We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billabong Lodge Motel

Billabong Lodge Motel
Billabong Lodge Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Billabong Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Billabong Lodge Motel
96 Bowen Road, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Upside: Beds were comfortable, large rooms with lounge, digital tv, the hotel itself is very old but they have done things to reburbish the rooms

Downside: Poor water pressure, temperature hard to vary in shower no heater only aircon in room, poor selection of Austar channels.

Overall not a bad place at all especially for a run of the mill motor inn / motel, especially for the price. Friendly owner / Staff

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just a quick stopover for us in Townsville and how pleased were we to have chosen this Motel. We had an updated room and for a motel, every little extra was included with thought and consideration of a tourist's needs. Even the toilet paper was the very best, almost a full kitchen, top marks for comfort, exceptional help from the Manager and the price so modest. Would definitly not hesitate to stay here again for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Ours was apparently updated so perhaps make sure to ask for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

i needed somewhere to stay while passing through townsville for one night.
i chose the billabong lodge motel from a selection online and made a reservation by phone.
this was simple and everything went smoothly.
my room was large, clean, comfortable, recently refurbished at a guess, and well-equipped.
an extremely comfortable and large bed!

the motel is on a busy road and there is some traffic noise.
i slept with windows open and it wasn't enough to bother me....with windows closed and aircon on, it would have been very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOLGA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We travel to Townsville 4-6 times a year for sport, this is one of the best places we have found for cleanliness and value for money! The Billabong Lodge rated well, so I emailed to check room rate, got a response by the next day. Called to make booking and was able to upgrade to a refurbished room with kitchenette for only $135 (for family of 4). We were able to check in early (Thank you). Lovely clean room (I am picky about hotel cleanliness), large room, new large bathroom and the kitchenette have everything you need. Kids loved the pool with the waterslide, no noise from the road.

Immaculately presented grounds, clean, comfortable, affordable rooms with plenty of room. We will be staying here again!!

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms have large new bathrooms, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Nice room, good size with a super comfortable bed. Kitchen area. All very clean and well presented. Pool fairly small but more than adequate for a quick dip. No problem with noise from the road. Owners very welcoming and helpful. Would certainly return again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I was only there for one night, but my experience was all a pleasure - from the phone call to pre-book to checking out. I booked a 'refurbished' room which even had a mini kitchen (sink, small refrigerator, kettle, toaster, microwave, and electric frypan, plus cutlery and crockery). Everything was spotlessly clean and in good order, rooms lovely and airy - not too small - but with good blockout curtains by the door. The bed was very comfortable, although next time I'll remember to ask for an extra blanket because I really feel the cold more than most people. The bathroom was nice - good lighting and ventilation - and plenty of lovely hot water in the shower! They went out of their way to be helpful and to ensure my stay was comfortable and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maclean NSW
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

After pricing every motel along Bowen Street, Townsville we came to Billabong Motel. On entering the reception area I was not only met with a lovely bright greeting that became helpful in every way, I was offered a 10% discount because things were quiet at the moment making our accomodation for the night only $94.00!.

The room was exceptionally clean, with air-con and fan, TV, Austar channels and internet connection. The bed was very comfortable and in the ensuite was the most wonderful shower with plenty of water pressure (something sorely missing in motels rooms these days). All the tea/coffee amenities were there and the lounge area had clean. comfortable armchairs around a coffee table. The room was average sized but so comfortable.

We decided to stay in for dinner and had a wonderful chinese delivered to our door which arrived in about 30 minutes.

Outside the door is a table and chair setting for those who want to watch the kids in the pool, or simply enjoy the garden with a wine perhaps, we did! The setting is exactly as the name suggests, surrounding the lovely swimming pool (with it's rather cool slippery dip) is a luscious, cool, tranquil garden that really makes you feel you are in the tropics.

We were sorry we did not find Billabong Motel earlier in our holiday and will definately be staying there again. Do yourself a favour and check it out for yourself you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Billabong Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Lodge Motel

Address: 96 Bowen Road, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Billabong Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billabong Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.