what an affagato was! (What do I expect - it was Townsville)
The room aircon had to be turned off as it couldn't be programmed to any setting other than on and cold. (No I didn't complain to reception at 10pm)
Breakfast was ok- standard hotel buffet fare. When will hotels include real coffee with their already overpriced buffets???
Checkout was clinical. The reception seemed more interested to remind me that was there was a surcharge for credit cards.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback, and my sincere apologies for the issues you had during your stay. Rest assured that relevant staff have been spoken with starting from in regards to your PGR Card to affagato. Reception & Restaurant staff are very efficient in their individual areas and am surprised that you still had to face the facts. Our new Rise Breakfast concept is the most popular amongst the guest and even walk in guests and not sure why you did not like and found just "ok". Lastly, as courtesy the reception staff inform all guest about the surcharge on departure, so they can decide and choose how would they like to pay either cash or Eftpos and I think that's the kind of service we provide here at Rydges and we feel proud on. I look forward to welcome you back with us.
Regards,
Saurav Prasad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    85
    69
    46
    31
See reviews for
41
63
20
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It seems since I last visited Rydges, things are on the improve. The rooms have been renovated, despite work still taking place on the lifts and foyer area (and the outside looks exactly the same). When we were there, there was only one lift operational, which was a little slow but not too bad. Rooms were comfortable and clean.
Breakfast has been changed and the food was excellent quality, and a great range. Pretty decent place to stay in Townsville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your your recent stay and your feedback, that you enjoyed your stay and meals. We surely have done the refurbish of our hotel rooms and restaurant and are receiving some amazing feedback on both ends. Lift upgrade is a part of our refurbishment which is due to end by next week and my apologies if your found it inconvenient during your stay. I will surely pass on your feedback to our chef and team and look forward to welcome you back again with us.

Regards,
Saurav Prasad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A quality motel room at at reasonable price. The motel offers easy parking and upper rooms have a great view over Palmer Street and south Townsville.

Full breakfast in the morning is a rewarding meal, although the small serving dishes around the buffet mean the staff must be on the ball and keep the hot food coming. But, on the ball they are and the service is excellent!!

Great location, plenty of restaurants within waling distance along Palmer Street, as well as the fabulous in house Southbank Bar and Grill (Townsville's premier steakhouse).

Room Tip: As for a room upgrade to the upper levels looking east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for a great review. The newly refurbished Southbank Grill has really been a hit with regular and new guests alike. Our new dinner menu launched this week (22/05) and the depth of great grill options really is a beef lovers delight. There's also some great game options and locally sourced seafood straight off the reef. I'm sure on your next stay you will be even more impressed.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel was of a high and excellent standard. The room was great and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location walking distance to the mall. The staff were friendly both in the front office and in the restaurant. We enjoyed the breakfast. Thank for making our stay great your up the with the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for your kind review Brian. Its very rewarding for the team when their efforts are made note of in forums such as this site. We're glad you enojoyed your stay. The location certainly is one of the many great features of the hotel. The proximity to the CBD and of course the many restaurants on Palmer st make it a very conveinient option for enjoying all that Townsville has to offer.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We met up with good friends for a weekend at Rydges 2 bedroom apartments in Townsville. The apartments are in the next street but walking distance to all of the restaurants in Palmer Street. The rooms were very spacious and the main bedroom had an ensuite with a spa bath. Kitchen with all appliances, laundry, spacious living area, quite a large balcony also. The tiles in the living area near the balcony door were a bit dangerous. A couple of tiles had been replaced and were higher than the others which made us trip on them. Of course the buffet breakfast at Rydges Townsville is always superb. We stay here quite often but this is our first time at the apartments. We will definately be doing this again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for your feedback Lawrence. One key benefit of the apartments is that they are very generously sized. Given their location behind the hotel in McIlwraith street they are also pretty quiet. With full access to all of the hotel amenities, these apartments certainly are some of the best value in Townsville when it comes to self contained options.
We look forward to seeing you again shortly,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Loved my stay and restaurant. Staff Excellent. Check in quick and so as check out. 24*7 Reception was helpful. Would surely return and hotel is close to all restaurants and joints. Beds are the most comfortable that I have slept in. Good Job.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks again Sampras, we do enjoy having you stay with us will see you again soon.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on a flying visit to NQ. I had stayed previously some years ago so knew the area. We arrived late and had to wait some time for someone to come to the desk, despite staff being in the restaurant and seeing us there. The rooms were reasonable for the price we paid, and as we'd read the reviews were not surprised by the dated bathrooms. The bathroom linens were surprisingly small and one bathroom had very poor hot water. It took several minutes to get warm and no cold was necessary. The air conditioning in one of our rooms was not working which I'm sure they must have been aware of. However as we were only there for a few hours sleep at night, didn't get around to reporting it till we left. Would have appreciated an alarm clock in my room, but that was only a minor thing. bed was great. Basement parking was free and handy - even though it was closed when we arrived back late, they kindly showed us how to get in and created a space for us. Overall not fantastic, but more than adequate for our requirements.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. Air conditioning is one thing you must have working in Far North Queensland and I do apologise that yours wasn't. I can assure you that we wouldn't check anyone into a room with a non-functioning air con, the last thing we want is to 'bake' our guests! We'll also follow up on the alarm clock, with our new block out curtains it can be difficult fumbling around for the time in a dark, strange room.
Many improvements have been made in the last 12 months including bedroom refurbishment, guest corridors, restaurant refurb, new HSIA & WIFI services and elevators are undergoing upgrades right now. We also have a new hot water system, so its strange you had hot water problems. The entire hotel is linked so it is strange to only have an issue in one room, we'll definitely look into it. Bathroom refurbishment is next on the list and we hope to see work commence later this year.
Regards,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Southbank Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Address: 23 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Southbank Townsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.