We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Gateway on Palmer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Gateway on Palmer to your Saves list
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Dibbs Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Townsville
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location and apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A group of us stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment here for a Uni graduation week. The apartments are very nice - modern kitchen, comfy furniture, great aircon and very open and bright.
Only downside was the housekeeping was a bit hit and miss.
At first glance I thought the undercover parking was seriously inadequate for the number of rooms but after a day I discovered there is a 2nd level! Just got to look for it, plenty of spaces though.
I would come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Front Office Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Gateway on Palmer. I am glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you found our apartments to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    106
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
43
64
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment during a long weekend in Townsville. The room was very spacious, well appointed and overlooked the river. The location was very convenient, within walking distance of good restaurants and cafes (just don't expect a good selection on Sunday night as many are closed!).

Although we had read other reviews on this site which were very critical of the service and cleanliness of the hotel, we were very happy with the service provided by the hotel staff and had no issues with the cleanliness of the room. Would stay again if we were visiting Townsville.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Front Office Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you found the apartment comfortable and found our location convenient. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very clean and large rooms, good gym and pool area. Heaps of good restuarants minutes away. Vierws from your room, friendly, helpful staff. Not too far from beach and airport. Right on the bridge you can walk to the main strip, the beach and walk downstairs to 10 or more resturants. No mini bar, expensive internet, no bar or resturant or breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Front Office Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I am glad that you were able to take advantage of both the hotel facilities and our great location to enjoy some of the sites Townsville has to offer. For the convenience of our guests, a chargeback service has been arranged with Outback Jack's restaurant, where our guests are able to charge breakfast, lunch and dinner back to their room. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Townsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Oaks Gateway last week and were very disappointed mainly with housekeeping. The cleanliness of the unit left a lot to be desired - dirty socks, virgin comfort pack and used toothpick from the previous guest. The microwave, stove top and benches had all been wiped with the same dirty cloth which has not been wrung out. I had to wash the frypay and some of the cutlery before being able to use it. The clothes dryer had a dead cockroach cooked inside it and the laundry cupboard area had washing powder spilt on the floor. Overall not very impressive. Have stayed previously and it was great which is why we rebooked this year. Sorry but I will be thinking more than twice before I book again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi David & Amy,

I am also very disappointed with your stay and deeply concerned by the issues you have raised. If it is not too much trouble, could you please send your contact details to hmgateway@theoaksgroup.com.au so that we can discuss this matter further to ensure that the appropriate action can be taken with any staff involved?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Awesome infinity pool overlooking the river,which was the drawcard for me.
Great location with plenty of restaurants to choose from on Palmer Street.
Average room, average cleanliness.
Walking distance to CBD and the Strand.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed relaxing in our infinity pool and found our location convenient. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks Gateway on Palmer soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed at two hotels while in Townsville and this one was much preferable. The rooms are simple and clean. Being at the top end of Palmer Street gives great access to Flinders Street night life and restaurants along Palmer street. The staff were the stand out, they were really friendly and very helpful. They really set this place apart from other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed not only the great location we enjoy daily, but also the hospitality of our team.

I have passed your comments on to the team, who were pleased they were able to make your stay enjoyable.

We hope we will see you again next time you are in Townsville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed at this Oaks on a number of occasions and love the facilities and location. It is located across the river, a 5minute walk, from the city centre. The rooms are apartments which you can self cater, however, the restaurants along Palmer St offer a good range and reasonable value. try the fish shop at the roundabout for fresh prawns. I find that the rooms ae clean and spacious for a couple. Each room has a balcony although you need to stipulate on booking that you want a river view.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I am delighted to hear that you enjoy staying with us and have enjoyed our great facilities on a number of occasions. I hope we can continue to enjoy your company whenever you are in Townsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Gateway on Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Gateway on Palmer

Address: 2 Dibbs Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Townsville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Gateway on Palmer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Gateway on Palmer is Townsville's next generation in resort-style accommodation. Located five minutes walk from the CBD & a two minute drive to the Strand,the hotel has a range of restaurants & cafes on its doorstop on cosmopolitan Palmer Street. Offering FREE secure parking, FREE GYM,FREE FOXTEL & FREE WIFI, Oaks Gateway on Palmer boasts spacious hotel, one & two bedroom apartments and is a perfect choice for families, couples or the business traveller. All accommodation options offer sleek modern decor and spectacular river,and hinterland views. Apartment features include full kitchen and laundry facilities, separate lounge and dining area, work desk & balcony. We have restaurant chargeback facilities to the very popular Ribs & Rumps (onsite) as well as the eliquant Jam Corner Restaurant straight across from our hotel. To cater for that special function or meeting we also have our very own Conference Venue located on the same street (Metropole Conference & Events) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Gateway on Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Gateway On Palmer Hotel Townsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Gateway on Palmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.