We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical oasis in the heart of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Townsville

Save Saved
You added Mercure Townsville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Townsville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Woolcock St | Currajong, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 hotels in Townsville
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tropical oasis in the heart of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrived into Townsville late in the evening. The Mercure is only 5-10mins from the airport and is easy to find. Check-in was swift and efficient. The gentleman at reception was very polite and friendly, and offered us free room upgrades.
The hotel has a tropical resort feel with lots of palm trees, with the room blocks set around a resort style swimming pool.
The rooms were lovely, very fresh, clean and spacious. Breakfast in the restaurant is buffet style. The food was fresh and hot, and they offer a good variety of hot food, cereals, breads and fresh fruit. Service from all hotel staff was wonderful, smiles all round and even the gardener offered a friendly welcome!
Overall we were very impressed with the hotel, the Mercure staff and the value for money. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Shell-n-Scott,

It was really heart warming to read such a well written review. Thank you for taking time out and you are right the staff at Mercure Townsville, really are a friendly bunch. We like to keep it that way and stay true to the 'Queensland' spirit.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your's sincerely,

Peter Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    205
    111
    31
    17
See reviews for
130
147
64
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place had been recomennded to us and I've read the reviews also. We thought we've been to Townsville and stayed at other places (Holiday Inn, IBIS, etc.) let's check this place out for ourselves. It turned out to be very good except for the strange start......

....Upon arriving at reception we spent about 10mins trying to confirm we had a booking. During this period we asked if they couldn't find our booking were they busy or booked out?? They weren't and confirmed they had vacant rooms but then noted that they we may not be able to book us in??!! Strange??!! We couldn't understand, they had vacant rooms, why couldn't we book one!! Reception noted that we didn't have a booking so we noted that we would like to make one (isn't that what we are doing - I can't go back in time to do it or did they want us to call them by phone or go online (STRANGE)...during this time they eventually found our booking that we had made, there was some error in the system and we got through it all. My initial thoughts and discussions with my wife were I hope this is not a reflection of this place and possibly what our stay might be like.....thankfully it wasn't!!!

The rooms were clean and comfortable, the grounds were neat - very tropical. The pool and the decked area overlooking from the restaurant and reception made it look very classy. The other staff around the grounds and the restaurant were pleasant, welcoming and helpful. The open design made the reception and restaurant very cool and pleasant. The warm Townsville weather made the large 'resort-like' pool a priceless luxury.

It is not in the city but walking distance from from Castle Town Shopping centre. Unlike the city high rises it is more resort-like and open. It is Isolated from te city night spots, cafes and restaurants etc. however this is all covered off in the Mercure Inn itself.

A strange start at reception but then it was all very good after that. In my opinion on par with the other top accomodation options in Townsville.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear DFQLD,

Mercure Townsville is a resort style property and definitely one of its kind! With open welcoming reception area to resort style pool. It appears that there was a bit of communication breakdown to start of with your reservation.

The front office staff members always ensure that there are no duplicate reservations to ensure that you do not get double charged. Let me take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused. I am glad that this incident did not dampen your holiday spirit and thoroughly enjoyed our services.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards,

Peter Richrdson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in a family room which had been refurbished and was very modern and clean. Staff were very helpful and facilties were very good. The location is good, with easy access to the airport. I booked via Accor site and breakfast was included in the room cost (which wasn't available direct with the resort). Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear HardingAyr.

Five out of five!!! We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that they will appreciate your kind words. While we are glad that you enjoyed our sumptuous breakfast, I would like to let you know that you can book Bed & Breakfast rates with the hotel directly as well.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your's sincerely,

Peter Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

It is more like a small resort than a hotel, with a lagoon pool and spa in the middle of the complex and lots of palm trees in between. Our room was medium sized with basic amenities i.e. mini bar/fridge, tea/coffee maker, flat screen TV and air con. All was good apart from the fact that the door had a huuuge gap under it and we had to use a large towel to cover the gap to prevent heat and geckos from coming in - this place turns into gecko central at night - they seem to be everywhere. Bathroom was small, but with a very spacious shower. Overall it was clean, but there was dirt in between many tiles in the bathroom - looks like the cleaners don't really pay too much attention to detail. Shampoo and soap were provided. The price was reasonable, less than $100 per night, which is really hard to find in Australia these days. But it had to bee paid in full on the day of booking - no refurnds so watch out! - and also, there was no free WiFi access and no breakfast included in the room price. There was a restaurant and bar in the hotel, but we found it a lot cheaper to eat out on the town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked a night there on our way back to Sydney because it was close to the airport and looked nice. The price is a lot lower than a crappy motel around Sydney and as we walked in we felt like we were in a small resort with no pretension. Nothing very fancy but a beautiful pool and a lot of palm trees around, an outdoor reception and a restaurant overlooking at the pool.
The breakfast buffet was very simple though, I was expecting something a little bit above.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking at the park at the back of the hotel, it looks beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Gillesydney,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your's sincerely,

Peter Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Room was lovely as always, however our sleep was not good and we woke with sore backs. The mattress was not good at all. Service was great as usual and the food was great as usual. We will be back and will reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is a bit disappointing to learn that you did have the best of sleep here with us, please accept our apologies. I have passed on the message to our housekeeping team and we will investigate the quality of the mattresses. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your's sincerely,

Peter Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Restaurant and Bar Staff were extremely professional, happy and helpful. Reception staff could have been a little happier. Rooms were average with blankets in need of a good clean. Food at the restaurant was great, however room service/pool side meals were on plates that were not clean. Housekeeping staff were always happy and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Holiday377,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We also appreciate your concern regarding the cleanliness of the blankets and quality of plates, but let me assure you that we treat all amenities with the utmost care.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your's sincerely,

Peter Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Townsville

Address: 166 Woolcock St | Currajong, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Townsville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Townsville 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Townsville Hotel Townsville
Mercure Hotel Townsville
Accor Hotel Townsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Townsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.