We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Inn Rockpool

Fish Inn Rockpool
Rockpool the Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
+61 7 4771 3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 262 Restaurants in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $34
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just finished our lunch at Rockpool and left two full plates of food behind!! What a waste!! I ordered the Crumbed Mackeral with chips and salad (Greek) my husband had Battered Mackeral and salad (tomato, onion and basil). The crumb on the fish was soaked in oil and had a very unpleasant taste, the cucumber in my salad could be smelt before it reached my mouth!! Yellowed leaf baby spinach, what more can I say!!! We were very sorry that we didn't visit the very busy fish and chip shop down the road.........Rockpool will not get recommendations from me!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    16
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Its a glorified fish and chip shop. We thought it would be a nice restaurant, if we went in with less of an expectation I think we would have been satisfied though. They had no air circulation or fans so eating a hot meal and the room being hot was not enjoyable. I had garlic prawns and the prawns tasted frozen and were not salty and I think they forgot to put the garlic in. My partner had the platter and rated it an average meal also. Would go again but would not expect too much.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poolside Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My favourite place in all of Townsville and take any visitors there. Grreat variety of meal types, great service, wonderful view from all tables, and reasonable prices. Parking can be a bit of a problem though at peak times but it is so totally worth it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond Terrace, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Really good service, plenty of space good quality food produced considering volume of people

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“YES YES YES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The restaurant is not great, needs renovating, but the food is awesome. Try the seafood platter. The owners are some great people and they can cook seafood. I never tried the steak, I am sure that is good too. They also have an amazing salad bar. You can just walk in and get a take away very nice salad for only $6. One of my favourite spots. Amazing ocean and Magnetic island views.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Inn Rockpool also viewed

Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Fish Inn Rockpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Inn Rockpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.