We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be ready for a walk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Townsville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Townsville to your Saves list
Mercure Townsville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Woolcock St | Currajong, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Be ready for a walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed for a brief one night stopover in the dark. The layout of the Mercure was the most confusing in three weeks of travelling. The car park was very full when we we arrived, and had to park quite a way from reception. Then we were give an upstairs room (no lifts) on a block that was three blocks away from reception. The signage was ok but could be clearer.

The room was good with decent beds and air conditioning, however no free WiFI, and a surcharge for credit cards - next time I'm just passing through I'd stay in a Motel. As a resort for a few days, the Mercure would be far more attractive with its pools and beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms do not have lift access, and some are a long way from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us.
We appreciate that the resort style layout of the hotel does not always provide the easiest access to rooms therefore any of our team would be more than happy to assist guests with their luggage or directions.
The pool and beautiful grounds certainly allow our guests to relax and enjoy their time at the hotel.
The hotel can be very busy at times, to combat this we have an area set aside in the reception driveway for our guests to unload luggage before parking. I apologise that this was not explained to you when you stayed.
Mercure Townsville offers 30 minutes of complimentary WiFi to all guests which is accessible in the hotel lobby. To avoid paying the 1.5% credit card surcharge, we also accept EFTPOS and cash payments which are surcharge free.
I sincerely apologise that your experience with us did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
Thank you again for your comments, we do hope to see you again if you have the time to spend a few days with us.
Juanita Trickett
Assistant Manager
Mercure Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    233
    128
    35
    17
See reviews for
143
166
65
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Am staying for a couple of nights for work. Group of 6 of us had dinner in restaurant. I ordered pork belly. Very very dry, no sauce, very few vegies left me still hungry. Other people's meal sizes were only very small also (given the price tag). Very disappointed, glad work is paying.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear RLKirkwood
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us.
We were surprised to hear your comments in regards to the meal ordered in the restaurant as the Pork Belly consistently generates compliments to the chef. I have passed on your comments to the Executive Chef so that this matter can be investigated.
Once again we appreciate the time taken to post this review.
Warm regards
Juanita Trickett
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

A little out of town, but handy if you have your own transport. Not the place to stay if you were planning on strolling down the strand. Great Buffet Breakfast, comfortable rooms and very quiet. It is a hike from the car park to the rooms, so if you have lot's of luggage use a porter or a trolley

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Travellin4wOrk
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us at Mercure Townsville.
We were pleased to see you enjoyed the buffet breakfast and found your room comfortable and quiet for a good night's sleep.
We certainly appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm regards
Juanita Trickett
Assistant Manager
Mercure Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here a few times whilst travelling to Townsville and looking for semi-permanent accommodation. Found a great deal through last minute secret deals, where you can often work out where the place is before to see if it's a good deal, which it was.

The grounds are much better than I was expecting. Especially when considering the very very reasonable price that I paid. I've paid much more for a dodgy motel whilst on the road.

There's a lovely and very large pool that traverses through the place. It's the sort of pool that I'd have had a blast with as a kid. There's a wading pool that connects to the main pool and a small water fall.

It's on a lake with a small walk next to it and some nice spots to sit and relax.

The room was pretty basic, but decent.

I even managed to lose one of my door cards. Dreading the replacement fees, I was quite surprised when they said not to worry about it!

The staff were pleasant, and there's a 24hr check in.

If i was ever looking for a place for short term in Townsville I'd definitely be back here.

One thing i'd mention is that it's a bit out from the centre of town. but most people visiting Townsville would have a car anyway, so that shouldn't be much of an issue at all.

highly recommended.

Room Tip: as others have recommended, go with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear mkerr
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Townsville. It is pleasing to read your comments and hear how much you enjoyed your experience at the hotel.
The pool and grounds are fantastic and a real attraction for us, we are glad you liked them too.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Juanita Trickett
Assistant Manager
Mercure Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was our first Mercure stay. One of two places recommended by family for recent T’vle visit. We were impressed from arrival to departure. Best sleep: had large bed and comfort pillows, blockout curtains. An extra wide bed is appreciated to sprawl in tropical Q’ld nights. Fridge had ice-cubes. Good food with kids eat-free dining. Pleasant garden surrounds, large clean pool with towels provided poolside. Swam with g’children who explored shallow pool area ‘upstream’. Night time swimming very pleasant with soft lighting plus relaxing spa . Short walk to shops and takeaway. At checkout, bags cared for while we read poolside and had lunch before onward journey. Lunchtime waitress thoughtful to our comfort as was a hot day. Hint: shower on full blast might wake your mate if they’re a light sleeper…just keep it on low or wait til they’re on deck. And yes, size meant bathroom door and toilet were in close contact. We did not see any small creatures on the premises; h’ever as I write this from home, there’s a small grey gecko skirting the ceiling – nothing unusual in that, as they like this warm climate too. We had a ground floor room, lakeside.

Room Tip: We were close to the pool, but at rear (lakeside).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We really appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review about your recent stay with us at the Mercure Townsville.
I am so pleased your stay with the Grandkids went so well for you and that you all enjoyed all the hotel has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.
Warm regards
Juanita Trickett
Assistant Manager
Mercure Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Townsville

Address: 166 Woolcock St | Currajong, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Townsville Hotel Townsville
Mercure Hotel Townsville
Accor Hotel Townsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Townsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.