We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference in Townsville” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Southbank Townsville

Save Saved
You added Rydges Southbank Townsville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Southbank Townsville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
Noosaville, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Conference in Townsville”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Staff, dinning room and location good. Rooms very badly refurbiushed, paint peeling off bathroom tiles the hotel is old and has had a minor facelift. Sheets had stains and we had to get them replaced. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: good luck the room I had was disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
In room refurbishment works completed in August included new carpet, bed heads, paint, lighting, soft furnishings and upholstery and new mini bar and built in robes. The scope for bathroom works is currently being worked on. We're glad you enjoyed the restaurant, its getting a facelift in November (the new breakfast concept is amazing!) and that our team service was to your liking. Our apologies for the linen, we have taken up the matter with our supplier.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    73
    60
    43
    29
See reviews for
36
58
19
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is small and friendly, the staff are great and go that little bit further to offer a first class service. The location is great, you can walk anywhere you need to go, but are far enough from the city for a peaceful stay. The rooms are clean and modern with everything you need, great restaurant with excellent food and wonderful service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your feedback David and Vanessa, we couldn't have said it any better ourselves. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the hotel location and facilities. We're just about to commence refurbishment works in the Restaurant, next time you stay with us i'm sure you will be blown away! We hope to see you soon.
Cheers, Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here for a night and attended a function next door at the conference centre run by the hotel. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful, unlike their colleagues next door.

The conference staff attitude (especially the supervisor) was close to the worst I have seen in the hospitality industry. Add to that, the hot food was served luke warm and some of the chairs in the conference foyer area were broken.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We have discussed at length with the Event Booker, the exchange you had with our Operations Manager whilst 'attending' a function at the convention centre.
As is quite clear from previous reviews, service is one of the resounding strong points of the hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed back again fr a business trip... Love the beds.. No doubt.. Lobby was fresh with new paint and furniture... Suites now look modern with new couch and coffee table... Central location.. Great food in grill restaurant..... Lovely friendly reception staff... Loved the corporate pkg and heard tht they r upgrading the internet fr more quality service...Rydges maintaining their name.. Gud job..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for your before and after review Mr Sampras. Your mail is absolutely correct, an internet upgrade is imminent. We are looking forward to one if not the highest quality service in Townsville including free WIFI in our restaurant and bar. We look forward to seeing you next month.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We booked in here for Christmas as we visit family every year. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the air con was amazing, not being use to summer in Townsville but what really sold us was the welcoming and friendly service we received from the staff. Front desk was very accommodating and restaurant staff were very attentive. I was also surprised at the the quality of the food, better than you'd get at most restaurants let alone a big hotel chain. The value for money is good and we've rebooked for this Christmas. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for you feedback. It certainly says something about your experience when you book your stay 12 months in advance. We're glad you've made our hotel an important part of your Christmas holiday and we look forward to seeing you again this December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great room, comfy bed, excellent food ... close to everything .... great service ..... staff are very friendly and helpful ....nothing was an effort.on site parking.... perfect.....thanks you.. I will definately stay again

Room Tip: ask for water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Catering to corporate travellers is our specialty, we're glad you you had a comfortable stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here visiting family over Christmas, and I have to say FANTASTIC! Coming from NSW the Air conditioning was excellent, the rooms modern and fresh. I found the hotel is located in a great position, walking distance to many attractions including The Strand.

Breakfast was great each day, the room was made up and cleaned daily, with all staff friendly and helpful, all smiles.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas, it can certainly be a very hot time of year for guests traveling from the Southern states, but its also a great time of year to grab a bargain. Our restaurant is receiving some refurbishment work in November and the new breakfast concept will be complete in time for this Christmas. Its going to be amazing, stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Southbank Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Address: 23 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Southbank Townsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.