We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good. Nice pool and view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Townsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Townsville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Townsville
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   334 Flinders Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good. Nice pool and view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was given a disabled friendly room which was nice and comfy. Draw back being the shower head and bathroom sink were too short for me but it didn't bother me. Shower curtain doesn't do anything, still got water all over the floor, would of rather a glass door. 7th floor windows don't open but A/C works very quickly, saying this, it was quite dry and it is nice to open a window to let some natural air in. Staff real friendly, pool was nice, views are amazing. Only an easy 15 minute walk to the strand.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony so you can open the windows, anything above the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITManagement, Distribution and Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Townsville, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi Lauren,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed the friendly service that your received from our friendly team during your stay.

At Holiday Inn Townsville we are lucky enough to be within easy walking distance to some of Townsville's popular attractions. I am thrilled that you had an opportunity to take a stroll along the strand waterfront.

I do apologise that you were allocated a disabled room and I appreciate your feedback regarding the shower curtain. It is only our disabled rooms that feature a shower curtain. The remainder of our guests rooms do have the glass door that you mentioned.

I have added a note to your profile to ensure that you will not be allocated a disabled room in the future.

Unfortunately all of our standard rooms are on floors that do not have a balcony. For future bookings may I suggested a Superior room which features a balcony allowing the natural air to flow through.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Rachel Marsilio
Distribution and Relationship Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    202
    56
    10
    11
See reviews for
54
96
30
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed in the Holiday Inn Townsville between 19 and 23 May. Was up from Melbourne on business.

16th floor room was great, with a wonderful view.

David Brown (Manager) put on a few drinks on the Wednesday which was a nice touch.

All in all a pleasant stay with wonderful friendly, and good humoured staff.

David

Room Tip: Balcony room is excellent for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITManagement, Distribution and Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Townsville, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi davynjayne,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the picturesque view from your own private balcony.

At Holiday Inn Townsville our friendly team are dedicated to providing our guests with a memorable experience. I am pleased that you were happy with the level of service that you received.

Wednesday evening guest drinks was started by our General Manager in February this year. I am elated that this event added a little extra touch to your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Rachel Marsilio
Distribution and Relationship Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We enjoyed a recent 4-night stay at the Holiday Inn in downtown Townsville. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a 10th floor room with a balcony, which was nice but not especially useful (no chairs, e.g.), which provided a small sliver of a view of the ocean. The room was plain but comfortable, though the lighting was very poor and figuring out the light switches was a challenge. There was a very ample breakfast for $19 a person (if paid in advance, $23 if not); lots of choices and eggs could be ordered as you wanted. Centrally located, though it appears the downtown in Townsville is dying. Many empty store fronts and several businesses were having going-out-of-business sales. Not far from many good restaurants on Palmer Street. All in all, a good stay, but don't expect anything spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITManagement, Distribution and Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Townsville, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Jerry,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your recent 4 night stay with us.

At Holiday Inn Townsville our team are dedicated to providing a friendly and efficient customer service experience to each of our guests. I am glad that you had a memorable stay as a result of the helpful service that you received.

Our buffet breakfast is quite popular with our guests, with many choosing to upgrade for the discounted rate prior to arrival. With eggs to order and many more breakfast options, our buffet breakfast aims to cater to everyone's tastes. I am pleased that you found your dining experience pleasurable.

The mall as of late has lost quite a few local businesses however there are current projects underway that will see new stores open in the CBD very soon.

I do apologise for the poor lighting in your room. I will pass on your feedback to the Engineering team to investigate.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Rachel Marsilio
Distribution and Relationship Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We visited Townsville to attend an away game for the Roosters. The hotel is ideally located in the centre of town, opposite the Cowboys Leagues club. Staff were friendly and professional, rooms were spacious and clean, request a verandah room to enjoy the views. Great restaurants were found a few hundred metres east, along with bars, nightclubs and strip clubs, worth a look before dining either at the restaurant or at the club. Breakfast and good coffee surround the hotel. If travelling to see footy I recommend joining the club as a "STAR" member, $39 includes seat at game, ($26) as well as $5 return bus to game ($10) plus about 15% off food, drinks and merchandise. I should have sussed this option out before, I would have definitely saved dollars. Hotel was a bit dated but clean and tidy. The air conditioning was temperamental being unable to maintain constant temperature thru the night. I noticed a bulb was blown in the room making it a bit dark at night. The pool was spotless although the wind made swimming not an option. I'd stay here again and recommend Holiday Inn to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a verandah room, higher floor the better, facing Magnetic Is if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITManagement, Distribution and Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Townsville, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hi Barina61,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am thrilled that our central location in the Townsville CBD was of convenience to you during your stay. As you mentioned, we are ideally located across from the Cowboys leagues club for all 'footy fan' guests.

At Holiday Inn Townsville we are dedicated to providing a memorable customer service experience to each of our valued guests. I am pleased that you were happy with the friendly and professional service that you received.

Our rooms on floors 10-18 to do boast private balconies, and as you mentioned are surrounded by picturesque views.


I do apologise that you encountered issue with you air conditioning during your stay. The Engineering team has noted the issue from your stay and has rectified the problem.

Thank you for your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Rachel Marsilio
Distribution and Relationship Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

An enjoyable stay in the sugar shaker. The hotel was friendly, comfortable and central. The views were as good as the pillows. But be warned, this hotel has the worst mini bar. All the little bottles of booze tasted like shampoo.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITManagement, Distribution and Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Townsville, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hi Tim,

Thank you for your feedback on IHG Guest Reviews. I am thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the 'Sugar Shaker'.

At Holiday Inn Townsville we are lucky enough to be surround by such picturesque views, from Castle Hill to Magnetic Island.

Our signature pillow range is quite popular among our regular guests and can be found in any Holiday Inn hotel across the world. I am please that you were able to have a refreshing night's sleep as a result of these options.

Unfortunately we do not keep a stocked mini bar in the guest rooms. Mini bar items can be ordered at your leisure through room service. I do apologise for any inconvenience caused.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm Regards
Rachel Marsilio
Distribution and Relationship Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Reception staff vary from bored to extremely helpful, bar staff are very friendly, room service is quick and the food is a high standard (try the salmon - it's a generous portion).

Room 804 was spacious, simply furnished but it's modern and good quality. The shower room is an OK size, most importantly the shower itself is a good size and there are drawers for all your stuff.

Great idea to have an option of 'soft' or 'firm' pillows on the beds, both types clearly marked. Bed linen is crisp and good quality.

Room Tip: Room 804 is a connecting room - without your TV on you can hear your neighbour on the phone etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITManagement, Distribution and Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Townsville, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi Donna,

Thank you for review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Our friendly team are dedicated to providing a memorable customer service experience to each of our valued guests. I do apologise that during some of your encounters with our team you did not receive the level of service expected of Holiday Inn.

I am glad that you had an opportunity to visit the Shiraz bar and try our delicious room service menu. Thank you for the feedback on your meal.

The spacious guest rooms at Holiday Inn Townsville were designed to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and at home. It is wonderful to know that you appreciated the size of the room and the ample draw space for your own belongings.

The Holiday Inn brand pillow range can be found in all of our properties across the globe. I trust that you were able to enjoy a restful nights sleep as a result of the soft and firm options.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm Regards
Rachel Marsilio
Distribution and Relationship Marketing Exectuve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Right in the heart of TVL with a great view to boot. Super room with possibly the best pillows in any hotel!!!
They have the best breakfast for a super start to your following day.... You can even make your own pancakes!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITManagement, Distribution and Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Townsville, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi iamcharlie7,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us right in the heart of Townsville.

The Holiday Inn brand 'soft' and 'firm' pillow options are quite popular with our guests. No matter which Holiday Inn you stay in around the world, you will be sure to find these exact pillows. I am pleased that our pillows contributed to your restful nights sleep.

At Holiday Inn Townsville, we pride ourselves on having one of the best buffet breakfasts in Townsville. I am glad that our breakfast helped kick start your day - especially with the make your own pancakes station!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm Regards
Rachel Marsilio
Distribution and Relationship Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Townsville

Address: 334 Flinders Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Townsville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Townsville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Click here to view a video of the hotelAt Holiday Inn Townsville, you are in the heart of Townsville's business and shopping district and just a short walk from Townsville's major tourist attractions. Enjoy panoramic views of Magnetic Island and sparkling blue waters of the Coral Sea from the rooftop and be welcomed with a smile and friendly service that's as warm as the Townsville sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Townsville Hotel Townsville
Townsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Townsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.