We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sushi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Benny's Hot Wok Cafe & Bar

Benny's Hot Wok Cafe & Bar
17/21 Palmer Street, | South Townsville, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
07 4724 3243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 244 Restaurants in Townsville
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open 7 days from 5:00pmLunch: Friday & Sunday from 12:00pm - 14:30pmBenny's Hot Wok Cafe and Bar is the ultimate Modern Asian dining experience. As soon as you step into the restaurant you are instantly transported to Asia. Each dish on the menu is cooked using the best seasonal, fresh and local produce, leaving your tastebuds truly satisfied and craving for more.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had a sushi platter here and it was good- lots of variety and large quantity. It seemed to be prepared in advance which is a bit of a shame but still tasted fresh.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    39
    19
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Busy and popular local venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We recently had a meal here, very enjoyable evening, the service was prompt and efficient even though it was a Monday night and the place was busy. Perhaps that is a great recommendation from locals. Adequate wine list, good food, and efficient service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice food & good service but quite expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The food was nice but the price was too much for what it was. I was also disappointed with the kids menu.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Hill, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

There were 8 of us and we each ordered a different meal. They catered to gluten free and high allergy diets with no fuss. Every meal was presented beautifully and tasted so delicious. The staff also need to be praised.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service but thats all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had dinner there saturday night there were 12 of us so decided to get the two banquets, big mistake. Amount of food that was served was pitiful for the price we were charged, drinks were ordered and not delivered, in all this is probably the first and last time I will step foot in the place as I have never left a restaurant befors feeling hungry especially after spending over $65.00 on a main meal and two drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre P, Training and Development Officer at Benny's Hot Wok Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi Sue A

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate that you took the time to write this review. We apologise that your experience at Benny’s Asian Bistro was not a good one! It is unusual for that kind of feedback about the banquet menu, usually it is the opposite! We would have been more than happy to send out more food for you and your friends – we definitely do not like to have our guests leaving hungry! As for the drinks service, that is something that we do not like to have happen and your review, like all the others, will be shown to our staff to improve service.

Kind regards
Belinda Colledge
Training and Development Officer
Pierre Properties Pty Ltd
Cactus Jack’s Bar and Grill, Cactus Saloon, Cactus Republic & Benny’s Asian Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benny's Hot Wok Cafe & Bar also viewed

Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Benny's Hot Wok Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benny's Hot Wok Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.