We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly needs a refurb but great food and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Southbank Townsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Southbank Townsville to your Saves list
Rydges Southbank Townsville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Badly needs a refurb but great food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011 via mobile

As a business traveller, I stayed for 2 nights in June 2011. Next time I will go back to Jupiters. Although it's in Palmer St with the fabulous restaurants and cafes, I was disappointed how run down it is.

The bathroom did not have a bath, only a very old shower. The room service food was excellent though with generous portions.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Soft refurbishment of the hotel has commenced with Rydges Dream beds in all rooms and new linen. LCD TVs will be installed in July once systems have been made digital ready. We do have baths available in suites and the apartments. Our renovations will certainly be centred around providing our corporate guests with modern and effective facilities. Our location is a great feature, Palmer st is a wonderful 'foodie' precinct. With regards to our competitors, our product is significantly different to Jupiters and clearly differentiated by price and star rating.
kind regards,
Rob McGufficke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    85
    69
    46
    31
See reviews for
41
63
20
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

The room was really outdated really it was the old 1970's tropical look and the lift was reaking with the smell of cleaning products like in a nursing home. Somebody needs to tell them to replace the fridge - old, battered and need of defrosting (I have no idea what the house-keeping/management are doing).And then we got hammered for a credit card surcharge just to top it all off- not a great experience at all. To be fair though it served its purpose with a good selection of places to dine near by and secure parking that was needed at night

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
It is disappointing that elements of a hotel may sometimes be overlooked. Management are not in every room everyday so sometimes it does take our guests honesty and feedback to get things moving more quickly. So for this I do thankyou.
There were a number of major changes in management in May and June and work has begun in rectifing many of the issues mentioned in yours and other guests postings. While the 'tropical' look does have a sense of nostalgia about it, it is a dated look that we are currently reviewing. Rydges Dream Beds and LCD's are the first of many modernisations for rooms, painting is soon to follow. There will be improvements in the coming months.
Thank you for your feedback,
Rob McGufficke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Was booked in as part of a business trip. On arrival was informed I'd been booked into an apartment as the hotel was full. The apartments are in a separate building a short walk from the hotel.

Reception staff was polite and efficient, and ensured I could find my way to the apartments.

Somehow managed to score a two bedroom apartment. Absolutely enormous for just little ol' me. Plenty of room with a large balcony included. Would easily accommodate two couples.

A bit disappointed with cleanliness - the balcony tiled floor was grubby, there were glass marks on the kitchen bench and one of the ensuite sinks, and the fridge interior needed a clean. Perhaps it was a last minute rush job to make the room available? Otherwise clean and tidy.

There were two TVs, but interestingly neither was digital. There was also no phone (unless it was very well hidden). For a one night business trip who cares, for longer this may have been annoying. Also could not find a tea towel, but used little crockery so didn't follow up (I'm sure I could have been provided with one had I asked).

Palmer Street location is excellent - restaurants aplenty. The restaurant buffet was typical motel / hotel fare - nothing exceptional, but plenty good enough for me.

If you were staying in Townsville and had family or travelling with others, and you didn't care much for telly, this would be worth a look.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. The apartments certainly are a great product especially for families or larger groups. From time to time we do upgrade our guests depending on the hotel occupancy. I have taken note of the 'quibbles' you experienced and will address accordingly. We are working closely with apartment owners to upgrade to digital TV's. There certainly should be phones in each apartment we will follow up just to make sure.
Regards,
Rob McGufficke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Was very disappointed with the room and look of hotel. Looks very old and untidy. Room was a horror. Surpieor room looked like a 1 star motel room. No furniture match. I even checked for bed bugs. Bathroom was always wet, never dried. Taps and silver were rusty and chipped. Was hard not to wear my shoes in shower. One small double bed and one chair. Standard on internet looked better but stil ugly. Never will I stay here again. Well disppointing as a Rydges Hotel.

Room Tip: If have to stay get Executive Room or dont stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Soft refurbishment has begun on the hotel including new Rydges Dream beds and linen. LCD's will be installed in July 11 and painting will also take place in the new financial year. The restaurant has also been earmarked for renovation.
We do not have any rooms with singular double beds, all are queen and in our suites, King Size. Our twin rooms have all been upgraded to twin double beds.
Regards,
Rob McGufficke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Called in for faimily meal all was good untill my main.Tbone steak with chats potatoes arrived all going good untill potatoe skin turned out to be 25mm x 50mm material composite that had a very bitter taste associated with it.. Waitress was very appologetic but certainly no response from the shall i say cheif or Maitre D. A very poor meal from a restaurant that has the best steaks in town sign out front

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
It is an unfortunate occurance when things other than food are found on our guests plates. However I can assure you that this is a very isolated incident. Our kitchens undergo stringent HACCP and food safe testing and are compliant in all aspects. All of our kitchen staff have food handling certificates.
I'm glad that your waiter offered an apology, given the seriousness of the incident, perhaps the Chef and the supervisor of duty should have also. Definately food for thought, thank you for your feedback.
Rob McGufficke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Granted, we only stayed here one night on our way up north. However, it was still a very disappointing experience. We would never stay here again. The hotel is so dated. I agree with other reviews about the staff. They are not very friendly and yes, somewhat apathetic. The lobby is pleasant enough but when we got to our room, we could not believe that we had paid good money for a supposed 4-star hotel for a room like that. It felt like we had been shoved into a little corner of the hotel somewhere in a shabby, musty smelling room with no view at all. You always assume that you will get quality and good value for money with a Rydges hotel but that was not demonstrated here. We couldn't wait to leave. Hopefully, the refurbishment mentioned on this website gives this hotel a much needed lift. It is in a good location but is letting down Rydges' good name at present.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Soft refurbishment has begun at Rydges Southbank with new Rydges Dream Beds and linen. LCD TV's are due for installation in July (2011) and painting will also take place in the coming months as well as a review of the restaurant concept.
The management team has a lot of new faces since june 2011 and is working very closely with staff to ensure attitudes such as those that you encountered become a thing of the past. I am confident that service and the guest experience is well and truly headed in the right direction.
Regards,
Rob McGufficke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

While the Hotel is in need of a little work, it is well priced for what you get, and I would say value for money. It's location is great, close to restaurants, the Strand, and other attractions, and we often left our car and just walked, or caught the red bus, which stops just outside the Hotel.
As I said it was well priced at $109.00 per night, and that included breakfast for the three of us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
The location of Rydges Townsville is certainly one of the biggest draw cards with close proximity to Townsville's most renowed dining precinct, Palmer St . During the summer months and school holidays we often run a number of specials.
Rejuvenation work on the hotel has commenced including new Rydges Dream Beds and LCD TV's, rooms will be painted in the coming months.
Regards,
Rob McGufficke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Southbank Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Address: 23 Palmer Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Southbank Townsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.