We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs refurbishment .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Southbank Townsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rydges Southbank Townsville to your Saves list
Rydges Southbank Townsville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Needs refurbishment .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The place is getting a bit worn looking and the bathroom although spotlessly clean was a bit smelly . The pool had leaves in it and looked thoroughly uninviting . I was glad I had only booked 2 nights of 4 there and escaped to the Grand on day 3 . The location is good and central and I slept fine here but ambience is well lacking .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Wow, it's a bit disappointing to be told the hotel is 'getting worn looking' when refurbishment in rooms and corridors was completed at the end of August (2012) and the restaurant and foyer are under construction now. I guess with half the foyer and restaurant closed that's going to impact on 'ambiance' too?
Your are right, the bathrooms are in need of attention and these works are under planning now with a start planned early in the new year. We do give the pool a skim and clean each morning, we'll keep an extra eye peeled on those windy days.
Thanks for your comments,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    78
    62
    44
    29
See reviews for
40
59
19
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bowen, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a very peaceful nights sleep on a very cosy bed, that I would love to have to sleep in every night! I take my pillow everywhere I travel as I am yet to find motels with comfortable pillows, that is till I left mine in the car and found Rydges to be just fine for my neck support.
The room was clean and spacious. We really appreciated the big bench space for sorting our bags. Loved the timber coffee table.
The staff were very accommodating and helpful with our visit as it was a trip to fit around medical appointments. We truly appreciated their professionalism with the way they looked after us.
A big thank you! We have stayed with Rydges in other states as well and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks for your feedback Pauline, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Funnily enough you can own your very own Rydges 'Dream Bed' there is a link on our website and they are surprisingly well priced!
We'll share you comments with our team, it really is motivating to have your efforts recognised and we certainly appreciate you taking time out of your busy day to do so. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Staff, dinning room and location good. Rooms very badly refurbiushed, paint peeling off bathroom tiles the hotel is old and has had a minor facelift. Sheets had stains and we had to get them replaced. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: good luck the room I had was disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
In room refurbishment works completed in August included new carpet, bed heads, paint, lighting, soft furnishings and upholstery and new mini bar and built in robes. The scope for bathroom works is currently being worked on. We're glad you enjoyed the restaurant, its getting a facelift in November (the new breakfast concept is amazing!) and that our team service was to your liking. Our apologies for the linen, we have taken up the matter with our supplier.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is small and friendly, the staff are great and go that little bit further to offer a first class service. The location is great, you can walk anywhere you need to go, but are far enough from the city for a peaceful stay. The rooms are clean and modern with everything you need, great restaurant with excellent food and wonderful service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your feedback David and Vanessa, we couldn't have said it any better ourselves. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the hotel location and facilities. We're just about to commence refurbishment works in the Restaurant, next time you stay with us i'm sure you will be blown away! We hope to see you soon.
Cheers, Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here for a night and attended a function next door at the conference centre run by the hotel. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful, unlike their colleagues next door.

The conference staff attitude (especially the supervisor) was close to the worst I have seen in the hospitality industry. Add to that, the hot food was served luke warm and some of the chairs in the conference foyer area were broken.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We have discussed at length with the Event Booker, the exchange you had with our Operations Manager whilst 'attending' a function at the convention centre.
As is quite clear from previous reviews, service is one of the resounding strong points of the hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed back again fr a business trip... Love the beds.. No doubt.. Lobby was fresh with new paint and furniture... Suites now look modern with new couch and coffee table... Central location.. Great food in grill restaurant..... Lovely friendly reception staff... Loved the corporate pkg and heard tht they r upgrading the internet fr more quality service...Rydges maintaining their name.. Gud job..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for your before and after review Mr Sampras. Your mail is absolutely correct, an internet upgrade is imminent. We are looking forward to one if not the highest quality service in Townsville including free WIFI in our restaurant and bar. We look forward to seeing you next month.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We booked in here for Christmas as we visit family every year. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the air con was amazing, not being use to summer in Townsville but what really sold us was the welcoming and friendly service we received from the staff. Front desk was very accommodating and restaurant staff were very attentive. I was also surprised at the the quality of the food, better than you'd get at most restaurants let alone a big hotel chain. The value for money is good and we've rebooked for this Christmas. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for you feedback. It certainly says something about your experience when you book your stay 12 months in advance. We're glad you've made our hotel an important part of your Christmas holiday and we look forward to seeing you again this December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Southbank Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Address: 23 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Southbank Townsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.