We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER GREAT STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Rose Motel

Colonial Rose Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Rose Motel to your Saves list
Colonial Rose Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   23 Bowen Road, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“ANOTHER GREAT STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here again in Oct, it definately is the best Motel in Townsville. Always a warm welcome and the food in the restaurant is great. It isa not in the centre of town but it is still well located to reach most points for no more than abouty 20.00 in a taxi. Thanks again Emma and Dave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nink33, Owner at Colonial Rose Motel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks RockyBubbles. Always a pleasure to see you again. David and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
6
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is the best value/quality hotel in Townsville. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good nights sleep and friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nink33, Owner at Colonial Rose Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place a review of our Motel on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we very much appreciate your review. Thanks again and hopefully we look forward to seeing you in Townsville again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This place was ideal for our needs, just the basic motel setup, but as we were a family of 5, they also let us borrow a toaster and cutlery and crockery so we could do our own breakfasts, which was really nice of them.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the only thing my mother-in-law wasn't too keen on was that there wasn't a window in the spare bedroom, so she felt a bit claustrophobic.
Even though its situated next to the road I was surprised as to how quiet it was and slept very well.
Its a little drive into Townsville itself, so you will need a car.
Very nice little place, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nink33, Owner at Colonial Rose Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. We would also like to thank you for chosing to stay at our Motel and we look forward to welcoming you back one day. Kind regards. David & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

very clean, friendly staff, close to shops, the only negative was the besser block walls which make this excellent motel look a little outdated.

This is a very good Motel to stay.

Rob Richters

Room Tip: Just ask for a room inspection first and if you are happy you will enjoy your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This motel seems to get a lot of commercial trade so don't expect bargain rates. However, as a tourist, If you're looking for a convenient stopover it's absolutely fine. It's nothing fancy - standard motel setup with clean, functional rooms and friendly staff. It's set back from a busy road with plenty of parking and eating places within walking distance including a supermarket. You'll need your car to get into Townsville centre, which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charters Towers, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed for 1 night in the 2 bedroom family apartment and was highly impressed with what the room had to offer. The apartment was extremely spacious and very happy with the second bedroom with a huge flat screen tv and a whisper quiet aircon. One of the best I have stayed in will definitely go back.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pijnacker
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night with family of four in a two bedroom family room. The rooms were perfect, clean and tidy with a/c, cable TV and free WiFi. The Motel has a nice pool area and clean surround-ings.
On arriving the owners, Emma and David, were very welcoming. The best hosts we had on our 5 weeks trip to Australia. Thank you so much!

I would happily go back and stay at the Colonial Rose.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
2.7 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cascade Motel In Townsville
Cascade Motel In Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
3.0 mi away
Allure Hotel & Apartments
Allure Hotel & Apartments
#6 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Townsville
Grand Hotel Townsville
#5 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#9 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Townsville
Holiday Inn Townsville
#15 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Rose Motel

Address: 23 Bowen Road, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Rose Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a restaurant on site open Monday to Friday, Breakfast is available every day of the year. Our rooms are very clean, recently renovated with 32 inch Flat Screen Televisions with local and Pay stations included and all rooms have new quiet split system air-conditioners. We have single, Double. Twin, Family and executive rooms available. Conveniently located within walking distance, is a small shopping centre with a supermarket and Restaurants food outlets near by. Major shopping centres, the Townsville CBD and airport are approximately 10 minutes by car. Colonial Rose Motel is a family owned and operated business hosted by Emma & David Hannah. Together with their helpful staff, they are dedicated to providing friendly and personalised service to all guests, ensuring an enjoyable stay. So when next staying in Townsville, remember the Rose – Colonial Rose Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Colonial Rose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Rose Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.