We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yongala Lodge

Yongala Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Yongala Lodge to your Saves list
Yongala Lodge
11 Fryer Street | North ward, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Townsville B&B and Inns
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place just reopened as a backpackers hostel. Since I was their first 'backpacker' checking in, they put me in a 2 room apartment for myself as a surprise! The staff is super friendly, actually the best I met so far during my travels in Australia! I felt at home right away and booked a third night. Location is excellent, 1 minute from the Strand/sea. The building has a historic feel. The area outside is really cosy. I came here to dive the Yongala shipwreck. The meeting place for that dive was only a 10 minute walk, also very convenient.
I liked everything about this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wonderful French food I would recommend this lovely restaurant to anyone excellent value also the French staff were friendly and helpful with a high level of presentation the venue is historic and beautifully presented thank you yongala lodge for a lovely meal

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had higher expectations. The rooms are dated but basically pretty clean. On the plus side, the room we had was roomy. Very close to the Strand which was nice. Price was good which should have been a clue to quality of accommodations. It was okay but not quite what I'd hoped for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I arrived in townsville with pretty much no where to stay. Im from the Uk and was visiting my sick family in Townsville hospital. After I arrived 4 other family members also arrived, so a room for 5+ was needed. We were also ever hopeful he may get out of hospital so an extra bed ready and waiting too...
We arrived here just because it was signposted off the strand. the strand is beautiful beachfront area of townsville. beach BBQ's, a kids water play park, chlorine pool and rock pools to swim on the beach.
The hotel is an historic building with a restuarant to the front. All I can say is this restuarant was busy, in fact full every single night!!! Amazing food, simple menu but honestly fab food.
The room itself was basic. A littl ehostel like but served its purpose well. We had a first floor 2 bed room. This meant two bathrooms, a lounge/kitchen, a double room and a room with 4 bunks. The curtains worked well to keep the morning sun out. The air con was ok. Rooms cleaned now and then. And for a long term rate too, all in all perfect.
Theres a small shaded pool, plenty of parking plus more on the street if needed. 15min walk to town, nearby bar if you fancy a change of scenery. Theres wifi but really only in the restuarant area - its free though
I left after 6 nights but my family stayed for another 6 weeks. I know they were made to feel really welcome, part of the hotel family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed one night on the way back from diving the yongala. It was decent, the furnishing is really old, everything is sort of outdated like it hasnt been updated since it was built. But overall, clean and well priced. We stayed there because it's close to the strand. Front desk was nice. I would stay here again for the convenience and price. The hotels on Palmer Street/Quarter are much nicer and there are some really good restaurants.

Room Tip: bring your own amenities/toiletries
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days over Christmas. We were pleased to be able to book 3 x 2 bedroom and 2x1 bed self contained flats very close to the strand with all it has to offer but still quiet, perfect for our large family gathering. Staff were really friendly and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Rooms were reasonably priced and spacious. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We sat out on the deck which was relaxing and quiet. Our meals were delicious and fairly large serves. The wine list was good, and the staff were friendly and attentive. We'll be back to try the dessert menu soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yongala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yongala Lodge

Address: 11 Fryer Street | North ward, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yongala Lodge is situated just metres from Townsville's Strand - the city's most well known and well loved icon. Built in 1884. Guests have a choice of self-contained units or motel style accommodation, with all modern facilities to ensure you have a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Yongala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yongala Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.